Engineering Product Design II (EPT 393/3)

Building on the outstanding success of the previous editions, this new edition reinforces its original three-part structure: Part I provides an introduction to design, Part II presents design methods as the core feature of the book and finally, Part III puts the methods into a wider context of managing the overall design within the business process of planning and developing new products. Substantially revised and updated, this text also contains two completely new chapters: * Design Ability, which takes advantage of the new knowledge about design cognition and designers' activities, and * Product Development, which also covers the most recent thinking, including the broader business context of design activity. This third edition will remain at the forefront of engineering and industrial design as as essential text for students and lecturers, as well as practitioners.

Design and manufacture of new products has always been a team effort; but lately the team has been expanding. No longer can companies afford to keep the product design team working in isolation from the production and manufacturing team, not to mention the financial and accounting team For today's product development team has to comprise an integrated group of professionals working from the very beginning of new product planning on through design creation and design review and then on to manufacturing planning and cost accounting. Even when a product is conceived and goes into preliminary design, thought must be given to how easily or not it will be manufactured, how difficult or not it will be to assemble and disassemble for the end-use-customer and how much it will cost in materials, production and maintenance. This new book will guide both engineering professionals as well as graduate level students in mechanical and industrial engineering and general manufacturing management in how to develop such a holistic, integrated team approach to product development. Written by leading academic authorities'who also have extensive industrial experience'this instructional reference work can be used in the traditional classroom, in professional continuing education courses or for self-study. First text/reference to cover product development from initial product concept and engineering design to design specs, manufacturability and product marketing Reviews the precepts of Product design in a step-by-step structured process Helps the reader to understand the connection between initial design and interim and final design, including design review and materials selection Offers insight into roles played by product functionality, ease-of'assembly, maintenance and durability, and their interaction with cost estimation and manufacturability

For more than twenty years, customers have relied on Engineering Drawing and Design for its easy-to-read, A-to-Z coverage of drafting and design instruction that complies with industry standards. The fourth edition continues its tradition of excellence with a multitude of actual quality industry drawings demonstrating content coverage, and the addition of new problems to the hundreds already on-hand for real world, practical application. The engineering design process featured in this revision contains all-new material following an actual product design from concept through manufacturing, and a multitude of new design problems for challenging applications or for use as team projects. Other enhancements include updated coverage of Civil Drafting, 3D CADD, solid modeling, parametric applications, and more.

Applied Control System Design examines several methods for building up systems models based on real experimental data from typical industrial processes and incorporating system identification techniques. The text takes a comparative approach to the models derived in this way judging their suitability for use in different systems and under different operational circumstances. A broad spectrum of control methods including various forms of filtering, feedback and feedforward control is applied to the models and the guidelines derived from the closed-loop responses are then composed into a concrete self-tested recipe to serve as a check-list for industrial engineers or control designers. System identification and control design are given equal weight in model derivation and testing to reflect their equality of importance in the proper design and optimization of high-performance control systems. Readers’ assimilation of the material discussed is assisted by the provision of problems and examples. Most of these exercises use MATLAB® to make computation and visualization more straightforward. Applied Control System Design will be of interest to academic researchers for its comparison of different systems models and their response to different control methods and will assist graduate students in learning the practical necessities of advanced control system design. The consistent reference to real systems coupled with self-learning tools will assist control practitioners who wish to keep up to date with the latest control design ideas.

PART I: Basics1. Introduction to Design of Composite Materials2. Introduction to Composite Materials3. Macromechanical Behavior of Unidirectional Composites4. Composite Lamination Theory5. Failure Criteria for Composite Materials6. Behavior of Composite Laminated Plates and Beams7. Micromechanics for Composite Materials8. Transport Phenomena in Composite Materials9. Machining and Joining of Composite Materials10. Dynamic and Fatigue Performances of Composite MaterialsPART II: Applications11. Fundamentals of Axiomatic Design12. Axiomatic Design of Materials-Processing Techniques13. Axiomatic Design of Composite Robot Structures14. Axiomatic Design of Composite Machine Tool Structures15. Axiomatic Design of Composite Automotive Parts and InfrastructuresGlossaryIndex

Petroleum Production Engineering, A Computer-Assisted Approach provides handy guidelines to designing, analyzing and optimizing petroleum production systems. Broken into four parts, this book covers the full scope of petroleum production engineering, featuring stepwise calculations and computer-based spreadsheet programs. Part one contains discussions of petroleum production engineering fundamentals, empirical models for production decline analysis, and the performance of oil and natural gas wells. Part two presents principles of designing and selecting the main components of petroleum production systems including: well tubing, separation and dehydration systems, liquid pumps, gas compressors, and pipelines for oil and gas transportation. Part three introduces artificial lift methods, including sucker rod pumping systems, gas lift technology, electrical submersible pumps and other artificial lift systems. Part four is comprised of production enhancement techniques including, identifying well problems, designing acidizing jobs, guidelines to hydraulic fracturing and job evaluation techniques, and production optimization techniques. *Provides complete coverage of the latest techniques used for designing and analyzing petroleum production systems *Increases efficiency and addresses common problems by utilizing the computer-based solutions discussed within *Accompanying CD-ROM allows you to run computer spreadsheet programs with both U.S and SI units that can be used out in the field