It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Providing an introduction to physics for electronics technology, this volume attempts to make clear the relevance of physics to a career in electronics. It contains practical applications of physics, which students encounter in industry and relates the concepts of physics to devices such as speedometer, thermometer, weight scale, and others.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Physics and Technology for Future Presidents contains the essential physics that students need in order to understand today's core science and technology issues, and to become the next generation of world leaders. From the physics of energy to climate change, and from spy technology to quantum computers, this is the only textbook to focus on the modern physics affecting the decisions of political leaders and CEOs and, consequently, the lives of every citizen. How practical are alternative energy sources? Can satellites really read license plates from space? What is the quantum physics behind iPods and supermarket scanners? And how much should we fear a terrorist nuke? This lively book empowers students possessing any level of scientific background with the tools they need to make informed decisions and to argue their views persuasively with anyone--expert or otherwise. Based on Richard Muller's renowned course at Berkeley, the book explores critical physics topics: energy and power, atoms and heat, gravity and space, nuclei and radioactivity, chain reactions and atomic bombs, electricity and magnetism, waves, light, invisible light, climate change, quantum physics, and relativity. Muller engages readers through many intriguing examples, helpful facts to remember, a fun-to-read text, and an emphasis on real-world problems rather than mathematical computation. He includes chapter summaries, essay and discussion questions, Internet research topics, and handy tips for instructors to make the classroom experience more rewarding. Accessible and entertaining, Physics and Technology for Future Presidents gives students the scientific fluency they need to become well-rounded leaders in a world driven by science and technology. Professors: A supplementary Instructor's Manual is available for this book. It is restricted to teachers using the text in courses. For information on how to obtain a copy, refer to: http://press.princeton.edu/class_use/solutions.html Leading universities that have adopted this book include: Harvard Purdue Rice University University of Chicago Sarah Lawrence College Notre Dame Wellesley Wesleyan University of Colorado Northwestern Washington University in St. Louis University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign Fordham University of Miami George Washington University
In the nineteenth century, science and technology developed a close and continuing relationship. The most important advancements in physics--the science of energy and the theory of the electromagnetic field--were deeply rooted in the new technologies of the steam engine, the telegraph, and electric power and light. Bruce J. Hunt here explores how the leading technologies of the industrial age helped reshape modern physics. This period marked a watershed in how human beings exerted power over the world around them. Sweeping changes in manufacturing, transportation, and communications transformed the economy, society, and daily life in ways never before imagined. At the same time, physical scientists made great strides in the study of energy, atoms, and electromagnetism. Hunt shows how technology informed science and vice versa, examining the interaction between steam technology and the formulation of the laws of thermodynamics, for example, and that between telegraphy and the rise of electrical science. Hunt's groundbreaking introduction to the history of physics points to the shift to atomic and quantum physics. It closes with a brief look at Albert Einstein's work at the Swiss patent office and the part it played in his formulation of relativity theory. Hunt translates his often-demanding material into engaging and accessible language suitable for undergraduate students of the history of science and technology.
Explains the theoretical and experimental foundations of the measurement of the electrical properties of the MOS system and the technology for controlling its properties. Emphasizes the silica and the silica-silicon interface. Provides a critical assessment of the literature, corrects incomplete or incorrect theoretical formulations, and gives critical comparisons of measurement methods. Contains information needed to grow an oxide, make an MOS capacitor array, and fabricate an integrated circuit with optimal performance and stability.
Improving the Game When it comes to teaching and learning physics, most pedagogical innovations were pioneered in Cutnell and Johnson's Physics--the number one algebra-based physics text for over a decade. With each new edition of Physics, Cutnell and Johnson have strived to improve the heart of the game--problem solving. Now in their new Seventh Edition, you can expect the same spirit of innovation that has made this text so successful. Here's how the Seventh Edition continues to improve the game! AMP Examples (Analyzing Multi-Concept Problems) These unique new example problems show students how to combine different physics concepts algebraically to solve more difficult problems. AMP examples visually map-out why the different algebraic steps are needed and how to do the steps. GO (Guided Online) Problems in WileyPLUS These new multipart, online tutorial-style problems lead students through the key steps of solving the problems. Student responses to each problem step are recorded in the grade book, so the instructor can evaluate whether the student really has mastered the material. WileyPLUS WileyPLUS provides the technology needed to create an environment where students can reach their full potential and experience the exhilaration of academic success. WileyPLUS gives students access to a complete online version of the text, study resources and problem-solving tutorials, and immediate feedback and context-sensitive help on assignments and quizzes. WileyPLUS gives instructors homework management tools, lecture presentation resources, an online grade book, and more. Visit www.wiley.com/college/wileyplus or contact your Wiley representative for more information on how to package WileyPLUS with this text.
For algebra-based, first-year physics courses. Designed to make the study of physics not only more understandable, but enjoyable, for students, this text includes a combination of features that ensure students are not lost at any stage of the course. A friendly, caring tone; clear, well-organized chapters; information presented in manageable segments; and a unique step-by-step approach to examples-with an emphasis on logical thought processes-make the text both easy to teach and learn from. *Two-column examples-Step-by-step examples that present the logical thought processes. Provides students with a clear translation between the physical ideas and their mathematical expression. *ActiveExamples-Breaks problems down into a series of manageable steps, giving the correct result *Helps students bridge the gap between examples they read passively and homework problems they must work on their own. *Conceptual Checkpoints-Stresses conceptual understanding. *Problem-solving summary-Addresses common sources of misconceptions in problem solving and gives specific references to examples illustrating the correct procedures. *Qualitative questions, with answers. Students can use these questio