Engineering Fluid Mechanic (EBT 312/3): Electronic Books

The first text to integrate all major aspects of advanced fluid mechanics in a single volume

The Engineering Thermofluids is a unique textbook, which brings the three pillars of thermal sciences; thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, and heat transfer under one umbrella. These three distinct, yet intertwined subjects are treated in an integrated manner. The primary audiences for this book are senior undergraduate, graduate, and practicing engineers in the fields of aeronautical, chemical industrial, mechanical, and nuclear engineering. Topics are discussed in detail while still using a simple and easy to follow approach. Numerous walk-through examples are solved and illustrations are provided to guide the reader through more subtle topics. Each chapter starts with a section for the introduction of various terminologies used. The chapter on thermodynamics covers the first law, the second law, the power cycles, and the mixture of gases. The chapter on fluid mechanics covers both steady-state and transient single phase-flow as well as two-phase flow. The chapter on heat transfer covers conduction, convection, radiation, boiling, and condensation. These chapters are followed by the chapter on applications of the engineering thermofluid, which covers the design and operations of various heat exchangers, turbomachines, and flowmeters. Many practical design problems are either solved or provided as homework. Practicing engineers will find this book a useful text to have around for the many practical problems and solutions, illustrations, definitions, methods, tables, and figures provided. The preference throughout the text is on obtaining analytical solutions of a closed form. Numerical solutions as well as experimental results are presented when analytical solutions cannot be found.

Turbomachinery is a challenging and diverse field, with applications for professionals and students in many subsets of the mechanical engineering discipline, including fluid mechanics, combustion and heat transfer, dynamics and vibrations, as well as structural mechanics and materials engineering. Originally published more than 40 years ago, Fluid Mechanics and Thermodynamics of Turbomachinery is the leading turbomachinery textbook. Used as a core text in senior undergraduate and graduate level courses this book will also appeal to professional engineers in the aerospace, global power, oil & gas and other industries who are involved in the design and operation of turbomachines. For this new edition, author S. Larry Dixon is joined by Cesare Hall from the University of Cambridge, whose diverse background of teaching, research and work experience in the area of turbomachines is well suited to the task of reorganizing and updating this classic text.Contents:Introduction: Basic Principles; Dimensional Analysis: Similitude; Two-dimensional Cascades; Axial-flow Turbines: Mean-line Analysis and Design; Axial-flow Compressors and Ducted Fans; Three-dimensional Flows in Axial Turbomachines; Centrifugal Pumps, Fans and Compressors; Radial Flow Gas Turbines; Hydraulic Turbines; Wind Turbines; Appendices Provides the most comprehensive coverage of the fundamentals of turbomachinery of any text in the field Content has been reorganized to more closely match how instructors currently teach the course Coverage of fluid mechanics and thermodynamics, the basis on which good turbomachine performance depends, has been moved to the front of the book Includes new design studies of several turbomachines, applying the theories developed in the book Figures have been updated, along with new photos added, to better illustrate the topics presented Includes new examples and additional end-of-chapter exercises