It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The integration of electronic engineering, electrical engineering, computer technology and control engineering - mechatronics - forms a crucial part in the design, manufacture and maintenance of a wide range of engineering products and processes. This book provides a clear and comprehensive introduction to the application of electronic control systems in mechanical and electrical engineering. It gives a framework of knowledge that allows engineers and technicians to develop an interdisciplinary understanding and integrated approach to engineering.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Mechatronic Systems introduces these developments by considering the dynamic modelling of components together with their interactions. The whole range of elements is presented from actuators, through different kinds of processes, to sensors.Structured tutorial style takes learning from the basics of unified theoretical modelling, through information processing to examples of system development. End-of-chapter exercises provide ready-made homework or self-tests. Offers practical advice for engineering derived from experience with real systems and application-oriented research.
Mechatronics is the integration of electronic engineering, mechanical engineering, control and computer engineering. From auto-focus cameras to car engine management systems, and from state-of-the-art robots to the humble washing machine, Mechatronics has a hand in them all. This book presents a clear and comprehensive introduction to the area. It is practical and applied so it helps you to comprehend and design mechatronic systems. By also explaining the philosophy of Mechatronics it provides you with a frame of understanding to develop a truly interdisciplinary and integrated approach to engineering. Mechatronics is essential reading for students requiring an introduction to this exciting area at undergraduate and higher diploma level. New Content includes: An expanded first chapter gives a comprehensive introduction to the subject. Includes more in-depth discussion of op-amps, mechanisms, and motor selection to improve clarity and extend applications. A new Appendix on Electrical Circuit Analysis is included to make the basic methods used for both d.c. and a.c. circuit analysis easily accessible to readers.
A comprehensive, cross-disciplinary introduction to the design of computer controlled mechanical systems With Sabri Cetinkunt's Mechatronics, you can develop the technical background you need to design an automated machine, component, or process, as well as the practical judgment and knowledge of the current state-of-the-art technology you need to find the most effective solution. Drawing on knowledge and techniques from mechanical, aerospace, chemical, electrical and computer engineering, the text explores the theory behind a wide range of basic devices used in automated machines and processes--from gears and pumps, to servomotors and microchips. Various motion-control lab experiments bring together all aspects of the mechatronics field, and provide practical experience in designing circuits and writing software. Key Features Reviews the basic concepts of kinematics and common motion conversion mechanisms. Provides practical coverage of electronics, focusing on information non-electronics engineers need to know to analyze and design systems containing electronic components. Offers comprehensive coverage of electro-hydraulic systems with real-world examples from the construction equipment industry. Includes extensive and accurate coverage of all types of sensors, enabling you to work on any project that involves measurement and testing. Discusses electric motors in detail, including DC motors, steppers, AC motors, and SR motors--key knowledge for designers of factory automation and robotic projects. Covers microcontroller hardware and software issues, using PIC-18F452 microcontroller as an example. Includes the often neglected topic of programmable logic controllers (PLCs) which forms the foundation of factory automation. The first textbook to cover the coordination motion control concepts as they are used in industry using state-of-the-art motion controllers and servo motors (i.e, applications in printing machines, coil winding machines, machine tools, and robotics). Various motion-control-related lab experiments involve the construction of electronic interface circuits and the programming of real-time controls software. Discusses modeling of mechatronic systems and components, control system design, analysis and simulation in MATLAB. References real devices or components in examples and applications. Provides a comprehensive list of supplies of components needed in mechatronic systems.
This is the introduction to PLCs for which baffled students, technicians and managers have been waiting. In this straightforward, easy-to-read guide, Bill Bolton has kept the jargon to a minimum, considered all the programming methods in the standard IEC 1131-3 - in particular ladder programming, and presented the subject in a way that is not device specific to ensure maximum applicability to courses in electronics and control systems. Now in its fourth edition, this best-selling text has been expanded with increased coverage of industrial systems and PLCs and more consideration has been given to IEC 1131-3 and all the programming methods in the standard. The new edition brings the book fully up to date with the current developments in PLCs, describing new and important applications such as PLC use in communications (e.g. Ethernet - an extremely popular system), and safety - in particular proprietary emergency stop relays (now appearing in practically every PLC based system). The coverage of commonly used PLCs has been increased, including the ever popular Allen Bradley PLCs, making this book an essential source of information both for professionals wishing to update their knowledge, as well as students who require a straight forward introduction to this area of control engineering. Having read this book, readers will be able to: Identify the main design characteristics and internal architecture of PLCs Describe and identify the characteristics of commonly used input and output devices Explain the processing of inputs and outputs of PLCs Describe communication links involved with control systems Develop ladder programs for the logic functions AND, OR, NOT, NAND, NOT and XOR Develop functional block, instruction list, structured text and sequential function chart programs Develop programs using internal relays, timers, counters, shift registers, sequencers and data handling Identify safety issues with PLC systems Identify methods used for fault diagnosis, testing and debugging programs Fully matched to the requirements of BTEC Higher Nationals, students are able to check their learning and understanding as they work through the text using the Problems section at the end of each chapter. Complete answers are provided in the back of the book. Thoroughly practical introduction to PLC use and application - not device specific, ensuring relevance to a wide range of courses New edition expanded with increased coverage of IEC 1131-3, industrial control scenarios and communications - an important aspect of PLC use Problems included at the end of each chapter, with a complete set of answers given at the back of the book
The study of mechatronics requires a good foundation of such core subjects as electrical components and analysis, mechanical components and analysis, sensors and instrumentation, drives and actuators, control (including intelligent control), digital processing and hardware, communication and interfacing, software engineering, modeling and design. Mechatronics: An Integrated Approach introduces practical applications and tools and presents the material in an integrated and unified manner so that users with a variety of engineering backgrounds will benefit. Along with numerous worked examples and case studies, it provides problems and exercises based on practical situations and applications.
Mechatronics has evolved into a way of life in engineering practice, and it pervades virtually every aspect of the modern world. In chapters drawn from the bestselling and now standard engineering reference, The Mechatronics Handbook, this book introduces the vibrant field of mechatronics and its key elements: physical system modeling; sensors and actuators; signals and systems; computers and logic systems; and software and data acquisition. These chapters, written by leading academics and practitioners, were carefully selected and organized to provide an accessible, general outline of the subject ideal for non-specialists. Clear explanations and nearly 200 illustrations help bring the subject to life.
Mechatronics is a core subject for engineers, combining elements of mechanical and electronic engineering into the development of computer-controlled mechanical devices such as DVD players or anti-lock braking systems. This book is the most comprehensive text available for both mechanical and electrical engineering students and will enable them to engage fully with all stages of mechatronic system design. It offers broader and more integrated coverage than other books in the field with practical examples, case studies and exercises throughout and an Instructor's Manual. A further key feature of the book is its integrated coverage of programming the PIC microcontroller, and the use of MATLAB and Simulink programming and modelling, along with code files for downloading from the accompanying website.
This text gives a clear and comprehensive introduction to the area of Mechatronics. It is practical and applied, giving a solid understanding of the key skills and interdisciplinary approach required to successfully design Mechatronic systems. Plenty of case-studies, and use of models for mechatronic systems, help give a real-world context, whilst self-test questions and exercises help test understanding.