Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Principles and Practices of Automatic Process Control by
Call Number: TP155.75 S644 2006
Publication Date: 2006
A practical guide for understanding and implementing industrial control strategies. Highly practical and applied, this Third Edition of Smith and Corripioâ²s Principles and Practice of Automatic Process Control continues to present all the necessary theory for the successful practice of automatic process control. The authors discuss both introductory and advanced control strategies, and show how to apply those strategies in industrial examples drawn from their own professional practice. Now revised, this Third Edition features: â^- Expanded coverage of the development of dynamic balances (Chapter 3) â^- A new chapter on modeling and simulation (Chapter 13) â^- More extensive discussion of distributive control systems â^- New tuning exercises (Appendix D) â^- Guidelines for plant-wide control and two new design case studies (Appendix B) â^- New operating case studies (Appendix E) â^- Book Website containing simulations to practice the tuning of feedback controllers, cascade controllers, and feedforward controllers, and the MATLAB(r) files for simulation examples and problem With this text, you can: â^- Learn the mathematical tools used in the analysis and design of process control systems. â^- Gain a complete understanding of the steady state behavior of processes. â^- Develop dynamic mathematical process models that will help you in the analysis, design, and operation of control systems. â^- Understand how the basic components of control systems work. â^- Design and tune feedback controllers. â^- Apply a variety of techniques that enhance feedback control, including cascade control, ratio control, override control, selective control, feedforward control, multivariable control, and loop interaction. â^- Master the fundamentals of dynamic simulation of process control systems using MATLAB.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Unit Operations of Chemical Engineering by
Call Number: TP155.7 M121 2005
Publication Date: 2005
******Recently Published!******Unit Operations of Chemical Engineering, 7th editioncontinues its lengthy, successful tradition of being one of McGraw-Hill's oldest texts in the Chemical Engineering Series. Since 1956, this text has been the most comprehensive of the introductory, undergraduate, chemical engineering titles available. Separate chapters are devoted to each of the principle unit operations, grouped into four sections: fluid mechanics, heat transfer, mass transfer and equilibrium stages, and operations involving particulate solids. Now in its seventh edition, the text still contains its balanced treatment of theory and engineering practice, with many practical, illustrative examples included. Almost 30% of the problems have been revised or are new, some of which cover modern topics such as food processing and biotechnology. Other unique topics of this text include diafiltration, adsorption and membrane operations.
Valve Handbook by
Call Number: TS277 S628 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of valves for the process industry Revised to include details on the latest technologies,Valve Handbook, Third Edition, discusses design, performance, selection, operation, and application. This updated resource features a new chapter on the green technology currently employed by the valve industry, as well as an overview of the major environmental global standards that process plants are expected to meet. The book also contains new information on: Valves used in the wastewater industry Applying emergency shutdown (ESO) valves Recent changes to shutoff classifications Valves specified for the nuclear industry The procurement process for the Nuclear Stamp (N-Stamp) The emergence of wireless technology and its application to current smart technology Characteristics of high-performance hydraulic fluid Valve Handbook, Third Edition, covers: Valve selection criteria Manual valves Check valves Pressure relief valves Control valves Manual operators and actuators Smart valves and positioners Valve and actuator sizing Green valve technology and application Common valve problems Valve purchasing issues
Chemical Engineers' Handbook by
Call Number: TP151 P462 2008 r
Publication Date: 2008
Get Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics—from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications. First published in 1934,Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbookhas equipped generations of engineers and chemists with an expert source of chemical engineering information and data. Now updated to reflect the latest technology and processes of the new millennium, the Eighth Edition of this classic guide provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications. Filled with over 700 detailed illustrations, the Eighth Edition ofPerry's Chemcial Engineering Handbookfeatures: Comprehensive tables and charts for unit conversion A greatly expanded section on physical and chemical data New to this edition: the latest advances in distillation, liquid-liquid extraction, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation processes, and chemical plant safety practices with accident case histories Inside This Updated Chemical Engineering Guide Conversion Factors and Mathematical Symbols • Physical and Chemical Data • Mathematics • Thermodynamics • Heat and Mass Transfer • Fluid and Particle Dynamics Reaction Kinetics • Process Control • Process Economics • Transport and Storage of Fluids • Heat Transfer Equipment • Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying • Distillation • Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design • Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment • Adsorption and Ion Exchange • Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment • Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment • Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment • Size Reduction and Size Enlargement • Handling of Bulk Solids and Packaging of Solids and Liquids • Alternative Separation Processes • And Many Other Topics!
