It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This direct, straightforward book provides material that focuses on making the theories and principles of total quality practical and useful in a real-world setting. Up-to-date and comprehensive, it coversallof the elements of total quality, including several that receive little or no attention in other total quality books, enabling readers to understand that in order to compete in the global arena, businesses must achieve consistent peak performance, continual improvement, and maximum competitiveness.Coveringalltopics necessary to total quality management, this book includes: global competitiveness strategic management ethics and corporate social responsibility partnering and strategic alliances quality culture customer satisfaction and retention employee empowerment leadership teamwork communication education and training overcoming negativity the ISO 9000 quality management system tools and techniques and implementing total quality management.An excellent handbook for quality managers, directors of quality control, and vice-presidents of quality management.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Industrial Safety And Health Managementis ideal for senior/graduate-level courses in Industrial Safety, Industrial Engineering, Industrial Technology, and Operations Management. It is useful for industrial engineers. Unique in approach,Industrial Safety and Health Management, 6th Editioncombines in one volume an exploration of the time-tested concepts and techniques of safety and health management, a modern perspective on compliance with mandatory standards for workplace safety and health, and a variety of solved problems, case studies, and exercises. It provides reasons, explanations, and illustrations of the hazard mechanisms that form the underlying basis for the volumes of detailed standards for workplace safety and health. The new edition focuses on more of the real issues future safety and health practitioners will encounter, such as dealing with enforcement, protecting workers from ergonomic hazards, and accommodating the latest advances in process technology.
Known for its comprehensive coverage, this text covers all aspects of occupational safety and health in today global workplace. Appropriate for safety management, engineering and technology programs, the book follows a logical sequence that provides a historical perspective and overview, covers the laws and regulations, discusses the human element, examines hazard assessment, prevention, and control, and covers management of safety and health. This edition features updated OSHA standards and contemporary topics such as safety culture, safety role in global competitiveness, workplace violence, natural disasters and terrorism. Some new features include: All OSHA standards, as well as those of other regulatory agencies, were updated Chapter 4 Added a new section on the Emerging Role of Safety Professionals Chapter 9 Added a new section on the safety professional role in product recalls Chapter 15 Added a new section on practical prevention measures for reducing slip and fall hazards and a new checklist for enhancing vision protection
This revised text provides readers with the most current information available on a wide range of topics.Topics covered include workers' compensation, fault tree analysis, hearing protection, environmental protection, fire protection, workers with disabilities, ergonomics, OSHA violation policy, and much more.For anyone interested in industrial safety.
Quality Management by Howard S. Gitlow; Rosa Oppenheim; Alan Oppenheim; David Levine
Call Number: TS156 Q1 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Quality improvement is recognized as an essential function in any successful organization. Leading corporations have demonstrated that improved quality raises profits, reduces costs, and provides competitive advantage. Quality Management, 3/e, text presents a comprehensive approach to quality improvement, including Dr. W. Edwards Deming's philosophy of quality, productivity, and competitive position, thorough coverage of process improvement, Six Sigma, the DMAIC model, and much more. The text is motivated by integrated quality improvement stories, examples, and mini-case studies to help students better understand the application and impact of Quality Management and Improvement. The third edition includes a major new section on quality administration.
The essential guide to blending safety and health with economical engineering Over time, the role of the engineer has evolved into a complex combination of duties and responsibilities. Modern engineers are required not only to create products and environments, but to make them safe and economical as well. Safety and Health for Engineers, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide that helps engineers reconcile safety and economic concerns using the latest cost-effective methods of ensuring safety in all facets of their work. It addresses the fundamentals of safety, legal aspects, hazard recognition, the human element of safety, and techniques for managing safety in engineering decisions. Like its successful predecessor, this Second Edition contains a broad range of topics and examples, detailed references to information and standards, real-world application exercises, and a significant bibliography of books for each chapter. Inside this indispensable resource, you'll find: * The duties and legal responsibilities for which engineers are accountable * Updated safety laws and regulations and their enforcement agencies * An in-depth study of hazards and their control * A thorough discussion of human behavior, capabilities, and limitations * Key instruction on managing safety and health through risk management, safety analyses, and safety plans and programs Additionally, Safety and Health for Engineers includes the latest legal considerations, new risk analysis methods, system safety and decision-making tools, and today's concepts and methods in ergonomic design. It also contains revised reference figures and tables, OSHA permissible exposure limits, and updated examples and exercises taken from real cases that challenged engineering designs. Written for engineers, plant managers, safety professionals, and students, Safety and Health for Engineers, Second Edition provides the information and tools you need to unite health and safety with economical engineering for safer technological solutions.
Unique in approach, this book combinesin one volume an exploration of the time-tested concepts and techniques of safety and health management, a modern perspective on compliance with mandatory standards for workplace safety and health, and a variety of solved problems, case studies, and exercises. It provides reasons, explanations, and illustrations of the hazard mechanisms that form the underlying basis for the volumes of detailed standards for workplace safety and health. KEY TOPICS Specific chapter topics cover Concepts of Hazard Avoidance, the impact of federal regulation, process safety and disaster preparedness, buildings and facilities, ergonomics, health and toxic substances, environmental control and noise, flammable and explosive materials, personal protection and first aid, fire protection, materials handling and storage, machine guarding, welding, electrical hazards, and construction. For industrial engineers.
Health has often been defined as the absence of illness and as the state of well-being. This definition, however, actually constitutes two different criteria: the absence of illness and the presence of health. For example, a person may not have any signs of illness but may still have a cholesterol level that is too high. When thinking about healthy organizations, we often make the same distinction. A healthy organization, for example, is not only free from illness and doesn't harm employees but also possesses the presence of health as exemplified by its long-term adaptability and ability to thrive. This book considers this broader definition of health and safety in organizations--one that encompasses both the absence of illness as well as the presence of health--and the implications it has for industrial/organizational psychology and human resources. A distinguished group of contributors provides a review and integration of different lines of research focusing on health and safety in organizations, including a broad array of topics ranging from the role of individual differences and training to human resource management strategy. They explore cross-level theoretical linkages between aspects of health and safety at the individual, group, and organizational level. These discussions examine the linkages between individual health and certain aspects of the overall health of the organization, as well as how certain aspects of organizations can influence individual health and well-being.