Public Health and Occupational Hygiene (EAT343/3): Reserves

Published in partnership with the American Public Health Association, this cornerstone text in the Jones & Bartlett Learning Essential Public Health series is an excellent introduction to the field of public health. Ideal for senior-level undergraduates or graduate students in public health, health science, health professions, or nursing, Essentials of Public Health focuses on the inner-workings of health departments and the role of public health professionals.This comprehensive text combines the best elements of Dr. Turnock's other two books: Public Health: What It Is and How It Works and Public Health: Career Choices That Make a Difference.The first set of chapters introduces defines and describes the public health system, provide concepts and tools for measuring health in populations, characterizes the relationship of the public health system with medical care and other elements of the overall health system, and identifies government#146;s unique contributions through federal, state, and local public health agencies.The second set of chatpers focuses on public health careers within the context of the overall public health workforce. Basic information on the size and composition of the public health workforce is followed by chapters that address careers and jobs in public health administration, epidemiology, public health nursing, health education, and other professional and program titles and positions.With its clear, reader-friendly language and helpful learning tools such as chapter exercises and discussion questions, this is the ideal text to prepare your students for a career in public health.Updated and New Information in the Second Edition:- NACCHO Profile data from 2008 and 2010 surveys- Accreditation of public health agencies- Public health workforce development activities including thecredentialing of public health workers- Health reform provisions enacted in 2010- Updated and revised seciton on public health financing

Using a straightforward systems approach, Public Health: What It Is and How It Works explores the inner workings of the complex, modern U.S. public health system--what it is, what it does, how it works, and why it is important. It covers the origins and development of the modern public health system; the relationship of public health to the overall health system; how the system is organized at the federal, state, and local levels; its core functions and how well these are currently being addressed; evidence-based practice and an approach to program planning and evaluation for public health interventions; public health activities such as epidemiological investigation, biomedical research, environmental assessment, policy development, and more.Transition to the New Edition! Click here to access our transition guide--and make changing your course materials from the third edition to the fourth edition as easy as possible! The Fourth Edition is a thorough revision that includes:The latest developments with public health agency accreditation, public health worker credentialing, workforce development, as well as future challenges in the field. Coverage of the new core competencies for the MPH degree recently established by the Association of Schools of Pubic Health. A new series of charts describing current health status and trends related to the content of each chapter. New Learning Objectives in each chapter. New Public Health Spotlights in chapters 1-8 which provide a focused examination of topics related to the learning objectives for that chapter. A complete package of instructor support material for both online and traditional classroom environments including course modules, sample syllabus, course resources, competency map, and detailed chapter-by-chapter PowerPoint slides.

This comprehensive text is an excellent introduction to the field of public health. The book is divided into two parts. Part I defines and describes the public health system, provide concepts and tools for measuring health in populations, characterizes the relationship of the public health system with medical care and other elements of the overall health system, and identifies government's unique contributions through federal, state, and local public health agencies.Part II focuses on public health careers within the context of the overall public health workforce. Basic information on the size and composition of the public health workforce is followed by chapters that address careers and jobs in public health administration, epidemiology, public health nursing, health education, and other professional and program titles and positions.With its clear, reader-friendly language and helpful learning tools such as chapter exercises and discussion questions, this is the ideal text to prepare your students for a career in public health.

Completely revised and updated, taking the scientific rigor to a whole new level, the second edition of the Occupational Ergonomics Handbook is now available in two volumes. This new organization demonstrates the enormous amount of advances that have occurred in the field since the publication of the first edition. The editors have brought together researchers from a wide range of disciplines with pioneering practitioners in industry to cover a diverse list of ergonomics topics. The second edition not only provides more information but makes it more accessible. Fundamental and Assessment Tools for Occupational Ergonomics introduces basic principles of ergonomics in system design and evaluation, as well as comprehensive approach to work related musculoskeletal disorders. This volume is a comprehensive source of theoretical ergonomics knowledge relevant to product and process quality, management of health and safety, and productivity in a variety of industries and businesses. Interventions, Controls, and Applications in Occupational Ergonomics begins with descriptions of the elements of the ergonomics processes, including success factors for implementation of industrial ergonomics programs. It includes coverage of injury surveillance database systems and corporate health management for the design and evaluation of health in industrial organizations, ergonomics processes from the small and large industry perspectives, and human digital modeling, as well as facilities planning and organizational design and macro-ergonomics. Additional chapters present methods and techniques for engineering control, including tried and true strategies and pitfalls to avoid, and discuss the theory and practice of ergonomics interventions in the workplace. Narrowing the focus while broadening the coverage, each individual volume supplies immediate access to important information. One of the most comprehensive sources for ergonomic knowledge available, providing both sound theory and practical examples, this book is a valuable resource for anyone in the field.

