Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Design of Rotating Electrical Machines by
Call Number: TK2331 P998 2008
Publication Date: 2008
In one complete volume, this essential reference presents an in-depth overview of the theoretical principles and techniques of electrical machine design. This book enables you to design rotating electrical machines with its detailed step-by-step approach to machine design and thorough treatment of all existing and emerging technologies in this field. Senior electrical engineering students and postgraduates, as well as machine designers, will find this book invaluable. In depth, it presents the following: Machine type definitions; different synchronous, asynchronous, DC, and doubly salient reluctance machines. An analysis of types of construction; external pole, internal pole, and radial flux machines. The properties of rotating electrical machines, including the insulation and heat removal options. Responding to the need for an up-to-date reference on electrical machine design, this book includes exercises with methods for tackling, and solutions to, real design problems. A supplementary website hosts two machine design examples created with MATHCAD: rotor surface magnet permanent magnet machine and squirrel cage induction machine calculations. Classroom tested material and numerous graphs are features that further make this book an excellent manual and reference to the topic.
Transformer Engineering: Design and Practice by
Call Number: TK2551 K96 2004
Publication Date: 2004
This reference illustrates the interaction and operation of transformer and system components and spans more than two decades of technological advancement to provide an updated perspective on the increasing demands and requirements of the modern transformer industry. Guiding engineers through everyday design challenges and difficulties such as stray loss estimation and control, prediction of winding hot spots, and calculation of various stress levels and performance figures, the book propagates the use of advanced computational tools for the optimization and quality enhancement of power system transformers and encompasses every key aspect of transformer function, design, and engineering.
Electrical Steels : For Rotating Machines by
Call Number: TK454.4 S7B397 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This book provides the electrical design engineer with an insight into the properties and applications of electrical steels which are used in transformers and rotating machines. An acknowledged international expert in this field, Professor Beckley describes the principles controlling the action of electrical steels, including rotational loss and the influence of compressional stresses in transformers and rotating machines. The coverage of this book includes: manufacturing methods and applications, machine structuring and operation, cost versus quality issues, and physical properties including the magnetic response of composites, amorphous and microcrystalline materials.
Design of transformers by
Call Number: TK2551 D229 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Currently, the installed capacity of power generation in India is 104,917 MW and by 2012 another 100,000 MW will be added. With this addition, the requirement of power and distribution transformers will grow enormously, as will the emphasis on quality and performance. The design of a transformer is critical to its quality as are men, machines and materials.This book is a hands-on guide covering design, process control of manufacturing technique, installation, erection, commissioning and maintenance of distribution transformers. It also covers failure analysis and remedial measures for increasing the longevity of transformers.Apart from explaining the design aspect of transformers, the book lists the requirements of ISO 9000 in the process of manufacturing technique up to the final stages of product testing, inspection and despatch.
Electric Machines by
Call Number: TK2182 C363 2001
Publication Date: 2001
* A unique text that integrates the popular interactive computer software MATLAB to handle the tedious calculations arising in electric machine analysis* Readers are able to quickly calculate and plot wide range performance data through the use of developed computer software for each energy conversion* Includes a reference list at the end of each chapter* An expanded Web site will include a downloadable version of the solution manual and the MATLAB M-files
OTHER RECOMMENDED TITLES
Electrical machines : theory and practice by
Call Number: TK2182 B214 2007
Publication Date: 2007
This comprehensive, up-to-date introduction to Electrical Machines is designed to meet the needs of undergraduate electrical engineering students. It presents the essential principles of rotating machines and transformers. The emphasis is on the performance, though the book also introduces the salient features of electrical machine design. The book provides accessible, student-friendly coverage of dc machines, transformers, three-phase induction motor, single-phase induction motor, fractional horsepower motors, and synchronous machines. The clear writing style of the book enhanced by illustrative figures and simplified explanations of the fundamentals, makes it an ideal text for gaining a thorough understanding of the subject of electrical machines.
Electric machines by
Call Number: TK2000 S246 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Electric Machines is designed to serve as a textbook for a course on electrical machines for undergraduate students of engineering. It provides an insight into the fundamentals of the theory and performance of electric machines. The book includes comprehensive discussions on phasor diagrams and their applications in the study of electric machines. Beginning with topics such as three-phase circuits, transformers, and machine windings, the book goes on to cover induction machines, synchronous machines, and direct current machines as well as their transient and dynamic characteristics. Discussions on magnetic aspects of electric machines, principles of electromechanical energy conversion, and power semiconductor-controlled devices make the book a complete text for undergraduate students. Written in an easy-to-understand manner, the book presents the relevant topics in a systematic and lucid manner. Solved examples have been interspersed throughout the text to illustrate problem-solving methodologies. A large number of unsolved problems have been included to test the students??? understanding of the concepts discussed.
Electric Machines by
Call Number: TK2000 G878 2007
Publication Date: 2007
The two major broad applications of electrical energy are information processing and energy processing. Hence, it is no wonder that electric machines have occupied a large and revered space in the field of electrical engineering. Such an important topic requires a careful approach, and Charles A. Gross' Electric Machines offers the most balanced, application-oriented, and modern perspective on electromagnetic machines available. Written in a style that is both accessible and authoritative, this book explores all aspects of electromagnetic-mechanical (EM) machines. Rather than viewing the EM machine in isolation, the author treats the machine as part of an integrated system of source, controller, motor, and load. The discussion progresses systematically through basic machine physics and principles of operation to real-world applications and relevant control issues for each type of machine presented. Coverage ranges from DC, induction, and synchronous machines to specialized machines such as transformers, translational machines, and microelectromechanical systems (MEMS). Stimulating example applications include electric vehicles, wind energy, and vertical transportation. Numerous example problems illustrate and reinforce the concepts discussed. Along with appendices filled with unit conversions and background material, Electric Machines is a succinct, in-depth, and complete guide to understanding electric machines for novel applications.