It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book provides students with a clear and thorough presentation of the theory and application of structural analysis as it applies to trusses, beams, and frames. Emphases are placed on teaching students to both model and analyze a structure. Procedures for Analysis, Hibbeler's problem solving methodologies provide student with a logical, orderly method to follow when applying theory.
The Finite Element Method (FEM) has become an indispensable technology for the modelling and simulation of engineering systems. Written for engineers and students alike, the aim of the book is to provide the necessary theories and techniques of the FEM for readers to be able to use a commercial FEM package to solve primarily linear problems in mechanical and civil engineering with the main focus on structural mechanics and heat transfer. Fundamental theories are introduced in a straightforward way, and state-of-the-art techniques for designing and analyzing engineering systems, including micros.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Fundamentals of Structural Analysisthird edition, introduces engineering and architectural students to the basic techniques for analyzing the most common structural elements, including beams, trusses, frames, cables, and arches. This edition offers a new page design with free access to RISA! The text will cover the classical methods of analysis for determinate and indeterminate structures, and provide an introduction to the matrix formulation on which computer analysis is based.
The definitive guide to formwork design, materials, and methods--fully updated Formwork for Concrete Structures, Fourth Edition, provides current information on designing and building formwork and temporary structures during the construction process. Developed with the latest structural design recommendations by the National Design Specification (NDS 2005), the book covers recent advances in materials, money- and energy-saving strategies, safety guidelines, OSHA regulations, and dimensional tolerances. Up-to-date sample problems illustrate practical applications for calculating loads and stresses. This comprehensive manual also includes new summary tables and equations and a directory of suppliers. Formwork for Concrete Structures, Fourth Edition, covers: Economy of formwork Pressure of concrete on formwork Properties of form material Form design Shores and scaffolding Failures of formwork Forms for footings, walls, and columns Forms for beams and floor slabs Patented forms for concrete floor systems Forms for thin-shell roof slabs Forms for architectural concrete Slipforms Forms for concrete bridge decks Flying deck forms
This is a practical guide for practising structural engineers, including those with little or no knowledge of the subject, and also for advanced engineering students. It has been completely revised to account for the many developments since the first edition and discusses the provisions of recent seismic codes, particularly Eurocode 8. The scope includes buildings in concrete, steel, timber and masonry; site effects, soil liquefaction and foundation design. There are also chapters on seismic analysis, the retrofit of existing buildings, building contents and seismic isolation.
Written by a Master Mason with over 40 years of professional masonry and construction experience, this all-new edition of today's best-selling guide to understanding and learning how to do masonry work is approved by The Brick Industry of America! Extraordinarily complete, the author draws upon more than 25 years as an instructor to provide users with a reader-friendly, comprehensive guide to basic information and advanced skills- from materials, bonds, brick, and concrete block, through advanced work such as building fireplaces, arches, and more! All technical and safety information has been thoroughly updated to reflect current industry practices and federally mandated guidelines. An all-new unit on glass block masonry developed in conjunction with Pittsburgh Corning Company, the leading manufacturer of glass block in the United States, has also been added to this edition to equip masonry students and professionals with the expertise they need to respond to rising demands for this material in home and commercial applications. In addition to featuring a wealth of helpful illustrations, all projects have been field-tested in masonry shops to guarantee their usefulness in developing the competencies required of today's professionals.