It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Technology of Machine Toolsprovides state-of-the-art training for using machine tools in manufacturing technology, including up-to-date coverage of computer numerical control. It includes an overview of machine trades and career opportunities followed by theory and application. The text is structured to provide coverage of tools and measurement, machining tools and procedures, drilling and milling machines, computer-aided machining, and metallurgy. There is expanded coverage of computer-related technologies, including computer numerical control (CNC) and computer-aided design and manufacturing (CAD/CAM).
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
The SI Version ofKalpakjian Manufacturing, Engineering and Technology, 5ediscusses the science, engineering, and technology of manufacturing processes and systems that continue to advance rapidly on a global scale and with major impact on the economies of all nations. In this edition, the goal has been to provide a comprehensive and state-of-the-art manufacturing engineering and technology textbook, with the additional aims of motivating and challenging students to study this important discipline. This edition follows the same introductory nature, format, and organization as the fourth edition, and now includes increased emphasis on (a) the influence of materials and processing parameters in understanding individual processes and operations; (b) design considerations, product quality, and manufacturing costs; and (c) the global competitive context of each manufacturing process and operation, highlighted with numerous illustrative examples and case studies.
A modern, all-inclusive look at manufacturing In this modern, quantitative approach to manufacturing, Mikell Groover offers balanced coverage of the three basic engineering materials--metals, ceramics, polymers, as well as composites--along with recently developed manufacturing processes and electronics manufacturing technologies. Throughout Fundamentals of Modern Manufacturing, the emphasis is on manufacturing science and quantitative analysis of manufacturing processes. This emphasis helps students understand the relationships among the material properties and the process variables in a given manufacturing process. Now updated and revised, this Third Edition of Fundamentals of Modern Manufacturing features: New chapter on Nanofabrication Technologies, which describes the importance of nanotechnology and future commercial products that will be made possible by this technology. Updated chapter on Microfabrication Technologies with new material describing how compact discs are produced. More than 1700 end-of-chapter review questions, multiple-choice quiz questions, and quantitative analysis problems, including many new questions and problems in this edition. See manufacturing processes in action with SME videos! This text is packaged with a DVD based on the Society of Manufacturing Engineers' Fundamental Manufacturing Processes video series. The DVD contains brief video clips that promote visualization of key manufacturing processes. Chapters in the text include references to the videos, and several new end-of-chapter questions relate to the videos.
Provides a descriptive introduction to manufacturing processes, materials, and manufacturing systems. Includes numerous illustrations, photographs, and diagrams throughout the text. Presents a solid integration of materials and processes. Maintains the emphasis on application and design established in previous editions.
Machining remains a hugely important process in modern engineering and manufacturing practice, and students need to be aware of the vast host of methods and technologies available to meet all sorts of precision and surface finish requirements. Fundamentals of Machining Processes: Conventional and Nonconventional Processes is the first textbook to collect all of the major methods into a single reference, from cutting and abrasive processes to erosion, hybrid, and micromachining processes. A Solid Foundation The text begins with an introduction to the various machining processes, followed by detailed discussions of cutting tool materials and geometry, mechanics of orthogonal cutting, the various factors affecting the economics of machining, and cutting methods for both flat and cylindrical surfaces. The author then shifts focus to high-speed machining and abrasive processes, including abrasive finishing and advanced processes such as ultrasonic and abrasive jet machining. A Firm Step Forward After laying a groundwork in the conventional processes, El-Hofy delves into modern machining topics. He explains electrochemical and thermal erosion techniques, combined machining processes, and the various micromachining techniques based on the previously discusses processes. Extensive worked examples, illustrations, and homework problems reinforce a practical understanding of the concepts. Reflecting the author's more than 30 years of industrial and teaching experience, Fundamentals of Machining Processes is a resource that students will carry with them well into their careers.
Metal cutting is a science and technology with great interest for several important industries such as automotive, aeronautics, aerospace, alternative energy, moulds and dies, biomedical, etc. Metal cutting are manufacturing processes in which parts are shaped by removal of unwanted material. The interest for this topic increased over the last twenty years, with rapid advances in materials science, automation and control and computers technology. Recently, micro and nano cutting had been gaining ground. Manufacture of microcomponents is becoming increasingly important for the development of new products for modern industry.This book aims to provide the research and review studies on metal cutting.
- Introduces and provides an overview of 45 of the latest manufacturing technologies. - Each unit has the potential for saving a manufacturer many thousands of dollars when applied properly. - All major developments in manufacturing technology are available in this one volume...no more time-consuming searching of the Web. - Written by a highly successful team of technical authors whose reputations for accuracy and quality are recognized worldwide. - Many technologies have been updated to the data of publication. - Includes these topics: Producing Prosperity, Human Resources, Internet Sourcing: Goods/Services, Justifying AM Technologies, Superabrasive Technology, Direct Metal Deposition, Fineblanking, Product Design & Development, Internet 2D/3D File Transfer, Open Architecture CNC, Immersive/Virtual Reality, Machine Diagnostics Online, CNC Manufacturing & Lasers, Robotics & Rapid Prototyping, E-Manufacturing, STEP NC, Manufacturing in the Future, Nanotechnology, plus 25 other advanced technologies. - Each section has been reviewed by industrial experts to ensure that it contains the latest information and is technically accurate.