It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Maintaining the tradition of previous editions, this ninth edition includes up-to-date coverage of the latest in electronic communications and concepts. The material presented reflects advancements and developments in all aspects of electronic communications such as mobile communications, satellite communications, digital signal processing and SS7 signaling. Electronic Workbench Multisim simulations appear at the end of each chapter and on an accompanying CD. In addition, in-text learning aids are designed to develop analytical and troubleshooting skills and the updated lab manual includes new experiments using Mini-Circuits modules. Expanded discussion of digital communications including new changes and improvements in: Mobile Communications; SS7 Signaling; Bluetooth; Wi-Max; DTV (digital television). Completely new sections on: Wireless Security; DSP (digital signal processing); RFID; HD Radio. A thorough and up-to-date reference for Electronic Technicians.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
This book develops a solid understanding of the general principles that govern all communications systems. Topics include traditional analog communication techniques such as AM and FM, modern digital systems, radar, wireless, networking, consumer communications systems, and many other areas. Practical applications are stressed with an emphasis on signal processing at a systems level, in order to provide a better background for readers as technology advances and new integrated circuits become available.
This one-book reference resource covers a broad range of communication technologies at levels from a block diagram to the circuit and system analysis/design for physical implementation and troubleshooting of hardware.Comprehensive yet easily understandable, this book covers such topics as radio frequency amplifiers, oscillators, signal spectra, noise, modulation, transmitter and receiver circuits, sideband systems, phase-locked loops, pulse and digital modulation, digital communication, data communication, transmission lines and waveguides, antennas and radiowave propagation, television, digital radio and space communication, and fiber-optic communication.A valuable reference work for engineers, technicians, hobbyists, technical managers, and technical/sales marketing staff.
Now in its fifth edition, this text continues to provide a modern comprehensive coverage of electronic communications systems. It begins by introducing basic systems- and concepts and moves on to today's technologies: digital, optical fiber, microwave, satellite, and data and cellular telephone communications systems. Significant material has been added, including: Three chapters on telephone circuits and systems Two chapters on cellular and PGS telephone systems Three chapters on fundamental concepts of data communications and networking New and updated figures This text is designed for undergraduate communications courses in which students have prior knowledge of some basic electronic principles as well as an understanding of mathematics through the fundamental concepts of calculus.
Part of Delmar Learning's new National Center for Telecommunications Technologies Series, this book introduces wireline, wireless, and fiber optic concepts, focusing on physical layer implementation of system hardware. Industry regulations and background on filters, and test equipment is provided. Readers then launch into study of multiplexing and modulation schemes, with opportunities to compare digital and traditional techniques. Presentation is guided by the needs of technicians tasked with evaluating system operation and reconfiguring programmable hardware. DC/AC theory and digital electronics knowledge is assumed.
"Thoroughly up-to-date and comprehensive. Telecommunication System Engineering, Fourth Edition is an ideal reference or self-study source for telecommunications managers technicians, engineers, and other practicing professionals as well as for advanced students in telecommunications."
Now in its second edition, Electronic Communications Systems provides electronics technologists with an extraordinarily complete, accurate, and timely introduction to all of the state-of-the-art technologies used in the communications field today. Comprehensive coverage includes traditional analog systems, as well as modern digital techniques. Extensive discussion of today's modern wireless systems- including cellular, radio, paging systems, and wireless data networks- is also included. In addition, sections on data communication and the internet, high-definition television, and fiber optics have been updated in this edition to enable readers to keep pace with the latest technological advancements. A block-diagram approach is emphasized throughout the book, with circuits included when helpful to lead readers to an understanding of fundamental principles. Instructive, step-by-step examples using MultiSIM, in addition to those that use actual equipment and current manufacturer's specifications, are also included. Knowledge of basic algebra and trigonometry is assumed, yet no calculus is required.
Thorough coverage of basic digital communication system principles ensures that readers are exposed to all basic relevant topics in digital communication system design. The use of CD player and JPEG image coding standard as examples of systems that employ modern communication principles allows readers to relate the theory to practical systems. Over 180 worked-out examples throughout the book aids readers in understanding basic concepts. Over 480 problems involving applications to practical systems such as satellite communications systems, ionospheric channels, and mobile radio channels gives readers ample opportunity to practice the concepts they have just learned. With an emphasis on digital communications, Communication Systems Engineering, Second Edition introduces the basic principles underlying the analysis and design of communication systems. In addition, this book gives a solid introduction to analog communications and a review of important mathematical foundation topics. New material has been added on wireless communication systems—GSM and CDMA/IS-94; turbo codes and iterative decoding; multicarrier (OFDM) systems; multiple antenna systems. Includes thorough coverage of basic digital communication system principles—including source coding, channel coding, baseband and carrier modulation, channel distortion, channel equalization, synchronization, and wireless communications. Includes basic coverage of analog modulation such as amplitude modulation, phase modulation, and frequency modulation as well as demodulation methods. For use as a reference for electrical engineers for all basic relevant topics in digital communication system design.