It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The new edition of POWER SYSTEM ANALYSIS AND DESIGN provides students with an introduction to the basic concepts of power systems along with tools to aid them in applying these skills to real world situations. Physical concepts are highlighted while also giving necessary attention to mathematical techniques. Both theory and modeling are developed from simple beginnings so that they can be readily extended to new and complex situations. The authors incorporate new tools and material to aid students with design issues and reflect recent trends in the field.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Intended for undergraduates studying power system analysis and design. This title gives an introduction to fundamental concepts and modern topics, with applications to real-world problems. It integrates MATLAB and SIMULINK, and also provides students with an author-developed Power Toolbox Disk organized to perform analyses.
The definitive textbook for Power Systems students, providing a grounding in essential power system theory while also focusing on practical power engineering applications. Electric Power Systems has been an essential book in power systems engineering for over thirty years. Bringing the content firmly up-to-date whilst still retaining the flavour of Weedy's extremely popular original, this Fifth Edition has been revised by experts Nick Jenkins, Janaka Ekanayake and Goran Strbac. This wide-ranging text still covers all of the fundamental power systems subjects but is now expanded to cover increasingly important topics like climate change and renewable power generation. Updated material includes an analysis of today's markets and an examination of the current economic state of power generation. The physical limits of power systems equipment - currently being tested by the huge demand for power - is explored, and greater attention is paid to power electronics, voltage source and power system components, amongst a host of other updates and revisions. Supplies an updated chapter on power system economics and management issues and extended coverage of power system components. Also expanded information on power electronics and voltage source, including VSC HVDC and FACTS. Updated to take into account the challenges posed by different world markets, and pays greater attention to up-to-date renewable power generation methods such as wind power. Includes modernized presentation and greater use of examples to appeal to today's students, also retains the end of chapter questions to assist with the learning process. Also shows students how to apply calculation techniques.
Covering the area of machines, this text is designed to be used in a course that combines machinery and power systems into one semester. It focuses on principles and teaches students how to use information as opposed to do a lot of calculations that would rarely be done by a practicing engineer.
The growing importance of renewable energy sources, control methods and mechanisms, and system restoration has created a need for a concise, comprehensive text that covers the concepts associated with electric power and energy systems. Electrical Energy Systems fills that need, providing an up-to-date introduction to this dynamic field. The author begins with a discussion of the modern electric power system, centering on the technical aspects of power generation, transmission, distribution, and utilization. After providing an overview of electric power and machine theory fundamentals, he offers a practical treatment-focused on applications-of the major topics required for a solid background in the field, including synchronous machines, transformers, and electric motors. He also furnishes a unique look at activities related to power systems, such as power flow and control, stability, state estimation, and security assessment. A discussion of present and future directions of the electrical energy field rounds out the text. With its broad, up-to-date coverage, emphasis on applications, and integrated MATLAB scripts, Electrical Energy Systems provides an ideal, practical introduction to the field-perfect for self-study or short-course work for professionals in related disciplines.
Based on William Stevenson's classic, Elements of Power System Analysis, this new senior/graduate text offers a completely modern update of this popular textbook. Covering such topics as power flow, power-system stability and transmission lines, the book teaches the fundamental topics of power system analysis accompanied by logical discussions and numerous examples.
In SI units, this book presents a systematic exposition of the basic principles involved in the operation, control and analysis of modern power systems. The various principles of power system analysis are illustrated through the simplest system structure and integrated with analysis techniques of practical size systems.Other Important features of the book :Load Flow and Optimal System Operation discussed in detail and recent developments in the area highlighted;Power SystemTransients, Circuits Breakers and Protection thoroughly explained; Computational algorithms for various system studies presented; Exposition illustrated exhaustively through solved examples employing a two-bus structure; Three and four-bus examples given wherever necessary;Severalunsolved problems with answers presented at the end of each chapter for practice and self-evaluation.
Maintaining the reliable and efficient generation, transmission and distribution of electrical power is of the utmost importance in a world where electricity is the inevitable means of energy acquisition, transportation, and utilization, and the principle mode of communicating media. Our modern society is entirely dependent on electricity, so problems involving the continuous delivery of power can lead to the disruption and breakdown of vital economic and social infrastructures. This book brings together comprehensive technical information on power system engineering, covering the fundamental theory of power systems and their components, and the related analytical approaches. Key features: Presents detailed theoretical explanations of simple power systems as an accessible basis for understanding the larger, more complex power systems. Examines widely the theory, practices and implementation of several power sub-systems such as generating plants, over-head transmission lines and power cable lines, sub-stations, including over-voltage protection, insulation coordination as well as power systems control and protection. Discusses steady-state and transient phenomena from basic power-frequency range to lightning- and switching-surge ranges, including system faults, wave-form distortion and lower-order harmonic resonance. Explains the dynamics of generators and power systems through essential mathematical equations, with many numerical examples. Analyses the historical progression of power system engineering, in particular the descriptive methods of electrical circuits for power systems. Written by an author with a wealth of experience in the field, both in industry and academia, the Handbook of Power System Engineering provides a single reference work for practicing engineers, researchers and those working in industry that want to gain knowledge of all aspects of power systems. It is also valuable for advanced students taking courses or modules in power system engineering.
Describing in detail how electrical power systems are planned and designed, this monograph illustrates the required structures of systems, substations and equipment using international standards and latest computer methods. The book discusses the advantages and disadvantages of the different arrangements within switchyards and of the topologies of the power systems, describing methods to determine the main design parameters of cables, overhead lines, and transformers needed to realize the supply task, as well as the influence of environmental conditions on the design and the permissible loading of the equipment. Additionally, general requirements for protection schemes and the main schemes related to the various protection tasks are given. With its focus on the requirements and procedures of tendering and project contracting, this book enables the reader to adapt the basics of power systems and equipment design to special tasks and engineering projects.