Strength of Materials (EBT 252/4)

This text, widely used and highly regarded in it first edition, is intended for the core course in mechanics or strength of materials which is generally taught at the undergraduate level. Well known for its clarity and accuracy, the book also provides a wealth of problems, most of which are new in this edition. Tutorial software accompanies each book. The book is constructed in units, each consisting of one or several theory sections followed by sample problems and a large number of homework problems.

Mechanics of Materials SI, 8e is a student-oriented and readable text with a clear and concise presentation of relevant theories and applications. Containing Hibbeler's hallmark student-oriented features, this four-colour text in SI units with a photorealistic art program is designed to help students visualise difficult concepts. This new edition contains more examples than any other Mechanics of Materials text, further enhancing students ability to master the subject.

The third edition of the popular Structural and Stress Analysis provides the reader with a comprehensive introduction to all types of structural and stress analysis. Starting with an explanation of the basic principles of statics, the book proceeds to normal and shear force, and bending moments and torsion. Building on the success of the prior edition, this edition features new material on structural dynamics and fatigue, and additional discussion of Eurocode compliance in design of beams. With worked examples, practice problems, and extensive illustrations, this book provides an all-in-one resource for students and professionals interested in learning structural analysis. Comprehensive overview of structural and stress analysis Numerous worked examples and end-of-chapter problems Extensively illustrated to help visualize concepts

For a first course in Materials Sciences and Engineering taught in the departments of materials science, mechanical, civil and general engineering. This text provides a treatment of the full spectrum of engineering materials, covering all the physical properties, applications and relevant properties associated with engineering materials.

This text provides an understanding of the relationship between structure, processing, and properties of materials. By selecting the appropriate topics from this wealth of material, instructors can emphasize materials, provide a general overview, concentrate on mechanical behavior, or focus on physical properties. Since the book has more material than is needed for a one-semester course, students will also have a useful reference for subsequent courses in manufacturing, materials, design, or materials selection.

Strength of Materialsis ideal for students pursuing degrees in civil and mechanical engineering, as well as computer science, electronics, and instrumentation. Topics include combined stresses, centroid and the moment of inertia, shear forces and bending moments in beams, stresses in beams, the deflection of beams, torsion of circular members, springs, strain energy, the theory of elastic failure, buckling of columns, pressure vessels, and the analysis of framed structures.

Appropriate for statics and strength of materials courses in engineering technology programs. Designed to cover statics and strength of materials at an elementary level not requiring calculus, this text presents topics in a clear, simple, direct fashion that avoids "information overload" and that uses an abundance of worked examples to clarify principles.

Applied Strength of Materials provides comprehensive coverage of the key topics in strength of materials with an emphasis on applications, problem solving, and design of structural members, mechanical devices, and systems. The fourth edition of this best-selling text has been updated and enhanced to include a new "Big Picture" feature and a brief review of statics in a new appendix. Strengths of this text include: bull; A section called The Big Picture begins each chapter and engages students in discussion of the many contexts in which the principles in that chapter are used in real, practical design. This feature draws on the students' own experience and builds their knowledge of the mechanical design field. It is based on the learning theory that students learn better when they can relate new concepts to past experiences and when they consider the whole before tackling the details. An extensive introduction to composite materials along with the commentary throughout the book on the application of composites to various kinds of load-carrying members and comparisons/contrasts of composites to traditional structural members. Suggested computer programming assignments with recommended uses for spreadsheets, equation-solving software such as MATLAB, and graphing calculators to reflect the continuing development of electronic aids. Strong presentation of design approaches in addition to analysis, providing extensive information on guidelines for design of mechanical devices and structural members.