Engineering Materials (PTT 101/3)

Derived from the content of the respectedMcGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms,6th Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * A pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format

Emphasizing engineered materials that can withstand stress or unusual environments for an extended period of time, this dictionary defines 11,000 technical terms and concepts from the materials and testing fields. The second edition adds terms related to computer languages, hardware, and software. A

Encyclopedia of Materials Characterization is a comprehensive volume on analytical techniques used in materials science for the characterization of surfaces, interfaces and thin films. This flagship volume in the Materials Characterization Series is a unique, stand-alone reference for materials science practitioners, process engineers, students and anyone with a need to know about the capabilities available in materials analysis. An encyclopedia of 50 concise articles, this book will also be a practical companion to the forthcoming books in the Series. It describes widely-ranging techniques in a jargon-free manner and includes summary pages for each technique to supply a quick survey of its capabilities.

The Materials Handbook is an encyclopedic, A-to-Z organization of all types of materials, featuring their key performance properties, principal characteristics and applications in product design. Materials include ferrous and nonferrous metals, plastics, elastomers, ceramics, woods, composites, chemicals, minerals, textiles, fuels, foodstuffs and natural plant and animal substances --more than 13,000 in all. Properties are expressed in both U.S. customary and metric units and a thorough index eases finding details on each and every material. Introduced in 1929 and often known simply as "Brady's," this comprehensive, one-volume, 1244 page encyclopedia of materials is intended for executives, managers, supervisors, engineers, and technicians, in engineering, manufacturing, marketing, purchasing and sales as well as educators and students. Of the dozens of families of materials updated in the 15th Edition, the most extensive additions pertain to adhesives, activated carbon, aluminides, aluminum alloys, catalysts, ceramics, composites, fullerences, heat-transfer fluids, nanophase materials, nickel alloys, olefins, silicon nitride, stainless steels, thermoplastic elastomers, titanium alloys, tungsten alloys, valve alloys and welding and hard-facing alloys. Also widely updated are acrylics, brazing alloys, chelants, biodegradable plastics, molybdenum alloys, plastic alloys, recyclate plastics, superalloys, supercritical fluids and tool steels. New classes of materials added include aliphatic polyketones, carburizing secondary-hardening steels and polyarylene ether benzimidazoles. Carcinogens and materials likely to be cancer-causing in humans are listed for the first time.