Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physics for Scientists and Engineers by
Call Number: QC23.2 S492 2004 f
Publication Date: 2004
Achieve success in your physics course by making the most of what PHYSICS FOR SCIENTISTS AND ENGINEERS has to offer you. From a host of in-text features to a range of outstanding technology resources, you'll have everything you need to understand the natural forces and principles of physics. Throughout every chapter, the authors have built in a wide range of examples, exercises, and illustrations that will help you understand the laws of physics AND succeed in your course! Available with most new copies of the text is CengageNOW for Physics. Save time, learn more, and succeed in the course with this online suite of resources that give you the choices and tools you need to study smarter and get the grade. Receive a personalized study plan based on chapter-specific diagnostic testing to help you pinpoint what you need to know NOW, and interact with a live physics tutor through the exclusive Personal Tutor with SMARTHINKING program to help you master the concepts.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Engineering Mechanics: Statics and Dynamics by
Call Number: TA350 H624 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Offers a concise yet thorough presentation of engineering mechanics theory and application. The material is reinforced with numerous examples to illustrate principles and imaginative, well-illustrated problems of varying degrees of difficulty. The book is committed to developing users' problem-solving skills. Features "Photorealistc" figures (over 400) that have been rendered in often 3D photo quality detail to appeal to visual learners. Presents a thorough combination of both static and dynamic engineering mechanics theory and applications. Features a large variety of problem types from a broad range of engineering disciplines, stressing practical, realistic situations encountered in professional practice, varying levels of difficulty, and problems that involve solution by computer. For professionals in mechanical engineering, civil engineering, aeronautical engineering, and engineering mechanics careers.
Electricity : principles and applications by
Call Number: QC523 F788 2008 f
Publication Date: 2008
This widely-used text prepares students for entry-level jobs in electronics, electrical trades and related fields. Its level and approach are ideal for both electronics and electricity programs looking for a relatively short, applied book covering DC/AC circuits. Additional chapters on topics such as safety, transformers, motors, instrumentation, and residential wiring are also included. No prior knowledge of electricity is assumed; the only prerequisites are arithmetic and basic algebra. Practical skills are emphasized throughout the text, and supported in the hands-on work provided in the companion Experiments Manual. MultiSim circuit files are provided, on a bound-in CD ROM, for those who want to bring software simulation work into their classes and labs.
Electrical and Electronic Technology by
Call Number: TK146 H893 2012
Publication Date: 2012
This best-selling textbook, now in its eleventh edition, provides the clear and accessible introduction to electrical and electronic technology that all engineering students need. With a balanced coverage of electrical, electronic, and power engineering,Hughes Electrical and Electronic Technology is a must-have text for all university and college engineering students, including those not studying for an electrical or electronic degree. It is also appropriate as a reference for practitioners and technicians working in this, or any other engineering discipline. This edition has been significantly updated to include more on green topics like renewable energy and smart grid systems, and on technological advances such as particle accelerators. Key features include; chapter objectives and summaries plus worked examples and numerous practice problems.
OTHER RECOMMENDED TITLES
Engineering Science by
Call Number: TA145 B694 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Engineering Scienceis a comprehensive textbook suitable for all vocational and pre-degree courses. Taking a generic approach, the essential scientific principles engineering students need for their studies are presented topic by topic. Unlike the majority of texts available on this subject, Bill Bolton goes beyond the core science to include the mechanical, electrical and electronic principles needed in the majority of courses. A concise and accessible text is supported by numerous worked examples and problems, with a complete Answer Section at the back of the book. Now in its fifth edition, the text has been fully updated in line with the current BTEC National syllabus and includes a grid mapping the chapters to the BTEC units. The breadth of coverage means this fifth edition will also prove an essential reference for students embarking on HNC and Foundation Degrees, who require a general introduction to this subject area. New for this edition is online lecturer support available from http://textbooks.elsevier.com and featuring: • Key points, definitions and equations from the book for use as handouts • Multiple Choice Questions • Answers to the Multiple Choice Questions • PowerPoint slides featuring essential illustrations per topic area for use in lectures or as handouts
Robot Programming by Demonstration by
Call Number: TJ211.45 C154 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Also referred to as learning by imitation, tutelage, or apprenticeship learning, Programming by Demonstration (PbD) develops methods by which new skills can be transmitted to a robot. This book examines methods by which robots learn new skills through human guidance. Taking a practical perspective, it covers a broad range of applications, including service robots. The text addresses the challenges involved in investigating methods by which PbD is used to provide robots with a generic and adaptive model of control. Drawing on findings from robot control, human-robot interaction, applied machine learning, artificial intelligence, and developmental and cognitive psychology, the book contains a large set of didactic and illustrative examples. Practical and comprehensive machine learning source codes are available on the book "s companion website: http://www.programming-by-demonstration.org