Polymer Testing and Characterization (EBT 334/4)

Thermal analysis has proven to be one of the most important and meaningful test methods in the plastics industry and in testing laboratories. Although thermal analysis is used for fundamental studies related to materials science of polymers, its power lies in understanding this behavior during manufacturing processes. This understanding aids in process optimization, reduction of manufacturing cycle times, failure analysis as well as overall improvement of the material properties of the finished product, to name a few. In this book, the different test methods and their variations are described in detail, emphasizing the principles and their application in practice. Using practical examples, different approaches to problem solving are presented with a focus on the interpretation of the experimental results. Thermal analysis provides information on important properties of plastic materials, such as nucleation, crystallization, degree of crystallinity, recrystallization, melting and solidification, glass transition, curing and postcuring, thermal stability, thermal expansion, relaxation of orientation and internal stresses, pvT-data, and others.

Handbook of Thermal Analysis Edited by T. Hatakeyama National Institute of Materials and Chemical Research, Ibaraki, Japan Zhenhai Liu Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry, China This 425-page reference book covers a comprehensive description of the principles of thermal analysis (TA) instruments, operating conditions, and the nature of the experimental data. Presented in a compact and well-arranged style with a large number of figures and illustrations, this work is divided into two parts. Part I is designed to acquaint and orient newcomers with TA by providing a comprehensive introduction to the basic principles of instrument operation, with advice on sample preparation and optimization of operating conditions, and a guide to interpreting results. The text deals primarily with techniques such as differential scanning calorimetry (DSC), differential thermal analysis (DTA), and thermogravimetry (TG). Part II illustrates 500 TA curves covering metals, inorganic and organic minerals, polymers, construction materials, pharmaceuticals, explosives, etc. The appendices include a glossary of TA terms, a survey of reference materials, the current table of TA standards, and a TA database. This book is aimed at advanced users and specialists who utilize TA methods for practical purposes, especially in research laboratories both academic and industrial. With an emphasis on practical instruction, industrial research staff, undergraduates and postgraduate students in the relevant fields will find this work a useful introduction to principle TA techniques.

From the reviews of the bestselling First Edition: "A very useful contribution to the plastics industry. Mr. Shah has successfully filled a void between the identification of a test method, implementation of the test, and some understanding of the meaning of the results. . . . All in all, a job well done." -Polymer News "Provides a practical source for plastics testing . . . The appendices will prove invaluable." -SAMPE Journal. Sponsored by the Society of Plastics Engineers, the Handbook of Plastics Testing Technology, Second Edition is a valuable working resource for anyone involved with manufacturing, testing, studying, or developing plastics. Thoroughly updated and expanded with more than thirty-five percent new material, this new edition of the 1984 classic provides practical information on all aspects of contemporary plastics testing in a highly accessible, nonmathematical form. Following a concise introduction to basic concepts, the book moves straight to practical discussions of the full gamut of testing issues, including thermal, mechanical, weathering, optical, electrical, and chemical properties; materials characterization; flammability; analytical tests; quality control; product liability testing; failure analysis; nondestructive testing; and more. Rather than simply describing test procedures, the author clearly explains the broader significance of each test and the results it yields for engineers and materials scientists working in industry today. Professionals will also appreciate the Handbook's closing chapters and appendices, which offer a wide range of useful information on professional and testing organizations, uniform global testing standards, equipment manufacturers, trade publications, independent testing laboratories, and plastics specifications.

Written in easy-to-read and -use format, this book updates and revises its bestselling predecessor to become the most complete, comprehensive resource on plastics testing. This book has an emphasis on significance of test methods and interpretation of results. The book covers all aspects of plastics testing, failure analysis, and quality assurance - including chapters on identification analysis, failure analysis, and case studies. The book concludes with a substantial appendix with useful data, charts and tables for ready reference. Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.

Most of the available texts for polymer chemistry are written for graduate students, foregoing some of the concepts that are the basis for understanding polymers. Building on the core elements of organic and physical chemistry, Introduction to Polymer Chemistry provides an articulate, well-rounded presentation of the principles and applications for natural, synthetic, inorganic, and organic polymers. The book organizes its organic-intensive chapters in the front, allowing greater time for students and teachers to become familiar with the topic before embarking on physical aspects. Relating to all types of polymers, the chapters examine synthesis and polymerization reactions, reactivities, techniques for characterization and analysis, energy absorption and thermal conductivity, physical and optical properties, and more. Each chapter contains up-to-date problems, learning summaries, practical glossaries, and recommended Web sites for further study. The author uses compelling examples from real-world applications that underscore the impact of polymers on society and emphasize the increasing role of polymers for resolving worldwide health challenges such as clean and abundant water, food preservation, clean air, and clean energy. Placing less emphasis on physical topics, Introduction to Polymer Chemistry contains sufficient coverage of kinetics and thermodynamics to qualify as an advanced course for the American Chemical Society (ACS) Committee on Professional Training approval process. It also fulfills the advanced course requirements of the ACS for the chemistry major, offering a solutions manual for qualifying course adoptions.

This revolutionary and best-selling resource returns with more than 200 pages of additional information and expanded discussions on zeolites, bitumen, electronically conducting polymers, polymerization reactors, dendrites, self assembling nanomaterials, atomic force microscopy, and polymer processing-surpassing any other text on the topic with extensive listings of laboratory exercises and demonstrations, web resources, and new applications for in-depth analysis of synthetic, natural, organometallic, and inorganic polymers. The author provides special sections on current topics such as the human genome and protonics, recycling codes and solid waste, optical fibers, self-assembly, combinatorial chemistry, and smart and conductive materials.