The global climate is changing. During the last 100 years warming has been observed in all continents with an average increase of 0.6 0.2 C (man SD) in the course of the 20th century. The greatest temperature changes occurred at middle and high latitudes in the northern hemispheres. The trend towards warmer average surface temperatures for the period since 1976 is roughly three times that of the past 100 years as a whole. In the last decades warming seems to be attributable to human activities (man-made environmental changes) like land-use changes, deforestation, urbanisation and the reduction of wetlands. Global climate change is likely to be accompanied by an increase in frequency and intensity of extreme weather events. Climate variability occurs at both the level of gradual change as well as the level of extreme events. Extreme weather events are those events which society is unable to cope with. They are by definition rare stochastic events. Europe has experienced on unprecedented rate of extreme weather events in the last 30 years. Heat waves occurred in France, Italy, Portugal, Russian Federation, Hungary and Bulgaria between 2000 and 2003. The annual number of warm extremes increased twice as fast as expected based on the corresponding decrease in the rate of cold extremes. On the other hand cold waves brought serious health problems to Northern Europe, Russian Federation and even Bosnia Herzegovina. In 2002 Romania suffered deleterious windstorms and Public Health responses were necessary. Last but not least, in recent years severe flooding occurred in many European countries like U.K., Poland, Czech Republic, Austria, Italy and Germany causing enormous damages, e.g. in August 2002. On the basis of current predictions on climate, more extreme weather events have to be faced in the coming years and they are likely to be more severe. Thus appropriate actions have to be undertaken in order to protect the population and the countries affected. In this book, articles under the following headings are published: "Climate variability and extremes in Europe," "Temperature extremes and health impact," "Response to temperature extremes," "Flooding: the impact on human health," "National case-studying of health care system responses to extreme weather events" and "Recommendations for Public Health responses to extreme weather events." They shed light on the mode of development and the damages caused by extreme weather events and finally give some hints of what has to be done to cope with them.

Countries around the world are engaged in health reform, which places great demands on health care providers and systems managers. From the managed care revolution in the United States to the rebuilding of health systems in postcommunist Russia, these reforms impact millions of health care workers, government officials, patients, and the public alike. The New Public Health will help students and practitioners understand factors affecting the reform process of health care organization and delivery. It links the classic public health issues such as environmental sanitation, health education, and epidemiology with the new issues of universal health care, economics, and management of health systems for the new century. Key Features: * Provides a comprehensive overview of public health from a global perspective * Assesses health systems models of the United States, Russia, the United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Scandinavian countries, and developing countries including China, Nigeria, and Colombia * Analyzes critical issues of health economics, including forces associated with escalating costs and the strategies to control those costs * Discusses strategies for dealing with the many ramifications of managed care * Links medicine with the social sciences, technology, and health management issues as they evolve

Introduction to Public Health, Fourth Edition offers a thorough, accessible overview of the expanding field of public health for students new to its concepts and actors. Written in engaging, nontechnical language, this best-selling text explains in clear terms the multi-disciplinary strategies and methods used for measuring, assessing, and promoting public health.Packed with illustrative real-world examples, this updated edition provides students with informative discussions of the current technical issues and practical obstacles facing public health practitioners and policymakers alike. Through coverage of new approaches to research and data collection, current best practices in the field, and the social and ethical challenges of devising public policy, Introduction to Public Health, Fourth Edition provides readers with a broad-reaching, practical framework for understanding the multifaceted forces and organizations of today's public health enterprise.

Using a straightforward systems approach, Public Health: What It Is and How It Works explores the inner workings of the complex, modern U.S. public health system--what it is, what it does, how it works, and why it is important. The book covers the origins and development of the modern pubic health system; the relationship of public health to the overall health system; how the system is organized at the federal, state, and local levels; its core functions and how well these are currently being addressed; evidence-based practice and an approach to program planning and evaluation for public health interventions; public health activities such as epidemiological investigation, biomedical research, environmental assessment, policy development, and more.Updated and New Information in the Fifth Edition:* NACCHO Profile data from 2008 and 2010 surveys* Accreditation of public health agencies* Public health workforce development activities including the credentialing of public health workers* Health reform provisions enacted in 2010* Updated and revised section on public health financing

Employees, employers and the government have all become very aware of the effects on health of the work environment. As a result, this subject area is rapidly developing with recent changes in legislation, sampling and measurement methods, as well as a new emphasis on the psychological impact of work, and the importance of an appropriate work-life balance. The purpose of this book is to provide a clear and concise account of the principles of occupational hygiene and, as such, it is suitable for students studying for degree courses in this subject and for the MFOM. It is also suitable for occupational physicians and nurses, to safety representatives and to trade unionists. This edition sees the introduction of nine new chapters covering recently emerged topics such as work/life balance, work organisation and pyschological issues.

The practice and principles of occupational hygiene and managing risk in the workplace are addressed in this essential handbook, now fully revised and updated. Fresh material includes expanded sections on risk analysis and management and new information on legislation and standards. Also new to this edition is an extensive related web site, useful for distance learning.