Fundamentals of Process Control Theory with CD-ROM by
Call Number: TS156.8 M984 2000
Publication Date: 2000
The all-time best-selling ISA book is now updated & expanded. Paul Murrill's Fundamentals of Process Control Theory has long been praised for its clear, stylish presentation of the basic presentation of the basic principles of process automation & its excellent overview of advanced control techniques. Now, not only has the author updated it to reflect the most recent changes in technology, he has also incorporated material from his much-praised ISA book on putting the theory into practice: Application Concepts of Process Control. Establishes minimum requirements for the installation of transducers & auxiliary equipment (including separate field-mounted devices, such as power supplies), for nuclear applications outside the main rector vessel.
Instrumentation and Control Systems Documentation by
Call Number: TS156.8 M511 2011 f
Publication Date: 2011
This book provides the reader with knowledge needed to understand and apply the symbols and documents used to define a modern industrial instrumentation and control system. The documents that describe modern industrial processes, like most technical work, assume some level of understanding on the reader_s part. The documents use a schematic, symbol-based _language_ that may resemble Mayan hieroglyphics to those unfamiliar with the process nomenclature. The symbols, however, include a wealth of information once you are able to translate them. This book will train you to read, understand, and apply the symbols and documents used to define a modern industrial instrumentation and control system. For more experienced professionals, insights into using the symbols and documents more effectively are provided. Variations in the use of symbols and documents are given as well as the pitfalls to avoid. To better understand process documentation today, insight into how and when documents are developed, who develops them, why they are developed, and how they are used is provided. The types of documents discussed include process flow diagrams, piping and instrumentation drawings, instrument lists, specification forms, logic diagrams, installation details, location plans, and loop diagrams.
OTHER RECOMMENDED TITLES
Process Management by
Call Number: HD69 P75B892 2002
Publication Date: 2002
More and more decisions have to be made in networks. Networks have no hierarchy, which precludes simple command and control-type decision making. In addition, project-based techniques are unlikely to succeed in networks, since project management presupposes that one actor, the project manager, is at the top of a hierarchy. How to make decisions, when both command and control and project management are ineffective? This book offers decision makers operating in networks a new perspective. If neither command and control nor project management are effective, process management offers a solution: to reach decisions, invest in a structured interaction process. This book provides an in-depth analysis of process management: how to design and manage a process and why, what risks does it pose and how can we address them? With its crystal clear style, this book appeals to scientists, practitioners as well as students interested in the subject.
Process, Materials, and Measurements by
Call Number: TS171 P963 2006
Publication Date: 2006
In the world of product design, thousands of small bits of must-know information are scattered across a wide array of places. This book collects all the crucial information designers need to know on a daily basis and organizes it in one neat essential handbook. For designers to be able to make designs that work and endure and to ensure they are legal, they need to know-or be able to find-an endless number of details. Whether it's what kind of glue needs to be used on a certain surface, metric equivalents, thread sizes, or how to apply for a patent, these details are essential and must be readily available so designers can create successful products efficiently. This book provides designers with a comprehensive handbook they can turn to over and over again. The author includes information that is essential to successful product design, including measurement conversions, information on trademark and copyright standards as well as patents and product-related intellectual property rights/standards, setting up files for prototyping and production runs, and manufacturing and packaging options to optimize the design.