It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Emphasizing the practical application of control systems engineering, the new Fourth Edition shows how to analyze and design real-world feedback control systems. Readers learn how to create control systems that support today's advanced technology and apply the latest computer methods to the analysis and design of control systems. * A methodology with clearly defined steps is presented for each type of design problem. * Continuous design examples give a realistic view of each stage in the control systems design process. * A complete tutorial on using MATLAB Version 5 in designing control systems prepares readers to use this important software tool.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Written to be equally useful for all engineering disciplines, this book is organized around the concept of control systems theory as it has been developed in the frequency and time domains. It provides coverage of classical control employing root locus design, frequency and response design using Bode and Nyquist plots. It also covers modern control methods based on state variable models including pole placement design techniques with full-state feedback controllers and full-state observers.The book covers several important topics including robust control systems and system sensitivity, state variable models, controllability and observability, computer control systems, internal model control, robust PID controllers, and computer-aided design and analysis.For all types of engineers who are interested in a solid introduction to control systems.
Automatic Control Systems provides engineers with a fresh new controls book that places special emphasis on mechatronics. It follows a revolutionary approach by actually including a physical lab. In addition, readers will find authoritative coverage of modern design tools and examples. Current mechatronics applications build motivation to learn the material. Extensive use of virtual lab software is also integrated throughout the chapters. Engineers will gain a strong understand of control systems with the help of modern examples and exercises.
For senior or graduate-level students taking a first course in Control Theory (in departments of Mechanical, Electrical, Aerospace, and Chemical Engineering). A comprehensive, senior-level textbook for control engineering. Ogata's Modern Control Engineering, 5/e , offers the comprehensive coverage of continuous-time control systems that all senior students must have, including frequency response approach, root-locus approach, and state-space approach to analysis and design of control systems. The text provides a gradual development of control theory, shows how to solve all computational problems with MATLAB, and avoids highly mathematical arguments. A wealth of examples and worked problems are featured throughout the text. The new edition includes improved coverage of Root-Locus Analysis (Chapter 6) and Frequency-Response Analysis (Chapter 8). The author has also updated and revised many of the worked examples and end-of-chapter problems. This text is ideal for control systems engineers.
"Featuring a brand new chapter on nonlinear systems, this revision of the best-selling textbook on feedback control has been reorganized for even greater instructor flexibility and student readability. Design is emphasized throughout as well as analysis techniques to provide motivation for the study of control. The authors include many carefully worked-out examples to illustrate the material, as well as review questions to assist students in verifying that they have learned the material. The use of MATLAB is introduced early on in recognition of the universal use of software tools in control analysis and design. Strong student pedagogic elements in this edition include bulleted chapter summaries, marginal notes, and chapter openers that offer perspective and an overview of the material about to be presented."--BOOK JACKET.
This book represents an attempt to organize and unify the diverse methods of analysis of feedback control systems and presents the fundamentals explicity and clearly. The basic principles and fundamentals concepts of feedback control systems using the convential frequency domain and time domain approaches are presented in a clearly acessible from in the first portion .
Designed for a short course on control systems or as a review for the professional engineer, this book provides a lucid introduction to modern control systems topics. The five chapters, "State-Variable Analysis of Continuous-Time Systems," "Analysis of Discrete-Time Systems," "Stability Analysis of Non-Linear Systems," "Optimal Control," and "Adaptive Control" have been written to emphasize concepts and provide the basic mathematical derivations. Complete coverage of standard topics, e.g., eigenvalues, eigenvectors, the z-transform, Lyapunov's Method, controllability, observability, etc. are discussed. Numerous examples and exercises have also been included in the book for self-study. A CD-ROM with MATLAB applications and third- party simulations provides practical design techniques and observations of real control systems.
"Illustrates the analysis, behavior, and design of linear control systems using classical, modern, and advanced control techniques. Covers recent methods in system identification and optimal, digital, adaptive, robust, and fuzzy control, as well as stability, controllability, observability, pole placement, state observers, input-output decoupling, and model matching."