It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comprehensive, up-to-date, and applied coverage of modern microwave engineering Complete with practical applications and clear design procedures, Pozar' s Third Edition of MICROWAVE ENGINEERING offers a comprehensive, up-to-date presentation of the field. Based on fundamental principles of electrical engineering, the text shows that microwave circuits and devices can be explained through the use of circuit theory, Maxwell' s equations, and related concepts. Now updated and revised, this Third Edition features new material on active circuit design, nonlinear effects, and noise. Highlight include: New and revised coverage: The third Edition presents new materials on capacitively coupled resonator filters, RF MEMS, transistor power amplifiers, transistor oscillators, frequency multipliers, oscillator phase noise, and FET mixers, as well as substantially revised coverage of a number of topics. Many examples covering both theory and design: Examples, including many that are newor revised,for this edition, show how typical problems are solved, how typical designs are carried out, and how typical component designs perform. A wide variety of problems: Problems, including many that are new or revised, also cover both theory and design. Answers to selected problems provide opportunities for self-assessment. Discussion of both the how and the why of microwave engineering: The text begins with fundamental concepts, then builds on these to show how microwave components and circuits operate, and how they are designed. Extra resource on the Web: The web site for this text includes a Laboratory Manual of experiments from the University of Massachusetts and related files forusing Ansoft' s Serenade Microwave CAD package for several of the examples and problems in the book. Also by David M. Pozar: Microwave and RF Design of Wireless Systems ISBN: 0-471-32282-2
This book provides state-of-the-art treatment of methodologies and applications of system simulation related to all disciplines that range from toll-plaza systems for highways and bridges, traffic light control in city planning and engineering, design of transistors, VLSI chips, and computer systems and networks to the design and optimization of the operation of aerodynamic, air traffic control, and space shuttle systems. In a series of structured and focused chapters written by leading international experts from academia, industry and government, this volume presents the fundamentals of system simulation along with the latest research results and applications.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
A book for engineers who design and build filters of all types, with emphasis on lumped element, microstrip, stripline, and machined filters. It reviews classic and modern filter design techniques and it contains extensive practical design information of passband characteristics, topologies and transformations, and component effects and matching.
FOUNDATIONS FOR MICROWAVE ENGINEERING, Second Edition, covers the major topics of microwave engineering. Its presentation defines the accepted standard for both advanced undergraduate and graduate level courses on microwave engineering. An essential reference book for the practicing microwave engineer, it features: Planar transmission lines, as well as an appendix that describes in detail conformal mapping methods for their analysis and attenuation characteristics Small aperture coupling and its application in practical components such as directional couplers and cavity coupling Printed circuit components with an emphasis on techniques such as even and odd mode analysis and the use of symmetry properties Microwave linear amplifier and oscillator design using solid-state circuits such as varactor devices and transistors FOUNDATIONS FOR MICROWAVE ENGINEERING, Second Edition, has extensive coverage of transmission lines, waveguides, microwave circuit theory, impedance matching and cavity resonators. It devotes an entire chapter to fundamental microwave tubes, in addition to chapters on periodic structures, microwave filters, small signal solid-state microwave amplifier and oscillator design, and negative resistance devices and circuits. Completely updated in 1992, it is being reissued by the IEEE Press in response to requests from our many members, who found it an invaluable textbook and an enduring reference for practicing microwave engineers. Sponsored by: IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society An Instructor's Manual presenting detailed solutions to all the problems in the book is available upon request from the Wiley Makerting Department.
Filled with illustrations, examples and approximately 300 homework problems, this accessible and informative text provides an extensive treatment of electromagnetism and microwave engineering with particular emphasis on microwave and telecommunications applications. Also stresses computational electromagnetics through the use of MathCad and finite element methods to elucidate design problems, analysis and applications. Tutorials on the use of MathCad and PSpice are included. An accessible textbook for students and valuable reference for engineers already in the field.
A practical guide for today's wireless engineer High Frequency Techniques: An Introduction to RF and Microwave Engineering is a clearly written classical circuit and field theory text illustrated with modern computer simulation software. The book's ten chapters cover: * The origins and current uses of wireless transmission * A review of AC analysis, Kirchhoff's laws, RLC elements, skin effect, and introduction to the use of computer simulation software * Resonators, Q definitions, and Q-based impedance matching * Transmission lines, waves, VSWR, reflection phenomena, Fano's reflection bandwidth limits, telegrapher, and impedance transformation equations * Development and in-depth use of the Smith Chart * Matrix algebra with Z, Y, ABCD, S, and T matrix applications * An unusually thorough introduction to electromagnetic field theory, step-by-step development of vector calculus, Maxwell's equations, waveguides, propagation, and antennas * Backward wave, branch line, rat race and Wilkinson couplers, impedance measurements, and detailed even and odd mode analysis * Filter designs for Butterworth, Chebyshev, Bessel and elliptic responses, Kuroda's identities, Richards's transformation, and computer optimized designs * Transistor amplifier design using Unilateral Gain, Simultaneous Match, Available Gain and Operating Gain approaches, insuring stability, cascading stages, broadbanding, noise theory, and intermodulation effects Using informal language, High Frequency Techniques takes the reader step-by- step through RF and microwave theory and design, providing a lasting practical reference for the practicing wireless engineer. *An Instructor's Manual presenting detailed solutions to all the problems in the book is available from the Wiley editorial department.