Renewable Energy (PLT 404/3)

This third edition of Renewable Energy is undoubtedly one of the most complete accounts of the subject, from source through to extraction and use. The book is academically rigorous, but accessible. The author first describes the effect of the sun on the atmosphere and the creation of wind and waves, including the effects of global warming. For each type of renewable energy, from direct solar radiation to wind and biomass, there follows a technical description of the devices that can be used to transform the energy into useful forms. The author explores new solar cell types, including polymer and organic cells, new biofuel processes and new wave energy devices. The final part of the book loos at social and economic aspects of renewable energy - the costs of our current fuel bills versus new energy sources, and the difference it could make to developing as well as developed countries. The concept of whole new energy systems based around wind, solar, and other energies is put into a real-life context. Key features include: Reference paths: the reader may follow the general process from source through to distribution, or concentrate on a specific type of energy. The material is divided into undergraduate text and advanced options. Details the significant expansion of the field since the publication of the previous edition. Updated material includes offshore wind technologies, polymer and organic solar cells, new developments in hydrogen storage, pipeline transmission, biofuel processes, and wave energy devices, evaluation of biomass options, and an outlook on the renewable energy market. * The only rigorous theory and applications book available * Provides the principles of renewable energy flows/sources and energy conversion processes * Details the significant expansion of the field since the publication of the previous editions

This volume is a true shelf reference, providing a thorough overview of the entire renewable energy sphere, while still functioning as a go-to information source for professionals and students when they need answers about a specific technical issue. Crafted over the last 15 years into a problem-solving tool for engineers, researchers, consultants and planners currently working in the field, as well as a detailed map of the renewables universe for those looking to expand into new technological specialties, this book offers the most comprehensive coverage of the subject available. Part I covers the basic scientific principles behind all major renewable energy resources, such as solar, wind and biomass. Part II provides in-depth information about how these raw renewable sources can actually be converted into useful forms, transmitted into the grid and stored for future utilization. Finally, Part III undertakes the aspects of energy planning, environmental impacts and socio-economic issues on regional and global levels. In this Fourth Edition update, new material includes expanded coverage of biofuels, solar conversion, biomass and fuel cells, storage and transmission, and a new chapter on integrated technologies to introduce the hybrid systems now being explored. New surveys and the most recent research findings are included throughout.

Fundamentals of Renewable Energy Processes contains the technical detail necessary to understand the engineering principles that govern renewable energy application at many different levels. Focused on the fundamental mechanisms and processes that underpin energy management, it provides students with the foundation for all energy process courses. This text is organized according to the main forms of energy - heat engines, hydrogen energy, energy from the sun, and wind and water energy - with an introductory chapter of basic energy terms. From fuel cells, electrolyzers and processes for hydrogen production to biomass and windmills the author provides the most thorough examination of all aspects of renewable energy processes. * Examines the fundamentals of some non-traditional energy processes and illustrates the best way to implement these processes in our modern world. * Appropriate for all students and professionals studying the basic mechanisms of renewable energies. * Clear theory and physical examples of all principles relevant to the study of renewable energy. * Written by an internationally recognized pioneer researcher

Brought to you by the creator of numerous bestselling handbooks, the Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energyprovides a thorough grounding in the analytic techniques and technological developments that underpin renewable energy use and environmental protection. The handbook emphasizes the engineering aspects of energy conservation and renewable energy. Taking a world view, the editors discuss key topics underpinning energy efficiency and renewable energy systems. They provide content at the forefront of the contemporary debate about energy and environmental futures. This is vital information for planning a secure energy future. Practical in approach, the book covers technologies currently available or expected to be ready for implementation in the near future. It sets the stage with a survey of current and future world-wide energy issues, then explores energy policies and incentives for conservation and renewable energy, covers economic assessment methods for conservation and generation technologies, and discusses the environmental costs of various energy generation technologies. The book goes on to examine distributed generation and demand side management procedures and gives a perspective on the efficiencies, economics, and environmental costs of fossil and nuclear technologies. Highlighting energy conservation as the cornerstone of a successful national energy strategy, the book covers energy management strategies for industry and buildings, HVAC controls, co-generation, and advances in specific technologies such as motors, lighting, appliances, and heat pumps. It explores energy storage and generation from renewable sources and underlines the role of infrastructure security and risk analysis in planning future energy transmission and storage systems. These features and more make the Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energythe tool for designing the energy sources of the future.

Presents and analyses the sources of renewable energy, including advantages and disadvantages, projects implemented internationally, cost and environmental implications, and the benefits of system integration.