Electromagnetic Theory (EET 303/3)

The Electrical Engineer's Handbook is an invaluable reference source for all practicing electrical engineers and students. Encompassing 79 chapters, this book is intended to enlighten and refresh knowledge of the practicing engineer or to help educate engineering students. This text will most likely be the engineer's first choice in looking for a solution; extensive, complete references to other sources are provided throughout. No other book has the breadth and depth of coverage available here. This is a must-have for all practitioners and students! The Electrical Engineer's Handbook provides the most up-to-date information in: Circuits and Networks, Electric Power Systems, Electronics, Computer-Aided Design and Optimization, VLSI Systems, Signal Processing, Digital Systems and Computer Engineering, Digital Communication and Communication Networks, Electromagnetics and Control and Systems. About the Editor-in-Chief. Wai-Kai Chen is Professor and Head Emeritus of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He has extensive experience in education and industry and is very active professionally in the fields of circuits and systems. He was Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Series I and II, President of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society and is the Founding Editor and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Circuits, Systems and Computers. He is the recipient of the Golden Jubilee Medal, the Education Award, and the Meritorious Service Award from the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society, and the Third Millennium Medal from the IEEE. Professor Chen is a fellow of the IEEE and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. * 77 chapters encompass the entire field of electrical engineering. * THOUSANDS of valuable figures, tables, formulas, and definitions. * Extensive bibliographic references.

Electromagnetics is too important in too many fields for knowledge to be gathered on the fly. A deep understanding gained through structured presentation of concepts and practical problem solving is the best way to approach this important subject. Fundamentals of Engineering Electromagnetics provides such an understanding, distilling the most important theoretical aspects and applying this knowledge to the formulation and solution of real engineering problems. Comprising chapters drawn from the critically acclaimed Handbook of Engineering Electromagnetics, this book supplies a focused treatment that is ideal for specialists in areas such as medicine, communications, and remote sensing who have a need to understand and apply electromagnetic principles, but who are unfamiliar with the field. Here is what the critics have to say about the original work "…accompanied with practical engineering applications and useful illustrations, as well as a good selection of references … those chapters that are devoted to areas that I am less familiar with, but currently have a need to address, have certainly been valuable to me. This book will therefore provide a useful resource for many engineers working in applied electromagnetics, particularly those in the early stages of their careers." -Alastair R. Ruddle, The IEE Online "…a tour of practical electromagnetics written by industry experts … provides an excellent tour of the practical side of electromagnetics … a useful reference for a wide range of electromagnetics problems … a very useful and well-written compendium…" -Alfy Riddle, IEEE Microwave Magazine Fundamentals of Engineering Electromagnetics lays the theoretical foundation for solving new and complex engineering problems involving electromagnetics.

Between a first undergraduate course in electromagnetism (EM) and the advanced graduate course lies a middle ground that is essential to engineering students yet virtually ignored by most curricula. It is the transition from the basic, more superficial treatments to the sharply focused graduate studies that solidifies students' understanding of EM fundamentals before they move on to a specialized area of research. And it is here that academia-and practitioners still uneasy about the fundamentals-have lacked the appropriate "intermediate" text. Electromagnetics provides that transition. Emphasizing concepts over problem-solving techniques, it focuses on the topics most important to EM research and those most troublesome to beginning graduate students. In Part I, the authors cover the required mathematics background and introduce the primary physical principles. From a well-posed postulate, Part II builds a complete description of the EM field in free space, and Part III completes the study by investigating the behavior of the EM field in a variety of materials. Stressing both a physical understanding and a detailed mathematical description of each topic, this text provides an account of EM theory that is in-depth, lucid, and accessible. Highly engaging prose, clear, concise explanations, and numerous examples relating concepts to modern engineering applications create a comfortable atmosphere that enhances the reader's grasp of the material. Electromagnetics thus builds a foundation that allows readers to proceed with confidence to advanced EM studies, research, and applications.