It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
For sophomore/junior-level signals and systems courses in Electrical and Computer Engineering departments. Signals, Systems, and Transforms, Fourth Edition is ideal for electrical and computer engineers. The text provides a clear, comprehensive presentation of both the theory and applications in signals, systems, and transforms. It presents the mathematical background of signals and systems, including the Fourier transform, the Fourier series, the Laplace transform, the discrete-time and the discrete Fourier transforms, and the z-transform. The text integrates MATLAB examples into the presentation of signal and system theory and applications.
The second edition of Signals and Systems: Analysis Using Transform Methods and MATLAB® has been extensively updated while retaining the emphasis on fundamental applications and theory that has been the hallmark of this popular text. The text includes a wealth of exercises, including drill exercises, and more challenging conceptual problems. The book is intended to cover a two-semester course sequence in the basics of signals and systems analysis during the junior or senior year.
Designed for the undergraduate course on Signals and Systems, thsi text covers Continuous-time and Discrete-time signals and systems in detail. Crisp and concise theory, plethora of numerical problems and MATLAB exercises make this book a unique offering for teachers and students alike. Features Integrated coverage of Continuous-Time and rete-Time Signals & Systems. Separate chapter on Fourier Representation of Discrete-Time Signals covering DTFT (Discrete-time Fourier transform), DFS (Discrete Fourier series), DFT (Discrete Fourier transform) and FFT (Fast Fourier transform). (Ch -5) Separate chapter on Hilbert Transforms and its applications.(Ch -11) Chapterwise MATLAB examples and exercises present.
Haykin and Van Veen have designed Signals and Systems to be appropriate for both one- and two-semester sophomore-junior versions of the Signals and Systems course. The book's integrated, balanced treatment of continuous- and discrete-time forms of signals and systems is both a reflection of the topics' real roles in engineering practice and a clear, practical way of introducing the large range of topics covered by the course. Already known for its extensive example and problem sets, the Second Edition has added even more examples and problems. All chapters have been revised to improve clarity and organization.
Ambardar's proven text teaches the basic principles and applications of signals, systems, transforms and filters, using both a visual and mathematical approach. This book helps readers develop a thorough understanding of time-domain and frequency-domain relationships, encouraging them to think clearly in both domains and switch easily from one to the other. Bound into each text is a disk with a set of powerful software routines running under MATLAB? that can be used for reinforcing and visualizing concepts as well as for problem solving and advanced design. The extensively revised and reorganized Second Edition incorporates new practical applications and design-oriented examples in every chapter.
Building on the success of the first edition, this popular text book has now been updated and revised. Covering both analog and digital signal processing techniques in an evenly balanced manner, Professor Baher provides an excellent introductory and comprehensive text emphasising how analog and digital techniques complement each other rather than compete. Brings the entire area of signal processing within the scope of modern undergraduate curricula Discusses topics such as spectral analysis of continuous and discrete signals (deterministic and random), Fourier, Laplace, and z-transforms, analysis of continuous and discrete systems and circuits, design of analog and digital filters, fast Fourier transform algorithms and finite word-length effects in digital processors Presents a final chapter on advanced signal processing (including linear estimation, adaptive filters, over-sampling sigma-delta converters, and wavelets) to encourage further interest Contains numerous solved examples throughout and MATLAB(r) exercises at the end of each chapter Written primarily for undergraduates, Analog Digital Signal Processing will also be an authoritative text for postgraduate students and professional engineers.
The understanding of Signals and Systems is a pre-requisite to learning Digital Signal Processing and Communication Systems. This book, designed as a fundamental textbook on the subject, has its emphasis on clear concepts and appropriate solved examples and problems. Now in its second edition, the book provides detailed coverage of topics like FFT, Structure Realization and State Variables.
This book provides a comprehensive, modern approach to signals and systems, concentrating on those aspects that are most relevant for applications such as communication systems and signal processing. Emphasis is placed on building the reader's intuition and problem-solving ability, rather than formal theorems and proofs. "The coverage of the book is comprehensive, providing a broad overview, using a whole host of exercises. The wealth of the worked examples and problems complemented by solutions is particularly attractive. The level of mathematics is not too daunting for the good average student and the authors do their utmost to mitigate the difficulties, skilfully using worked examples." Prof. Lajos Hanzo, University of Southampton author of Mobile Radio Communications and Single-and Multi-carrier QAM Check out the companion Website for 'Systool' simulation software using Java applets to animate many of the key examples and exercises from the book.
The third edition of Signals and Systems prepares students for real-world engineering applications. It is concise, focused, and practical. The text introduces basic concepts in signals and systems and their associated mathematical and computational tools. It also stresses the most important concepts in signal analysis (frequency spectra) and system analysis (stability and frequency responses) and uses them throughout, including the study of seismometers and accelerometers. Signals and Systems, 3/e, introduces every term carefully and develops every topic logically. It distinguishes amplitudes and magnitudes, as well as lumped and distributed systems. It presents engineering concepts as early as possible and discusses transform theory only as needed. Also, the text employs transfer functions and state-space equations only in the contexts where they are most efficient. Transfer functions are used exclusively in qualitative analysis and design, and state-space equations are usedexclusively in computer computation and op-amp circuit implementation. Thus, the students' time is focused on learning only what can be immediately used. Including an author commentary on the best way to approach the text, Signals and Systems, 3/e, is ideal for sophomore- and junior-level undergraduate courses in systems and signals. It assumes a background in general physics (including simple circuit analysis), simple matrix operations, and basic calculus.
The fast and easy way to learn signals and systems Get a working knowledge of signal processing and systems--even if you don't have formal training, unlimited time, or a genius IQ. Signals and Systems Demystified offers an effective, illuminating, and entertaining way to learn this essential electrical engineering subject. First, you'll learn methods used to calculate energy and power in signals. Next, you'll study signals in the frequency domain using Fourier analysis. Other topics covered include amplitude, frequency, and phase modulation, spectral analysis, convolution, the Laplace transform, and the z-transform. Packed with hundreds of sample equations and explained solutions, and featuring end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam, this book will teach you the fundamentals of signals and systems in no time at all. Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Signals and Systems Demystified is your shortcut to mastering this complex subject. This hands-on, self-teaching text offers: An easy way to understand signal processing and systems Hundreds of worked examples with solutions A quiz at the end of each chapter to reinforce learning and pinpoint weaknesses A final exam at the end of the book No unnecessary technical jargon A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work!
The Second Edition of this well-received text continues to provide coherent and comprehensive coverage of signals and systems. It is designed for undergraduate students of electronics and communication engineering, telecommunication engineering, electronics and instrumentation
engineer-ing, and electrical and electronics engineering. The book will also be useful to AMIE and IETE students.
Written with student-centred, pedagogically driven approach, the text provides a self-contained introduction to the theory of signals and systems. This book looks at the concepts of systems, and also examines signals and the way that signals interact with physical systems. It covers topics ranging from basic signals and systems to signal analysis, properties of continuous-time Fourier transforms including Fourier transforms of standard signals, signal transmission through linear systems, relation between convolution and correlation of signals, sampling theorems and techniques, and transform analysis of LTI systems. All the solved and unsolved problems in this book are designed to illustrate the topics in a clear way.