It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tools and for methods for integrated resource planning : improving energy efficiency and protecting the environment by Joel N Swisher; Gilberto S de Martino Jannuzzi; Robert Y Redlinger; UNEP Collaborating Centre on Energy and Environment.
Publication Date: 1997
This book resulted from our recognition of the need to have systematic teaching and training materials on energy efficiency, end-use analysis, demand-side management (DSM) and integrated resource planning (IRP). This book addresses energy efficiency programs and IRP, exploring their application in the electricity sector. We believe that these methods will provide powerful and practical tools for designing efficient and environmentally-sustainable energy supply and demand-side programs to minimize the economic, environmental and other social costs of electricity conversion and use. Moreover, the principles of IRP can be and already are being applied in other areas such as natural gas, water supply, and even transportation and health services. Public authorities can use IRP principles to design programs to encourage end-use efficiency and environmental protection through environmental charges and incentives, non-utility programs, and utility programs applied to the functions remaining in monopoly concessions such as the distribution wires. Competitive supply firms can use IRP principles to satisfy customer needs for efficiency and low prices, to comply with present and future environmental restrictions, and to optimize supply and demand-side investments and returns, particularly at the distribution level, where local-area IRP is now being actively practiced. Finally, in those countries where a strong planning function remains in place, IRP provides a way to integrate end-use efficiency and environmental protection into energy development. (EG) 181 refs.
Newly revised and edited, this comprehensive handbook is the definitive stand-alone energy manager's desk reference, used by thousands of professionals throughout the industry. The sixth edition includes new chapters on ground-source heat pumps, sustainability, and high performance green buildings, plus an in-depth revision of sections on control systems. In this book, you will find detailed coverage of every component of effective energy management, including energy auditing, economic analysis, boilers, steam systems, cogeneration, waste-heat recovery, building envelope, HVAC systems, electric energy management, control systems, lighting, energy systems maintenance, industrial insulation, alternative energy, indoor air quality, utility rates, thermal energy storage, codes standards, natural gas purchasing, energy security, utility deregulation, financing, commissioning, as well as measurement and verification of energy savings. Detailed illustrations, tables, graphs, and many other helpful working aids are provided throughout.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
While researchers work overtime to create new technologies and methods of providing energy, it is critical that modern industry makes the most efficient use of the energy that is currently available. The Energy Management and Conservation Handbookoffers expert guidance on the planning and design of green technologies. It focuses on management strategies for better utilization of energy in buildings and industry as well as ways of improving energy efficiency at the end use. Renowned authorities from around the globe share insights and modern points of view on a broad spectrum of topics. Summarizing proven energy efficient technologies in the building sector, the book includes examples that highlight the cost-effectiveness of some of these technologies. It introduces basic methods for designing and sizing cost-effective systems and determining whether it is economically efficient to invest in specific energy efficiency or renewable energy projects. It provides guidance for computing measures of economic performance for relatively simple investment choices and the fundamentals for dealing with complex investment decisions. The book also describes energy audit producers commonly used to improve the energy efficiency of residential and commercial buildings as well as industrial facilities. After developing the basics of HVAC control, the book explores operational needs for successfully maintained operations. It describes the essentials of control systems for heating, ventilating, and air conditioning of buildings designed for energy conserving operation. The book also defines demand-side management, covers its role in integrated resource planning, and delineates the main elements of its programs. The book demonstrates these concepts with case studies of successful demand-side management programs. These features and more provide the tools necessary to improve energy management leading to higher energy efficiencies.
This is a comprehensive textbook for the new trend of distributed power generation systems and renewable energy sources in electric power systems. It covers the complete range of topics from fundamental concepts to major technologies as well as advanced topics for power consumers. An Instructor's Manual presenting detailed solutions to all the problems in the book is available from the Wiley editorial department -- to obtain the manual, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org
Timed to coincide with the deregulation of the power industry, this book gives power engineers and electric utility technicians vital proactive solutions to power quality problems. Covers all aspects of power quality including standards, economics, simulation, and customer services. Offers time-tested methods on how to anticipate and improve problems with power transmission and distribution efficiency--and how to anticipate and fulfill customer needs.
This book presents topical research in the study of energy management. Topics discussed include power management using electrolytic hydrogen; the design of a fuzzy decision-making system for energy management and comfort conditions using wireless sensor networks; using Jatropha biodiesel as a prospective renewable resource for energy management; the relationship between CO2 emissions and the energy sources mix in OECD countries; electricity consumption and economic growth in Brazil and atomic nanotechnology promotions in the energy industry.
Fundamentals of Renewable Energy Processes contains the technical detail necessary to understand the engineering principles that govern renewable energy application at many different levels. Focused on the fundamental mechanisms and processes that underpin energy management, it provides students with the foundation for all energy process courses. This text is organized according to the main forms of energy - heat engines, hydrogen energy, energy from the sun, and wind and water energy - with an introductory chapter of basic energy terms. From fuel cells, electrolyzers and processes for hydrogen production to biomass and windmills the author provides the most thorough examination of all aspects of renewable energy processes. * Examines the fundamentals of some non-traditional energy processes and illustrates the best way to implement these processes in our modern world. * Appropriate for all students and professionals studying the basic mechanisms of renewable energies. * Clear theory and physical examples of all principles relevant to the study of renewable energy. * Written by an internationally recognized pioneer researcher