It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Instrumentation, Measurement and Control (PTT 206/2)
A practical guide to programming for data acquisition and measurement - must-have info in just the right amount of depth for engineers who are not programming specialists. This book offers a complete guide to the programming and interfacing techniques involved in data collection and the subsequent measurement and control systems using an IBM compatible PC. It is an essential guide for electronic engineers and technicians involved in measurement and instrumentation, DA&C programmers and students aiming to gain a working knowledge of the industrial applications of computer interfacing. A basic working knowledge of programming in a high-level language is assumed, but analytical mathematics is kept to a minimum. Sample listings are given in C and can be downloaded from the Newnes website. Practical guidance on PC-based acquisition. Written for electronic engineers and software engineers in industry, not academics or computer scientists. A textbook with strong foundations in industry.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
The discipline of instrumentation has grown appreciably in recent years because of advances in sensor technology and in the interconnectivity of sensors, computers and control systems. This 4e of the Instrumentation Reference Book embraces the equipment and systems used to detect, track and store data related to physical, chemical, electrical, thermal and mechanical properties of materials, systems and operations. While traditionally a key area within mechanical and industrial engineering, understanding this greater and more complex use of sensing and monitoring controls and systems is essential for a wide variety of engineering areas--from manufacturing to chemical processing to aerospace operations to even the everyday automobile. In turn, this has meant that the automation of manufacturing, process industries, and even building and infrastructure construction has been improved dramatically. And now with remote wireless instrumentation, heretofore inaccessible or widely dispersed operations and procedures can be automatically monitored and controlled. This already well-established reference work will reflect these dramatic changes with improved and expanded coverage of the traditional domains of instrumentation as well as the cutting-edge areas of digital integration of complex sensor/control systems. Thoroughly revised, with up-to-date coverage of wireless sensors and systems, as well as nanotechnologies role in the evolution of sensor technology Latest information on new sensor equipment, new measurement standards, and new software for embedded control systems, networking and automated control Three entirely new sections on Controllers, Actuators and Final Control Elements; Manufacturing Execution Systems; and Automation Knowledge Base Up-dated and expanded references and critical standards
The industrial world consumes millions of kilos of processed food per day. Consistency of taste and texture, standards of raw materials, adherence to health codes, and uniform weights, are established industry specifications. Failure to meet any one of these can result in tons of food destroyed and billions of dollars lost. By the end of the 20th century the growing reliance on computers had shifted food quality and safety activities from human inspection to automated, statistically driven monitoring systems. Measurement and Control in Food Processing is designed to raise awareness of the current techniques of computerized measurement and process control, aid in the design of instruments and control schemes, explain the applicability of these tools to enhance quality and productivity, and educate students preparing to enter the food industry. Beginning with an illustrated introduction, followed by a detailed background in basic principles the author lays a solid foundation for understanding the role of transducers and controllers, demonstrating the need for current practices with specific problems from his experience in the tea industry. Divided into five major chapters, the book covers the most recent developments and applications in measurement techniques, and non-traditional methods such as electronic nose, biosensors, and fuzzy logic control. Addressing a major issue of today, the author investigates microcomputer-based monitoring by discussing the devices, standards, procedures, and suitable examples for process-computer interaction. Bridging the gap between the food-processing engineer who may not know how to design a controller unit and the instrumentation engineer who may not understand the complex flavor components involved, Measurement and Control in Food Processing ensures that together they can consistently make a decent cup of tea.
This volume, from an international authority on the subject, deals with the physical and instrumentation aspects of measurement science, the availability of major measurement tools, and how to use them. This book not only lays out basic concepts of electronic measurement systems, but also provides numerous examples and exercises for the student. AIdeal for courses on instrumentation, control engineering and physics ANumerous worked examples and student exercises"
* Covers all aspects of the data acquisition system from design and specification to programming, installation and configuration * Gives both the novice and experienced user a solid understanding of interfacing the PC and standalone instruments to real-world signals from the laboratory to the industrial plant * Provides a thorough grasp of PC data acquisition systems and the ability to design, specify, install and configure and program data acquisition systems quickly and effectively This book focuses on data acquisition and control using the PC and standalone instruments. The PC has made a dramatic impact in the ease with which the technician, scientist and engineer today can set up their own test and measurement system at a remarkably low cost. And this book aims to show you how easy it is with plenty of carefully researched information. The popular IEEE 488 interface is also covered. All aspects of the data acquisition system are included from design and specification to programming, installation and configuration. This book gives both the novice and experienced user a solid grasp of the principles and practical implementation of interfacing the PC and standalone instruments to real-world signals from the laboratory to the industrial plant. Once you have read the book, you will have a thorough grasp of PC data acquisition systems and will be able to design, specify, install and configure and program data acquisition systems quickly and effectively.