Physical Metallurgy (EBT211/4)

This practical introduction to engineering materials/metallurgy maintains a low mathematical level designed for two-year technical programs.The easy-to-read, highly accessible Sixth Edition includes many of the latest industry processes that change the physical and mechanical properties of materials.This book can be used as a "materials processing" reference handbook in support of Design, Process, Electrical and Chemical technicians and engineers.

Introduction Chapter 1 Description of Crystals 1.1 Atom Packing in fcc and hcp Crystals 1.2 The Stereographic Projection Chapter 2 Structure Determination 2.1 X-ray Diffraction 2.2 Transmission Electron Microscope (TEM) 2.3 Scanning Electron Microscope (SEM) Chapter 3 the Plastic Deformation of Metal Crystals 3.1 Slip Systems 3.2 Resolved Shear Stress (Schmidt Factor) 3.3 Single-Crystal Tensile Tests (fcc) 3.4 Relationship to Polycrystalline Deformation 3.5 Theoretical Strength of Metals Chapter 4 Dislocations 4.1 The Edge Dislocation 4.2 The Screw Dislocation 4.3 Mixed Dislocations 4.4 Terminology of "Crooked" Dislocations 4.5 Dislocation Loops 4.6 Mobile Dislocations in Real Crystals 4.7 Observation of Dislocations 4.8 Elastic Strain Energy 4.9 Energy of Dislocations 4.10 Forces upon Dislocations 4.11 The Stress Field Produced by Dislocations 4.12 Line Tension 4.13 Extended Dislocations 4.14 Dislocations in fcc Metals 4.15 Frank-Read Generator 4.16 Interpretation of Plastic Flow in Terms of Dislocation Motion Chapter 5 Vacancies 5.1 Vacancy Formation Chapter 6 Diffusion 6.1 Phenomenological Approach 6.2 Atomistic Approach Chapter 7 Interfaces 7.1 Classification, Geometry, and Energy of Interfaces 7.2 Surface Tension and Surface Free Energy of Interfaces 7.3 The Shape of Grains in Two and Three Dimensions 7.4 Grain-Boundary Segregation 7.5 Motion of Grain Boundaries Chapter 8 Nucleation 8.1 Homogeneous Nucleation 8.2 Heterogeneous Nucleation Chapter 9 Solidification 9.1 Nucleation 9.2 Solidfication of Pure Metals 9.3 Solidification of Alloys 9.4 Solidification of Eutectic Alloys 9.5 Cast Metals Chapter 10 Recovery and Recrystal- Lization 10.1 Stored Energy 10.2 Release of Stored Energy during Annealing 10.3 Kinetics of Recovery 10.4 Nucleation Mechanisms for Recrystallization 10.5 Kinetics of Recrystallization 10.6 Control of Recrystallization Temperature and Grain Size 10.7 Related Topics Chapter 11 Precipitation from Solid Solutions 11.1 Review of Free-Energy Composition Diagrams 11.2 The Precipitation Transformation 11.3 Nucleation in the Solid State 11.4 Kinetics of Precipitation Reactions 11.5 Precipitation Hardening Chapter 12 Diffusion-Controlled Growth of Equilibrium Precipitates 12.1 Single-Phase Precipitates 12.2 Eutectoid Transformations 12.3 Discontinuous Precipitation Chapter 13 Martensitic Transformations 13.1 Twinning 13.2 Crystallography of Martensitic Transformations 13.3 Some Characteristics of Martensitic Transformations 13.4 Thermodynamics 13.5 Thermoelastic Martensites 13.6 Additional Characteristics of Martensitic Transformations 13.7 Nucleation of Martensite 13.8 Summary and Comparison with Massive Transformations 13.9 Bainite Chapter 14 Some Applications of Physical Metallurgy 14.1 Strengthening Mechanisms 14.2 Strength and Ductility 14.3 The Physical Metallurgy of Some High-Strength Steels Appendix A S.I. Units Index

"Physical Metallurgy and Advanced Materials " is the latest edition of the classic book previously published as "Modern Physical Metallurgy & Materials Engineering." Fully revised and expanded, this new edition develops on its predecessor by including detailed coverage of the latest topics in metallurgy and material science. Intended for senior undergraduates and graduate students it emphasises the science, production and applications of engineering materials, and is suitable for all post-introductory materials science courses. "Key Features: " * Renowned coverage of metals and alloys, plus other materials classes including ceramics and polymers. *Updated coverage of sports materials, biomaterials and nanomaterials. *Covers new materials characterization techniques, including scanning tunneling microscopy (STM), atomic force microscopy (AFM), and nanoindentation. *Easy to navigate with contents split into logical groupings: fundamentals, metals and alloys, nonmetals, processing and applications. *Detailed worked examples with real-world applications. *Rich pedagogy includes extensive homework exercises, lecture slides and full online solutions manual (coming).

This comprehensive, student friendly text is intended for use in an introductory course in physical metallurgy and is designed for all engineering students at the junior or senior level. The approach is largely theoretical but all aspects of physical metallurgy and behavior of metals and alloys are covered. The treatment used in this textbook is in harmony with a more fundamental approach to engineering education. An extensive revision has been done to insure that the content remains the standard for metallurgy engineering courses worldwide.

For students ready to advance in their study of metals, Physical Metallurgycombines theoretical concepts, real alloy systems, processing procedures, and examples of real-world applications. The author uses his experience in teaching physical metallurgy at the University of Michigan to convey this topic with greater depth and detail than most introductory materials courses offer. The book follows its introduction of metals with topics that are common to all metals, including solidification, diffusion, surfaces, solid solutions, intermediate phases, dislocations, annealing, and phase transformations. Other chapters focus on specific nonferrous alloy systems and their significant metallurgical properties and applications, the treatment of steels includes separate chapters on iron-carbon alloys, hardening, tempering and surface treatment, special steels and low carbon sheet steel, followed by a separate chapter on cast irons. Concluding chapters treat powder metallurgy, corrosion, welding and magnetic alloys. There are appendices on microstructural analysis, stereographic projection, and the Miller-Bravais system for hexagonal crystals. These chapters cover ternary phase diagrams, diffusion in multiphase systems, the thermodynamic basis for phase diagrams, stacking faults and hydrogen embrittlement. Physical Metallurgyuses engaging historical and contemporary examples that relate to the applications of concepts in each chapter. With ample references and sample problems throughout, this text is a superb tool for any advanced materials science course.

This comprehensive, student friendly text is intended for use in an introductory course in physical metallurgy and is designed for all engineering students at the junior or senior level. The approach is largely theoretical but all aspects of physical metallurgy and behavior of metals and alloys are covered. The treatment used in this textbook is in harmony with a more fundamental approach to engineering education. An extensive revision has been done to insure that the content remains the standard for metallurgy engineering courses worldwide.

Physical Metallurgy elucidates the microstructure, transformation and properties of metallic materials by means of solid state physics and chemical thermodynamics. Experimental methods of physical metallurgy are also treated.This third edition includes new sections on the permeation of hydrogen in metals, the Landau theory of martensitic transformation, and order hardening and plasticity of intermetallics. Numerous other sections have been brought up to date in the light of new developments (e.g. scanning tunnelling microscopy, CALPHAD-method, diffusion in glasses, DIGM, recrystallisation). New artwork and references have also been added.Professor Haasen's clear and concise coverage of a remarkably wide range of topics will appeal both to physics students at the threshold of their metallurgical careers, and to metallurgists who are interested in the physical foundation of their field.