Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fundamentals of Momentum, Heat, and Mass Transfer, four edition. by
Call Number: TA357 F981 2001
Publication Date: 2001
A TRUSTED CLASSIC, NOW UPDATED WITH MODERN APPLICATIONS For more than three decades, FUNDAMENTALS OF MOMENTUM, HEAT, AND MASS TRANSFER has set the standard in the field with its consistent, clearly written, unified approach to transfer processes. Building on the strengths of previous editions, the Fourth Edition of this classic text is updated with applications to contemporary technologies, such as materials processing, electronic chip cooling, biochemical engineering, and more. Readers will develop a sound understanding of transfer phenomena, build a set of valuable analysis skiss, and apply basic principles to a wide variety of modern problems and examples. Feature of the Fourth Edition "New! Contemporary subject matter. "New! More homework exercises and example problems that deal with current technologies. "New! Revised coverage pf mass transfer. Consistent approach to transport processes, highlighting similarities among different modes. Easy-to-understand descriptions of basic principles. A clear methodology for solving fundamentally based problems. Extensive table of physical properties of solids, liquids, and gases.
Heat and Mass Transfer, 3rd edition by
Call Number: SpringerLink Ebook
Publication Date: 2011-07-22
This book provides a solid foundation in the principles of heat and mass transfer and shows how to solve problems by applying modern methods. The basic theory is developed systematically, exploring in detail the solution methods to all important problems. The revised second edition incorporates state-of-the-art findings on heat and mass transfer correlations. The book will be useful not only to upper- and graduate-level students, but also to practicing scientists and engineers. Many worked-out examples and numerous exercises with their solutions will facilitate learning and understanding, and an appendix includes data on key properties of important substances.
Chemical Engineering, five edition. by
Call Number: TP155 C855 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Chemical Engineering Volume 2 covers the properties of particulate systems, including the character of individual particles and their behaviour in fluids. Sedimentation of particles, both singly and at high concentrations, flow in packed and fluidised beads and filtration are then examined. The latter part of the book deals with separation processes, such as distillation and gas absorption, which illustrate applications of the fundamental principles of mass transfer introduced in Chemical Engineering Volume 1. In conclusion, several techniques of growing importance - adsorption, ion exchange, chromatographic and membrane separations, and process intensification - are described.
OTHER RECOMMENDED TITLES
Handbook of Plastics, Elastomers and Composites, four edition by
Call Number: TP1130 H293 2002 r
Publication Date: 2002
Handbook of Plastics, Elastomers, and Composite4th Edition, places state-of-the-art information on plastics, elastomers, and composites at your fingertips. The revised and updated edition presents all of the fundamental information required to understand the large number of materials and material forms, and provides the necessary data and guidelines for optimal use of these materials and forms in the broad range of industrial products, ensuring the highest performance from materials.Thoroughly revised, this new edition features the latest advance in properties of plastics, elastomers, and composites while providing practical examples throughout. Thermosets, plastics in coatings and finishes, thermoplastics and plastics in packaging are covered.
Call Number: T174.7 N186 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Nanosensors, sensing devices with at least one sensing dimension less than 100nm, have become instrumental for monitoring physical and chemical phenomena, detecting biochemicals in cellular organelles, and measuring nanoscopic particles in industrial processes. This book provides a guide to nanosensors. Inspired by his own experience with nanofiber-based gas sensors, the author explains the principles and applications of nanosensors for industry, healthcare, and defense. Each chapter presents an overview of the specific type of nanosensor and then describes the fundamental science that forms the basis of the sensing mechanism, fabrication techniques, and the specific nanosensor's detection.
Micro Process Engineering by
Call Number: TS183 M626 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Advanced Micro & Nanosystems (AMN) provides cutting-edge reviews and detailed case studies by top authors from science and industry, covering technologies, devices and advanced systems from the micro and nano worlds, which together have an immense innovative application potential that opens up with control of shape and function from the atomic level right up to the visible world without any technological gaps. In this topical volume, authors from leading industrial players and research institutions present a concise and didactical introduction to Micro Process Engineering, the combination of microtechnology and process engineering into a most promising and powerful tool for revolutionizing chemical processes and industrial mass production of bulk materials, fine chemicals, pharmaceuticals and many other products. The book takes the readers from the fundamentals of engineering methods, transport processes, and fluid dynamics to device conception, simulation and modelling, control interfaces and issues of modularity and compatibility. Fabrication strategies and techniques are examined next, focused on the fabrication of suitable microcomponents from various materials such as metals, polymers, silicon, ceramics and glass. The book concludes with actual applications and operational aspects of micro process systems, giving broad coverage to industrial efforts in America, Europe and Asia as well as laboratory equipment and education.