It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wastewater Engineering: Treatment and Reuse,4/e is a thorough update of McGraw-Hill's authoritative book on wastewater treatment. No environmental engineering professional or civil or and environmental engineering major should be without a copy of this book- tt describes the technological and regulatory changes that have occurred over the last ten years in this discipline, including: improved techniques for the characterization of wastewaters; improved fundamental understanding of many of the existing unit operations and processes used for wastewater treatment, especially those processes used for the biological removal of nutrients; greater implementation of several newer treatment technologies (e.g., UV disinfection, membrane filtration, and heat drying); greater concern for the long term health and environmental impacts of wastewater constituents; greater emphasis on advanced wastewater treatment and risk assessment for water reuse applications; changes in regulations and the development of new technologies for wastewater disinfection; and new regulations governing the treatment, reuse, and disposal of sludge (biosolids).Greater concern for infrastructure renewal including upgrading the design and performance of wastewater treatment plants. This revision contains a strong focus on advanced wastewater treatment technologies and stresses the reuse aspects of wastewater and biosolids.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Introduction to Environmental Engineering, 4/e contains the essential science and engineering principles needed for introductory courses and used as the basis for more advanced courses in environmental engineering. Updated with latest EPA regulations, Davis and Cornwell apply the concepts of sustainability and materials and energy balance as a means of understanding and solving environmental engineering issues. With 650 end-of-chapter problems, as well as provocative discussion questions, and a helpful list of review items found at the end of each chapter, the text is both a comprehensible and comprehensive tool for any environmental engineering course. Standards and Laws are the most current and up-to-date for an environmental engineering text.
Following on from the successful first edition of Waste Treatment & Disposal, this second edition has been completely updated, and provides comprehensive coverage of waste process engineering and disposal methodologies. Concentrating on the range of technologies available for household and commercial waste, it also presents readers with relevant legislative background material as boxed features. NEW to this edition: Increased coverage of re-use and recycling Updating of the usage of different waste treatment technologies Increased coverage of new and emerging technologies for waste treatment and disposal A broader global perspective with a focus on comparative international material on waste treatment uptake and waste management policies
This book details the technologies used in water and wastewater management today, including standard practice and state of the art. Its main focus is on the mechanics of processes to treat water or wastewater.
Taking the reader through the history of industrial waste treatment and directing them toward a new path of best practice, this book illustrates how current treatment techniques are affected by regulatory and economic constraints, scientific knowledge and tolerances. This book provides the reader with the basis for a more effective method of waste treatment which is sustainable and supportive of industrial improvements. Overall, it provides valuable information for planners, industrial, civil and environmental engineers and government officials for a better understanding of current practices and regulatory history and how these factors relate to the ability to complete environmental solutions to industrial waste problems. * Provides environmental history from a professional/technical point-of-view as a basis for total solutions engineering * Includes sustainable practice necessary for the 21st Century * Thoroughly explores industry and environmental regulations over the past 150 years
Increasing demand on industrial capacity has, as an unintended consequence, an accompanying increase in harmful and hazardous wastes. Recognizing the need for a comprehensive reference on the technologies and strategies available for waste treatment in specific industries, four well-respected editors have collaborated to produce the highly popular Handbook of Industrial and Hazardous Wastes Treatment. Derived from the second edition of this handbook, Waste Treatment in the Food Processing Industry outlines the latest developments, practical strategies, processes, and best practices for waste treatment in various areas of the food processing industry, such as meat, seafood, dairy, soft drink, and olive oil wastes.
Increasing demand on industrial capacity has, as an unintended consequence, produced an accompanying increase in harmful and hazardous wastes. Derived from the second edition of the popular Handbook of Industrial and Hazardous Wastes Treatment, Waste Treatment in the Process Industries outlines the fundamentals and latest developments in waste treatment in various process industries, such as pharmaceuticals, textiles, petroleum, soap, detergent, phosphate, paper, pulp, pesticides, rubber, and power. Comprehensive in scope, it provides information that is directly applicable to daily waste management problems throughout the industry.The book contains in-depth discussions of environmental pollution sources, waste characteristics, control technologies, management strategies, facility innovations, process alternatives, costs, case histories, effluent standards, and future trends for the process industry. It includes extensive bibliographies for each type of industrial process waste treatment or practice, invaluable information to anyone who needs to trace, follow, duplicate, or improve on a specific process waste treatment practice.A quick scan of the chapters and contributors reveals the depth and breadth of the book's coverage. It provides technical and economical information on how to develop the most feasible total environmental control program that can benefit both process industry and local municipalities.
Filled with case studies that demonstrate the use of pollution prevention principles in process design, this reference details the legal, organizational, hierarchical, and environmental components of pollution prevention and waste reduction. It illustrates fundamental concepts such as life-cycle planning and analysis, risk-based pollution control, and industrial ecology. Written by leading experts in the field, the handbook covers legislative and regulatory policies governing waste management in Europe and the U.S., elements of multi-criteria decision making, techniques to reduce hazardous by-products in the mining, oil, and chemical industries, designing for the environment, and more.
This classic text is intended for the student in courses related to industrial water pollution control, as well as a guide for someone in the industry. It is very strong on biological treatment and reflects better than any other book actual industrial treatment practices. This new revision contains new material on hazardous waste disposal and improved coverage of adsorbtion and partionaing.
The classic guide to controlling industrialwater pollution–updated with the latestregulations and new technologies Turnto the Fourth Edition ofIndustrial Water Qualityforguidance on state-of-the-art methods for optimizing orupgrading existing wastewater treatment systems, aswell as selecting the best treatment options to solvespecific wastewater problems. This hands-on toolreflects today’s more stringent water-quality regulationsand the new technologies developed to meet them.Filled with examples and case studies from a variety ofindustries, the book covers reverse osmosis or alternativemembrane processes and discusses BiologicalNutrient Removal (BNR) processes.