Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biofuels Engineering Process Technology by
Call Number: TP339 D765 2008
Publication Date: 2008
New Process Technology for Developing Low-Cost, Environmentally Safe Biofuels Rising fuel prices have created a surge in the worldwide demand for biofuels made from plant and animal feedstocks. Filled with a wealth of illustrations, Biofuels Engineering Process Technology fully explains the concepts, systems, and technology now being used to produce biofuels on both an industrial and small scale. Written by a team of leading biofuels experts, this lucid guide presents a complete introduction to biofuels and biorefining processes…state-of-the-art information on biofuels processed from fermentations of ethanol, hydrogen, microbial oils, and methane…new material on the production of biodiesel from plant and algal oils…and the use of microbial fuel cells to produce bioelectricity.Biofuels Engineering Process Technologytakes readers step by step through: The key concepts, systems, and technology of biofuels A review of the basic concepts of fermentation pathways and kinetic modeling of bioreactors Biofuels produced from fermentations of agricultural feedstocks and biomass-ethanol, hydrogen, microbial oils, and methane Biodiesel fuels processed from the chemical conversion of microbial and plant oils Bioelectricity produced from microbial fuel cells The latest sustainable biorefinery concepts and methods Inside This Cutting-Edge Biofuels Engineering Guide • Introduction • Fuels from Fermentations: Ethanol • Hydrogen • Microbial Oils • Methane • Fuel from Chemical Conversion of Plant and Algal Oils: Biodiesel • Microbial Fuel Cells • Technical Resources
Industrial Uses of Biomass Energy by
Publication Date: 2000
Industrial Uses of Biomass Energy demonstrates that energy-rich vegetation, biomass, is a key renewable energy resource for the future. Brazil, uniquely, has a recent history of large-scale biomass industrial uses that makes it a specially important test-bed both for the development of biomass technology and its utilisation, and for understanding how this is shaped by political and socio-economic forces. The book analyses the cause for this and the alternatives. It is argued that Brazil's experience with the development for industrial biomass use provides wider lessons and insights in the context of the international movement for sustainable economic development.This book is an interdisciplinary, multi-author work, based upon a recently completed international study by Brazilian and British experts and will prove a valuable reference to all those working in this field.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Fundamentals of Renewable Energy Processes by
Call Number: TJ163.9 D111 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Fundamentals of Renewable Energy Processes contains the technical detail necessary to understand the engineering principles that govern renewable energy application at many different levels. Focused on the fundamental mechanisms and processes that underpin energy management, it provides students with the foundation for all energy process courses. This text is organized according to the main forms of energy - heat engines, hydrogen energy, energy from the sun, and wind and water energy - with an introductory chapter of basic energy terms. From fuel cells, electrolyzers and processes for hydrogen production to biomass and windmills the author provides the most thorough examination of all aspects of renewable energy processes. * Examines the fundamentals of some non-traditional energy processes and illustrates the best way to implement these processes in our modern world. * Appropriate for all students and professionals studying the basic mechanisms of renewable energies. * Clear theory and physical examples of all principles relevant to the study of renewable energy. * Written by an internationally recognized pioneer researcher
OTHER RECOMMENDED TITLES
Biosystems Engineering by
Call Number: TP248.3 N147 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Maximize productivity while minimizing environmental impact Develop sustainable products, energy sources, and processes using the concepts and methods contained in this interdisciplinary resource.Biosystems Engineeringdiscusses how to effectively merge solid design techniques with biology and the applied sciences. Featuring chapters by experts in each field, this authoritative guide explains how to analyze genetic data, design ecosystem models, implement conservation strategies, harness biofuels, and ensure food safety. Full coverage of transgenetic wood production, package engineering, supercritical fluid extraction, and agricultural land management is included. Discover how to: Use microarray technology to classify genes and construct databases Build mathematical models and computer simulations of ecosystems Create bio-oils and carbon-neutral transportation fuels using pyrolisis Synthesize biodiesel and ethanol from vegetable oil and animal fat Purify and enrich biotechnological products with bioseparation Develop modified woods and herbicide-resistant crops using transgenetics Extract antioxidants, supercritical fluids, and bioregulators from plants Deploy ecologically sound fertilizing, composting, and harvesting methods