It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Professional Practice In Engineering Management (BFT 563/3)
The essence of professional engineering practice is that we are dealing with people.
For both upper level undergraduate classes and for graduate degree programs (credit or noncredit) for technical professionals of many kinds. Managing Engineering and Technology is designed to teach engineers, scientists, and other technologists the management skills they will need to be effective throughout their careers.
This easy-to-read book prepares engineers to fulfill their managerial responsibilities, acquire useful business perspectives, and take on the much-needed leadership roles to meet the challenges in the new millennium.The book is organized in three parts: Part I reviews the basic functions of engineering management; Part II provides backgrounds in cost accounting, financial analysis, financial management and marketing management; and Part III readies the reader for exercising leadership in managing technologies through discussions related to engineers as managers/leaders, ethics, web-based tools, globalization and engineering management in the decades to come.For engineering professionals who have an interest in becoming managers and/or leaders in their field.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Why should the student of engineering study management? Engineering skills alone do not meet real world requirements; they have to be supplemented by management training. In fact, after graduation, most engineers will find that their success depends as much on general management skills and understanding operational systems as on their technical expertise. To become a complete engineer, a student needs a firm foundation in these skills ? Management for Engineers provides such a foundation. Practical and accessible, the book aims to equip the reader with all the skills and management related topics covered in an undergraduate or graduate course in engineering management. Management for Engineers is based on the Engineering Management Programme at City University, London, a course which offers all its undergraduate engineers portable management skills, presenting them with the most recent management concepts and covering such issues as: management of quality, materials and new product development human resource management and communication project management and critical path networks management of the supply system and inventory control employment law and the single European market The authors have a combined experience of more than 80 years in senior management in industry. This practical management experience, which is brought to bear in the text, is enhanced by sections drawn from other management courses ? in particular from the unique MBA in Engineering Management and from the highly successful BSc in Management and Systems. The combination of real world experience and academic pedigree to be found in Management for Engineers makes this the most appropriate text for the student of today and the engineer of tomorrow.
In this new edition of his widely-used Handbook, Frank Watts, widely recognized for his significant contributions to engineering change control processes, provides a thoroughly practical guide to the implementation and improvement of Engineering Documentation Control (EDC), Product Lifecycle Management and Product Configuration Management (CM). Successful and error-free implementation of EDC/CM is critical to world-class manufacturing. Huge amounts of time are wasted in most product manufacturing environments over EDC/CM issues such as interchangeability, document release and change control - resulting in faults, product release delays and overspends.
The book is packed with specific methods that can be applied quickly and accurately to almost any industry and any product to control documentation, request changes to the product, implement changes and develop bills of material.
The result is a powerful communications bridge between the engineering function and 'the rest of the world' that makes rapid changes in products and documentation possible. With the help of the simple techniques in the handbook, companies can gain and hold their competitive advantages in a world that demands flexibility and quick reflexes - and has no sympathy for delays.
The new edition sets EDC/CM in the context of Product Lifecycle Management (PLM), providing guidance on choosing, purchasing and implementing PLM software systems. Watts guides the reader to harness these tools and techniques for business objectives including Process Improvement and time-to-market.
Solid, pragmatic ideas for real product and process cost reduction. According to one reviewer: 'most books focus on the basics without examining all facets of each process area or functional area. This may be good for quickly learning, but it will only take the reader so far. Mr. Watts imparts the same information, but invites the reader to think and to consider strengths and weaknesses of processes and procedures. The copious examples, illustrations and breadth of topics covered make this book "the" reference on EDC and CM.'
Strategic emphasis shows how processes may be integrated and tears down the 'wall' between Engineering and Operations
Thorough description of Product Lifecycle Management software tools