It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
With the rapid growth of wireless technologies, more and more people are trying to gain a better understanding of electromagnetics. After all, electromagnetic fields have a direct impact on reception in all wireless applications. This text explores electromagnetics, presenting practical applications for wireless systems, transmission lines, waveguides, antennas, electromagnetic interference, and microwave engineering. It is designed for use in a one- or two-semester electromagnetics sequence for electrical engineering students at the junior and senior level. The first book on the subject to tackle the impact of electromagnetics on wireless applications: Includes numerous worked-out example problems that provide you with hands-on experience in solving electromagnetic problems. Describes a number of practical applications that show how electromagnetic theory is put into practice. Offers a concise summary at the end of each chapter that reinforces the key points. Detailed MATLAB examples are integrated throughout the book to enhance the material.
The discipline of antenna theory has experienced vast technological changes. In response, Constantine Balanis has updated his classic text, Antenna Theory, offering the most recent look at all the necessary topics. New material includes smart antennas and fractal antennas, along with the latest applications in wireless communications. Multimedia material on an accompanying CD presents PowerPoint viewgraphs of lecture notes, interactive review questions, Java animations and applets, and MATLAB features. Like the previous editions, Antenna Theory, Third Edition meets the needs of electrical engineering and physics students at the senior undergraduate and beginning graduate levels, and those of practicing engineers as well. It is a benchmark text for mastering the latest theory in the subject, and for better understanding the technological applications. An Instructor's Manual presenting detailed solutions to all the problems in the book is available from the Wiley editorial department.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
This is an exciting revision of John Kraus' classic book Antennas, which has been long known as the "Antenna Bible". A new co-author, Ronald Marhefka has joined the author team for this revison. Many new, modern applications have been added-thus the title change to Antennas with All Applications. As well, the references have been updated to include recent additons to the literature.Additionally, the book has been reorganized to make it more user-friendly for both students and professionals. The book now covers the fundamentals of various antennas and concepts in the first half of the book and then gets into more details on those same topics later in the book. This allows a one-semester course to just cover the fundamentals if desired, and a professional to focus on advanced topics if he or she wants.
First published just over 50 years ago and now in its Eighth Edition, Bill Hayt and John Buck’sEngineering Electromagneticsis a classic text that has been updated for electromagnetics education today. This widely-respected book stresses fundamental concepts and problem solving, and discusses the material in an understandable and readable way. Numerous illustrations and analogies are provided to aid the reader in grasping the difficult concepts. In addition, independent learning is facilitated by the presence of many examples and problems.Important updates and revisions have been included in this edition. One of the most significant is a new chapter onelectromagnetic radiation and antennas. This chapter covers the basic principles of radiation, wire antennas, simple arrays, and transmit-receive systems.
Fundamentals of Electromagnetics for Electrical and Computer Engineering, First Edition is appropriate for all beginning courses in electromagnetics, in both electrical engineering and computer engineering programs. This is ideal for anyone interested in learning more about electromagnetics. Dr. N. Narayana Rao has designed this compact, one-semester textbook in electromagnetics to fully reflect the evolution of technologies in both electrical and computer engineering. This book’s unique approach begins with Maxwell’s equations for time-varying fields (first in integral and then in differential form), and also introduces waves at the outset. Building on these core concepts, Dr. Rao treats each category of fields as solutions to Maxwell’s equations, highlighting the frequency behavior of physical structures. Next, he systematically introduces the topics of transmission lines, waveguides, and antennas. To keep the subject’s geometry as simple as possible, while ensuring that students master the physical concepts and mathematical tools they will need, Rao makes extensive use of the Cartesian coordinate system. Topics covered in this book include: uniform plane wave propagation; material media and their interaction with uniform plane wave fields; essentials of transmission-line analysis (both frequency- and time-domain); metallic waveguides; and Hertzian dipole field solutions. Material on cylindrical and spherical coordinate systems is presented in appendices, where it can be studied whenever relevant or convenient. Worked examples are presented throughout to illuminate (and in some cases extend) key concepts; each chapter also contains a summary and review questions.(Note: this book provides a one-semester alternative to Dr. Rao’s classic textbook for two-semester courses,Elements of Engineering Electromagnetics, now in its Sixth Edition.)
Engineering Electromagnetics provides a solid foundation in electromagnetics fundamentals by emphasizing physical understanding and practical applications. Electromagnetics, with its requirements for abstract thinking, can prove challenging for students. The authors' physical and intuitive approach has produced a book that will inspire enthusiasm and interest for the material. Benefiting from a review of electromagnetic curricula at several schools and repeated use in classroom settings, this text presents material in a rigorous yet readable manner.