It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This textbook is intended for a diverse audience that ranges from chemistry majors to students in any of the life sciences. The logical organization (discussion of molecular structure immediately followed by the role it plays in metabolism) leads students through the complex world of biochemistry while an impressive art program helps to guide them through up-to-date concepts. Of special interest are the new Biochemical Methods boxes in the text, PowerPoint slides for instructors, and animated and annotated Chime structures of biomolecules in the OLC.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
This reader-friendly book fosters a strong conceptual understanding of fluid flow phenomena through lucid physical descriptions, photographs, clear illustrations and fully worked example problems. More than 1,100 problems, including open-ended design problems and computer-oriented problems, provide an opportunity to apply fluid mechanics principles. Throughout, the authors have meticulously reviewed all problems, solutions, and text material to ensure accuracy. The Student Solutions Manual contains 100 example problems with solutions, designed by the authors to address the main concepts of each chapter of their text, Engineering Fluid Mechanics, 7E. These complete worked-out solutions help walk you through problem-solving processes that you can apply to the exercises in the main text.
Master fluid mechanics with the #1 text in the field! Effective pedagogy, everyday examples, an outstanding collection of practical problems--these are just a few reasons why Munson, Young, and Okiishi's Fundamentals of Fluid Mechanics is the best-selling fluid mechanics text on the market. In each new edition, the authors have refined their primary goal of helping you develop the skills and confidence you need to master the art of solving fluid mechanics problems. This new Fifth Edition includes many new problems, revised and updated examples, new Fluids in the News case study examples, new introductory material about computational fluid dynamics (CFD), and the availability of FlowLab for solving simple CFD problems. Access special resources online New copies of this text include access to resources on the book's website, including: * 80 short Fluids Mechanics Phenomena videos, which illustrate various aspects of real-world fluid mechanics. * Review Problems for additional practice, with answers so you can check your work. * 30 extended laboratory problems that involve actual experimental data for simple experiments. The data for these problems is provided in Excel format. * Computational Fluid Dynamics problems to be solved with FlowLab software. Student Solution Manual and Study Guide A Student Solution Manual and Study Guide is available for purchase, including essential points of the text, "Cautions" to alert you to common mistakes, 109 additional example problems with solutions, and complete solutions for the Review Problems.
Written for courses in Fluid Mechanics in Civil and Mechanical Engineering, this text covers the fundamental principles of fluid mechanics, as well as specialist topics in more depth. The fundamental material relates to all engineering disciplines that require fluid mechanics. As in previous editions this book demonstrates the link between theory and practice with excellent examples and computer programs. The programs help students perform 3 types of calculations; relatively simple calculations, calculations designed to provide solutions for steady state system operation, and unsteady flow simulations.
This is the most comprehensive introductory graduate or advanced undergraduate text in fluid mechanics available. It builds up from the fundamentals, often in a general way, to widespread applications, to technology and geophysics. New to this second edition are discussions on the universal dimensions similarity scaling for the laminar boundary layer equations and on the generalized vector field derivatives. In addition, new material on the generalized streamfunction treatment shows how streamfunction may be used in three-dimensional flows. Finally, a new Computational Fluid Dynamics chapter enables compulations of some simple flows and provides entry to more advanced literature. * Basic introduction to the subject of fluid mechanics, intended for undergraduate and beginning graduate students of science and engineering. * Includes topics of special interest for geophysicists and to engineers. * New and generalized treatment of similar laminar boundary layers, streamfunctions for three-dimensional flows, vector field derivatives, and gas dynamics. Also a new generalized treatment of boundary conditions in fluid mechanics, and expanded treatment of viscous flows.
Authoritative. Concise. Easy-to-Use. Schaum's Easy Outlines are streamlined versions of best-selling Schaum's titles. We've shortened the text, broadened the visual appeal, and introduced study techniques to make mastering any subject easier. The results are reader-friendly study guides with all the impressive academic authority of the originals. Schaum's Easy Outlines feature: Concise text that focuses on the essentials of the course Quick-study sidebars, icons, and other instructional aids Sample problems and exercises for review Expert advice from authorities in the field