Electrical Machines Technology I (PLT 205/4)

Thoroughly revised, the second edition of this well acclaimed text presents a simple, explicit yet rigorous treatment of transformers and electrical machines. This edition now completely meets the need for a modern, authoritative text on the subject. Salient Features of the second edition:Incorporates important topics such as PMDC motors, Single phase synchronous generators, Brushless DC motors, Variable frequency and Tap changing transformers; Completely rewritten chapters on `Motor control by static power converters` explaining the motor control circuitry using modern power converter devices; Includes a chapter on DC/AC windings; Large variety of additional solved examples and unsolved problems with answers.

Electric Machinery Fundamentalscontinues to be a best-selling machinery text due to its accessible, student-friendly coverage of the important topics in the field. In the fifth edition, the use of MATLAB® continues to be incorporated in examples and problems, where applicable. The targeted and thought-provoking problems you've come to appreciate have been retained in this edition. Chapman continues to share his up-to-date knowledge and experiences in the field in an engaging and understandable style.

This best-selling book employs a theoretical, practical, multidisciplinary approach to provide introductory users with a broad understanding of modern electric power. The scope of the book reflects the rapid changes that have occurred in power technology over the past few years–allowing the entrance of power electronics into every facet of industrial drives, and expanding the field to open more career opportunities.The author covers thefundamentals of electricity, magnetism and circuits, mechanics and heat, electrical machines and transformers, electrical and electronic drives, and electric utility power systems.For managers of electrical utilities, electricians, electrical contractors and electrical maintenance personnel.

This comprehensive, up-to-date introduction to Electrical Machines is designed to meet the needs of undergraduate electrical engineering students. It presents the essential principles of rotating machines and transformers. The emphasis is on the performance, though the book also introduces the salient features of electrical machine design. The book provides accessible, student-friendly coverage of dc machines, transformers, three-phase induction motor, single-phase induction motor, fractional horsepower motors, and synchronous machines. The clear writing style of the book enhanced by illustrative figures and simplified explanations of the fundamentals, makes it an ideal text for gaining a thorough understanding of the subject of electrical machines.

Electric Machines is designed to serve as a textbook for a course on electrical machines for undergraduate students of engineering. It provides an insight into the fundamentals of the theory and performance of electric machines. The book includes comprehensive discussions on phasor diagrams and their applications in the study of electric machines. Beginning with topics such as three-phase circuits, transformers, and machine windings, the book goes on to cover induction machines, synchronous machines, and direct current machines as well as their transient and dynamic characteristics. Discussions on magnetic aspects of electric machines, principles of electromechanical energy conversion, and power semiconductor-controlled devices make the book a complete text for undergraduate students. Written in an easy-to-understand manner, the book presents the relevant topics in a systematic and lucid manner. Solved examples have been interspersed throughout the text to illustrate problem-solving methodologies. A large number of unsolved problems have been included to test the students??? understanding of the concepts discussed.

The two major broad applications of electrical energy are information processing and energy processing. Hence, it is no wonder that electric machines have occupied a large and revered space in the field of electrical engineering. Such an important topic requires a careful approach, and Charles A. Gross' Electric Machines offers the most balanced, application-oriented, and modern perspective on electromagnetic machines available. Written in a style that is both accessible and authoritative, this book explores all aspects of electromagnetic-mechanical (EM) machines. Rather than viewing the EM machine in isolation, the author treats the machine as part of an integrated system of source, controller, motor, and load. The discussion progresses systematically through basic machine physics and principles of operation to real-world applications and relevant control issues for each type of machine presented. Coverage ranges from DC, induction, and synchronous machines to specialized machines such as transformers, translational machines, and microelectromechanical systems (MEMS). Stimulating example applications include electric vehicles, wind energy, and vertical transportation. Numerous example problems illustrate and reinforce the concepts discussed. Along with appendices filled with unit conversions and background material, Electric Machines is a succinct, in-depth, and complete guide to understanding electric machines for novel applications.