It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Process Instrumentations (PRT 242/3)
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Offers symbols and identification that are commonly used throughout the process industries. This book contains sample P&ID and numerous examples of symbols and tagging concepts. It is suitable for instrumentation specialists.
* The most comprehensive of all current chemical engineering texts on unit operations; covers fluid mechanics, heat transfer, mass transfer, and solids handling * Contains a balanced treatment of theory and engineering practice, with many practical illustrative examples included * Includes a mass transfer section containing chapters on absorption and membrane operations--topics not often covered in unit operations textbooks
The valve industry has become increasingly digitized over the past five years. This revised second edition reflects those developments by focusing on the latest processing plant applications for "smart valve" technology. * Updated information on testing agencies and the latest code changes Contents: Introduction to Valves * Valve Selection Criteria * Manual Valves * Control Valves * Manual Operators and Actuators * New Smart Valve Technology * Smart Valve and Positioners * Valve Sizing * Actuator Sizing * Common Valve Problems * Abbreviations of Related Organizations and Standards
A practical guide for understanding and implementing industrial control strategies. Highly practical and applied, this Third Edition of Smith and Corripio's Principles and Practice of Automatic Process Control continues to present all the necessary theory for the successful practice of automatic process control. The authors discuss both introductory and advanced control strategies, and show how to apply those strategies in industrial examples drawn from their own professional practice. Now revised, this Third Edition features: * Expanded coverage of the development of dynamic balances (Chapter 3) * A new chapter on modeling and simulation (Chapter 13) * More extensive discussion of distributive control systems * New tuning exercises (Appendix D) * Guidelines for plant-wide control and two new design case studies (Appendix B) * New operating case studies (Appendix E) * Book Website containing simulations to practice the tuning of feedback controllers, cascade controllers, and feedforward controllers, and the MATLAB(r) files for simulation examples and problem With this text, you can: * Learn the mathematical tools used in the analysis and design of process control systems. * Gain a complete understanding of the steady state behavior of processes. * Develop dynamic mathematical process models that will help you in the analysis, design, and operation of control systems. * Understand how the basic components of control systems work. * Design and tune feedback controllers. * Apply a variety of techniques that enhance feedback control, including cascade control, ratio control, override control, selective control, feedforward control, multivariable control, and loop interaction. * Master the fundamentals of dynamic simulation of process control systems using MATLAB.
This book provides the reader with knowledge needed to understand and apply the symbols and documents used to define a modern industrial instrumentation and control system. The documents that describe modern industrial processes, like most technical work, assume some level of understanding on the readers part. The documents use a schematic, symbol-based language that may resemble Mayan hieroglyphics to those unfamiliar with the process nomenclature. The symbols, however, include a wealth of information once you are able to translate them. This book will train you to read, understand, and apply the symbols and documents used to define a modern industrial instrumentation and control system. For more experienced professionals, insights into using the symbols and documents more effectively are provided. Variations in the use of symbols and documents are given as well as the pitfalls to avoid. To better understand process documentation today, insight into how and when documents are developed, who develops them, why they are developed, and how they are used is provided. The types of documents discussed include process flow diagrams, piping and instrumentation drawings, instrument lists, specification forms, logic diagrams, installation details, location plans, and loop diagrams.