It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This direct, straightforward book provides material that focuses on making the theories and principles of total quality practical and useful in a real-world setting. Up-to-date and comprehensive, it coversallof the elements of total quality, including several that receive little or no attention in other total quality books, enabling readers to understand that in order to compete in the global arena, businesses must achieve consistent peak performance, continual improvement, and maximum competitiveness.Coveringalltopics necessary to total quality management, this book includes: global competitiveness; strategic management; ethics and corporate social responsibility; partnering and strategic alliances; quality culture; customer satisfaction and retention; employee empowerment; leadership; teamwork; communication; education and training; overcoming negativity; the ISO 9000 quality management system; tools and techniques; and implementing total quality management.An excellent handbook for quality managers, directors of quality control, and vice-presidents of quality management.
For decades, organizations around the world have been using quality concepts and practices to improve performance and increase productivity. Now as other organizations strive to achieve similar results, they are often struggling to understand and implement these quality principles. This is the focus of Fundamental Concepts of Quality Improvement, which provides a thorough overview of the essential quality principals as presented by an international collection of respected quality experts. the book approaches quality improvement from an oindustry neutralo perspective that highlights the similarities in approaches and techniques across a broad range of industries. Therefore the book provides a very inclusive look at the fundamentals of quality that will appeal to a wide range of readers. Fundamental Concepts of Quality Improvement is a collection of some of the best articles and presentations of over 50 quality experts, compiled and organized into one easy to use guide. the book is divided into four sections each, focusing on one aspect of quality improvement. the four sections provide a smooth flow of information that offers a complete overview of quality and thorough introduction to these proven methods for improvement, and are aligned according to the ASQ Certified Quality Improvement Associate (CQIA) Body of Knowledge. Dr. Hartman has developed an invaluable resource which allows the reader the opportunity to learn quality improvement from a wealth of renowned authors. - Mark T. Smith, Retired Former Director-Local Integration Sprint.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Practical and state-of-the-art in approach, this book provides fundamentalyet comprehensive-coverage of quality control concepts. Sufficient theory is presented to ensure that learners gain a sound understanding of the basic principles of quality control. KEY TOPICS Specific chapter topics covers principles and practices, tools and techniques, fundamentals of statistics, control charts for variables, additional SPC techniques for variables, fundamentals of probability, control charts for attributes, lot-by-lot acceptance sampling by attributes, acceptance sampling systems, reliability, and management and planning. The substantial use of probability and statistical techniques is reduced to simple mathematics or is developed in the form of tables and charts. For quality control engineers.
Exposing readers to a wide variety of topics within quality assurance, this book emphasizes the understanding, use, and interpretation of statistical process control principles, concepts, and results "throughout" the problem-solving process. It uses comprehensive, in-depth examples and case studies from a "variety" of industries to highlight the complexities of statistical analysis and control chart interpretation. Accompanying computer software allows readers to work interactively with the extensive example problems, chapter-end problems, and case studies. Improved coverage of ISO 1400. The underlying theme of achieving total quality assurance encourages readers to consider the complexities of improving quality. SQCpack for Windows Student Version extremely successful quality control software provided with text. For anyone in industry or business settings where quality assurance is a priority.
A Practical Tool for Learning New Methods Quality assurance and measurement uncertainty in analytical laboratories has become increasingly important. To meet increased scrutiny and keep up with new methods, practitioners very often have to rely on self-study. A practical textbook for students and a self-study tool for analytical laboratory employees, Quality Assurance and Quality Control in the Analytical Chemical Laboratory: A Practical Approachdefines the tools used in QA/QC, especially the application of statistical tools during analytical data treatment. Unified Coverage of QA in Analytical Chemistry Clearly written and logically organized, this book delineates the concepts of practical QA/QC, taking a generic approach that can be applied to any field of analysis. Using an approach grounded in hands-on experience, the book begins with the theory behind quality control systems and then moves on to discuss examples of tools such as validation parameter measurements, the use of statistical tests, counting the margin of error, and estimating uncertainty. The authors draw on their experience in uncertainty estimation, traceability, reference materials, statistics, proficiency tests, and method validation to provide practical guidance on each step of the process. Extended Coverage of QC/QA in Analytical and Testing Laboratories Presenting guidance on all aspects of QA and measurement results, the book covers QC/QA in a more complex and extended manner than other books on this topic. This range of coverage supplies an integrated view on measures like the use of reference materials and method validation. With worked-out examples and Excel spreadsheets that users can use to try the concepts themselves, the book provides not only know-what but know-how.
An ideal hands-on, authoritative, how-to guide for the manager, supervisor, engineer, or other individual who is, or wants to be, involved with total quality management for continual improvement of their organizations, products and services in the private or public sector. It covers the full scope and range of the subject--from its origin and history through practical day-to-day application of its philosophy and tools. Features easily followed step-by-step plans for even the most complex methodologies.Total Quality and Quality Management. Strategic Planning. Quality Culture. Customer Satisfaction. Empowerment. Leadership and Change. Team Building. Training. Quality Tools. Problem Solving and Decision Making. Statistical Process Control (SPC). Continuous Improvement. Benchmarking. Just-in-Time (JIT).For Presidents and CEOs; General Managers; Vice President/Director/Managers of Operations, Engineering, Manufacturing (or Production); Quality Assurance; Marketing and Business Development; Information Technology or Management Information Systems; Managers; Supervisors; Engineers.
Pearson Publishing and the Center for the Advancement of Process Technology (CAPT) have partnered to publish a series of books designed to aid in the education and development of technicians in the field of Process Technology. These books, which are based on a set of nationally identified objectives, are designed to address the core needs of both industry and education. Reviewers from a broad array of process industries and education institutions participated in the production of these materials so that the widest audience possible would be represented in the presentation of the content. The book is intended for use in community colleges, technical colleges, universities and corporate settings in which process technology is taught. An invaluable resource to be used throughout a process technology career, this book is a complete reference for both theory and practical application. The Center for the Advancement of Process Technology (CAPT) currently offers several instructor manuals and student workbooks for their books. Currently these must be PURCHASED by the instructor or institution. These materials, order forms, and pricing, can be viewed and purhcased at this website:http://www.captech.org/curriculum/products.php