Fundamental of Engineering Mechanics (PAT 101/2)

From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Featuring over 1,300 entries, spanning over 2,500 years, this book covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology. Offering clear explanations of the science itself as well as its historical significance, the Dictionary includes coverage of all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine, in addition to a comprehensive index of topics, and extensive network of cross-references to related entries. Compact, comprehensive, and crammed full of useful facts throughout, A Dictionary of Scientists will be an essential reference for scientists, students, and anyone with a general interest in science.

This reference contains 15,000 engineering terms, some with multiple definitions. Each definition is identified by the field in which it is primarily used. An appendix contains conversion tables and SI units.

This illustrated dictionary provides a comprehensive coverage of terms currently used in mechanical and manufacturing engineering. Since the publication of the previous edition some ten years ago, many new terms have been added to the working engineer's vocabulary, including particularly those relating to the application of information technology, micromachining, nanotechnology and composite materials. The Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering is primarily intended for professional and student engineers. It will also be a valuable addition to the bookshelves of technical writers and journalists as well as those working in advertising, sales and marketing within an engineering environment. The definitions, whilst being technically accurate, are sufficiently straightforward, clear and concise to be understandable by the layman. Every library should have a copy. The dictionary is extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and contains over 4,500 new terms.

A tradition of excellence continues with the long-awaited Tenth Edition of McGraw-Hill'sEncyclopedia of Science & Technology The definitive source for keeping up with the amazing changes in science and technology - complete with more than 1,700 new and updated articles Free supplemental website available to all users! www.mhest.com Featuring entries written by international leaders in science and technology selected by McGraw-Hill's distinguished board of consulting editors, no other reference so thoroughly and dynamically chronicles the expanding frontier, facts, and trends so vital to students, professionals, and general readers. For more than four decades, McGraw-Hill'sEncyclopedia of Science & Technologyhas provided readers with the information they need in an understandable, authoritative way that invites critical inquiry and captures the imagination. There is truly nothing else like it and no library can be called complete without it. Readers will find 7,000+ articles covering nearly 100 fields of science in this amazing 20 volume set. The new Tenth Edition features more than 1,700 new and updated articles, 12,000+ illustrations, and more than 5000 contributors - including 25 Nobel Prize winners. Also new to the Tenth Edition is a companion website that will provide selected updates to theEncyclopediaalong with additional material such as special graphics and illustrations. The logical organization of the 20 volumes, a 500 page analytical index, an extensive topic index, along with Study Guides, make finding information fast and easy. Cutting-edge topics covered include: Extraterrestrial Intelligence, Cloning, Food Allergy, Genomics, Stem Cells, Cellular Automata, Computational Intelligence, Computer-Aided Circuit Design, Voice-Over IP, Water Supply Engineering, Fossil Humans, Fossil Primates, and many, many more.