Structure and Polymer Properties (EBT 235/3)

This book focuses on the relationships between the chemical structure and the related physical characteristics of plastics, which determine appropriate material selection, design, and processing of plastic parts. One of the special features is the extensive discussion and explanation of the interdependence between structure, properties, and processing. The book contains numerous application-oriented examples and is presented at an intermediate level for both practicing plastic engineers and advanced engineering students.

A revised edition of a classic text Polymers are macromolecules built up by linking large numbers of smaller molecules. Due to their diverse physical properties, polymers have become central to a number of important industries, including plastics, rubber, adhesives, fiber, and paint industries. Introduction to Physical Polymer Science, Third Edition is the definitive reference for polymer researchers. Emphasizing interrelationships between molecular structure and the morphology and mechanical behavior of polymers, the Third Edition incorporates new findings in processing and characterizing polymers. Many new worked examples and study problems have been added. The new material includes: New chapters devoted to polymer surfaces and polymer blends Discussions on solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance methods, self-assembled polymers, scaling law basics, polymer processing, hyperbranched dendrimers, and the kinetics of polymerization Current research interests, such as polyolefins, thermoset plastics, pyroelectric and piezoelectric polymers, supercritical fluids, biomedical applications, film formation, and natural polymers Introduction to Physical Polymer Science, Third Edition continues to be the ideal resource for students and professional chemists, chemical engineers, materials scientists, and polymer scientists.

This book provides comprehensive, up-to-date, and accessible coverage of the relationship between fundamental chemistry and the uses of polymers.With help from new co-author James Mark, the book presents a complete overview of the synthetic, kinetic, structural, and applied aspects of modern polymer chemistry as well as coverage of industrial and medical applications.For chemists and chemical engineers involved in polymer chemistry.

Organic and Physical Chemistry of Polymers provides a thorough introduction to the fundamentals of polymers, including their structure and synthesis as well as their chemical and physical properties. This accessible guide illuminates the increasingly important role of polymers in modern chemistry, beginning with the essentials, then covering thermodynamics, conformation, morphology, and measurements of molar masses; polymerization mechanisms, reaction of polymers, synthesis of block and graft polymers, and complex topologies; and the mechanical properties, rheology, polymer processing, and fabrication of fibers and films.

The interest in polymer composites research is due to their enlarged application. Filling with hard particles gives to polymers a number of desirable properties: increases hardness, decreases heat expansion coefficient, improves resistance to creep and fracture toughness. Difficulties in structure-properties relationships researching for polymer composites are due to their structure complexity. Till now, composites studies were conducted within the frameworks of continuum mechanics and thermodynamic conceptions. However, these conceptions applications does not allow satisfactory descriptions nor predictions of such materials properties. As a matter of fact, an experimental data set dictates one or another physical model of structure choice for composites macroscopic properties description.

State-of-the-art techniques for tapping the vast potential of polymers The use of specific non-covalent interactions to control polymer structure and properties is a rapidly emerging field with applications in diverse disciplines. Molecular Recognition and Polymers covers the fundamental aspects and applications of molecular recognition'in the creation of novel polymeric materials for use in drug delivery, sensors, tissue engineering, molecular imprinting, and other areas. This reference begins by explaining the fundamentals of supramolecular polymers; it progresses to cover polymer formation and self-assembly with a wide variety of examples, and then includes discussions of biomolecular recognition using polymers. With chapters contributed by the foremost experts in their fields, this resource: * Provides an integrated resource for supramolecular chemistry, polymer science, and interfacial science * Covers advanced, state-of-the-art techniques used in the design and characterization of non-covalent interactions in polymers * Illustrates how to tailor the properties of polymeric materials for various applications Stand-alone chapters address specific applications independently for easy reference. This is a premier resource for graduate students and researchers in polymer chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, materials science, and physical organic chemistry.

This book provides a broad understanding of polymeric liquids and networks. Emphasizing fundamental principles and a molecular viewpoint, it has been developed from the background and language of molecular liquid theory. The conceptual basis of theories underlying each topical area is explained with derivations sometimes outlined briefly and sometimes given in detail. The goal of the text is to provide an informed understanding rather than detailed technical proficiency. Theory, experiment, and simulation are woven together so as to leave the reader with a balanced grasp of the various areas. It deals mainly with non-polar and weakly polar species and mainly with results derived from experiments on structurally well-defined systems. The object is not to ignore the more complex systems, which are pervasive in both nature and industry. Indeed, much space is devoted to structural distributions, their characterization and their effect on properties. It is rather to provide a framework for better understanding of all polymeric liquids by identifying, in the simplest possible circumstances, the universal attributes of a chain-like and flexible molecular structure.