Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology by
This book provides a comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology. The entries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for selected terms from Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology. There are over 21,000 main entries, which give details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, define methods and concepts in molecular biology, and give definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. It points out pitfalls where terms are often confused and explains the precise syntax of biochemical terms, such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are lost when searching the Internet. In addition the dictionary is illustrated with over 900 chemical structures. This book will serve as an invaluable reference for biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information outside their own fields, and for those wishing to revisit fundamental principles.
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences by
This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date paperback dictionary of botany available. It contains over 5,500 clear and concise entries on all aspects of botany including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and the earthsciences. Classification is comprehensive and wide ranging: approximately one-third of the entries are devoted to taxonomic groups from bacteria and fungi, to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants.This fascinating dictionary is invaluable to students, amateur botanists and naturalists, and essential reading for anyone with an interest in plants and their environments. It will also provide a useful reference tool for students and others with interests in agriculture, horticulture, physicalgeography, and related fields.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by
The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Microbiology was hailed by leading scientists and researchers around the world as "excellent," "outstanding," and "impressive." This Second Edition will serve as an up-to-date version of this reference which has been useful to academic, industrial, and personal libraries for years. The Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Second Edition both challenges and stimulates the reader, and illustrates the importance of microbiology, a field that cannot be over emphasized in this booming biotechnology age. Key Features * Completely redesigned and revised approach with 65% new material * Contains approximately 300 articles, 1000 illustrations, and 400 tables * New design includes thematic table of contents, combined glossary of terms, and appendix * Provides color plate sections in each volume * 17 subject areas, including exciting coverage of microbes in extreme environments and microbes in emerging infections
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science by
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science is the first-ever single-source reference work to inclusively cover classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science and agriculture. From the fundamentals of plant growth and reproduction to developments in agronomy and agricultural science, the encyclopedia's authoritative content nurtures communication between these academically distinct yet intrinsically related fields-offering a spread of clear, descriptive, and concise entries to optimally serve scientists, agriculturalists, policy makers, students, and the general public. ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for both researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options For more information, visit Taylor and Francis Online or contact us to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367 / (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062 / (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk