It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) And Compliance Engineering (EET 422/3)
The Keep It Simple (KISS) philosophy is the primary focus of this book. It is written in very simple language with minimal math, as a compilation of helpful EMI troubleshooting hints. Its light-hearted tone is at odds with the extreme seriousness of most engineering reference works that become boring after a few pages. This text tells engineers what to do and how to do it. Only a basic knowledge of math, electronics, and a basic understanding of EMI/EMC are necessary to understand the concepts and circuits described. Once EMC troubleshooting is demystified, readers learn there are quick and simple techniques to solve complicated problems a key aspect of this book. Simple and inexpensive methods to resolve EMI issues are discussed to help generate unique ideas and methods for developing additional diagnostic tools and measurement procedures. An appendix on how to build probes is included. It can be a fun activity, even humorous at times with bizarre techniques (i.e., the sticky finger probe).
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
This is a guide for the system designers and installers faced with the day-to-day issues of achieving EMC, and will be found valuable across a wide range of roles and sectors, including process control, manufacturing, medical, IT and building management. The EMC issues covered will also make this book essential reading for product manufacturers and suppliers - and highly relevant for managers as well as technical staff. The authors' approach is thoroughly practical - all areas of installation EMC are covered, with particular emphasis on cabling and earthing. Students on MSc and CPD programmes will also find in this book some valuable real-world antidotes to the academic treatises. The book is presented in two parts: the first is non-technical, and looks at the need for EMC in the context of systems and installations, with a chapter on the management aspects of EMC. The second part covers the technical aspects of EMC, looking at the various established methods which can be applied to ensure compatibility, and setting these in the context of the new responsibilities facing system builders. EMC for Systems and Installations is designed to complement Tim Williams' highly successful EMC for Product Designers. Practical guide to EMC design issues for those involved in systems design and installation. Complementary title to Williams' bestselling EMC for Product Designers. Unique guidance for installers on EMC topics.
With the rapid growth of wireless technologies, more and more people are trying to gain a better understanding of electromagnetics. After all, electromagnetic fields have a direct impact on reception in all wireless applications. This text explores electromagnetics, presenting practical applications for wireless systems, transmission lines, waveguides, antennas, electromagnetic interference, and microwave engineering. It is designed for use in a one- or two-semester electromagnetics sequence for electrical engineering students at the junior and senior level. The first book on the subject to tackle the impact of electromagnetics on wireless applications: Includes numerous worked-out example problems that provide you with hands-on experience in solving electromagnetic problems. Describes a number of practical applications that show how electromagnetic theory is put into practice. Offers a concise summary at the end of each chapter that reinforces the key points. Detailed MATLAB examples are integrated throughout the book to enhance the material.
Electromagnetic Compatibility In Power Electronics by Laszlo Tihanyi
Publication Date: 1995
Electronics professionals will find this book invaluable when designing power equipment, because it describes in detail how to cope with the problem of electromagnetic interference. The author shows how to meet the exacting US and European EMC standards for conducted emissions. The book includes a wide range of EMI analysis techniques. An important focus is on the energy content of interference transient signals (traditional analysis concentrates on amplitude and frequency). This provides a more accurate picture of the EMI situation. For those who do not want or need detailed analysis techniques, many approximation methods are also provided. These simplified techniques give accurate results for all but the most stringent applications. The book contains several worked examples and an extensive bibliography, and is sure to be useful to electronic design engineers and others who need to meet international EMC regulations and standards. Laszlo Tihanyi has worked on EMC for over 20 years. Formerly Head of the Department of Power Electronics at the Hungarian Research Institute for the Electrical Industry, he focused primarily on solving EMI problems in electronic systems and developing a dimensioning method for power line filters.
A Landmark text thoroughly updated, including a new CD As digital devices continue to be produced at increasingly lower costs and with higher speeds, the need for effective electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) design practices has become more critical than ever to avoid unnecessary costs in bringing products into compliance with governmental regulations. The Second Edition of this landmark text has been thoroughly updated and revised to reflect these major developments that affect both academia and the electronics industry. Readers familiar with the First Edition will find much new material, including: * Latest U.S. and international regulatory requirements * PSpice used throughout the textbook to simulate EMC analysis solutions * Methods of designing for Signal Integrity * Fortran programs for the simulation of Crosstalk supplied on a CD * OrCAD(r) PSpice(r) Release 10.0 and Version 8 Demo Edition software supplied on a CD * The final chapter on System Design for EMC completely rewritten * The chapter on Crosstalk rewritten to simplify the mathematics Detailed, worked-out examples are now included throughout the text. In addition, review exercises are now included following the discussion of each important topic to help readers assess their grasp of the material. Several appendices are new to this edition including Phasor Analysis of Electric Circuits, The Electromagnetic Field Equations and Waves, Computer Codes for Calculating the Per-Unit-Length Parameters and Crosstalk of Multiconductor Transmission Lines, and a SPICE (PSPICE) tutorial. Now thoroughly updated, the Second Edition of Introduction to Electromagnetic Compatibility remains the textbook of choice for university/college EMC courses as well as a reference for EMC design engineers. An Instructor's Manual presenting detailed solutions to all the problems in the book is available from the Wiley editorial department.
This totally revised and expanded reference/text provides comprehensive, single-source coverage of the design, problem solving, and specifications of electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) into electrical equipment/systems-including new information on basic theories, applications, evaluations, prediction techniques, and practical diagnostic options for preventing EMI through cost-effective solutions. Offers the most recent guidelines, safety limits, and standards for human exposure to electromagnetic fields! Containing updated data on EMI diagnostic verification measurements, as well as over 900 drawings, photographs, tables, and equations-500 more than the previous edition-Electromagnetic Compatibility: Principles and Applications, Second Edition: