It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book uses a step-by-step approach to teach the fundamentals of assembly language programming and interfacing of the 8051 microcontroller. It uses many examples to clarify concepts. Simple, concise examples are utilized to show what action each instruction performs, then a sample is provided to show its application. This text provides a comprehensive understanding of the internal organization of the 8051 registers and resources in a way that sheds the student's fear of assembly language. Whether students become designers of stand-alone systems or complex embedded systems, they will find this text a useful resource.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Using a clear writing style and a "nuts and bolts" approach, this book describes the entire field of embedded controllers -- hardware, software, and interfacing -- using the Intel 8051 microcontroller as an example. The emphasis throughout is on interfacing the 8051 to real-world devices such as switches, displays, motors, A/D converters, etc. -- through both assembly language and C language programming.Provides abundant programming examples both in assembly language and in C throughout. Covers: Architecture of a Microcomputer; The 8051 Single-Chip Microcontroller; Interfacing: Hardware and Software; State Machines and Interrupt Timing; System Design Techniques; Project Design; Introduction to Assembly Languages; Mcs ® -- 51 Programmers Guide and Instruction Set; and ASCII and EBCDIC Tables. Provides extensive discussion of device characteristics as well as many typical interfaces, such as RS-232 and IEEE-488.A reference for anyone whose work requires familiarity with microcontrollers.
50 new design patterns for building time-triggered embedded systems with 8051 family processors. -- Designing in reliability without compromising time to market. -- Includes several detailed case studies. -- CD-ROM: Extensive C source code library, evaluation versions of Keil's industry-leading C compiler and hardware simulator, and much more. In embedded software development, maximizing response time and reliability is absolutely critical. In this book, Michael J. Pont introduces 50 powerful, proven design techniques ("patterns") for enhancing rapid development and reliability in embedded systems based on the popular 8051 microcontroller family. Demonstrating how system reliability can be "designed in" from the outset, Pont introduces embedded software techniques for developing LCD and LED displays; interfaces to switches and keypads; networking and communication protocols (including 1"2"C); control systems utilizing PD algorithms; working with neural networks, and more. After demonstrating why embedded systems that rely on interrupt inputs and multitasking operating environments are inherently less reliable, he shows how to restrict the use of interrupts to the generation of timing signals; and presents C-based cooperative schedulers that avoid reliability problems. Pont offers several detailed case studies, from a simple alarm clock to a complete intruder alarm system, as well as two automotive applications: cruise control and engine misfire detecti
* Presents a variety of complete embedded applications with design specifications, flow diagrams and source code with line-by-line explanation. * Includes discussion of the challenges of embedded development such as timing, processor clocks and virtual environment development. * The target platforms for embedded software are covered: microcontrollers (16 bit and 32 bit) as well as Digital Signal processors. After discussing the basic architecture of these processors, the specifics of archtecture are covered with special reference to 8051, ADSP 2181 and ARM processors. * An overview of the Operating systems (embedded, real time and moble Operating Systems)will be given with discussion on APIs for development of embedded software. The function calls in C/++ and Java will be illustrated with examples. * Line by line detailed analysis of the source code behind cutting-edge embedded applications including GPS, security systems, networked information appliances, cellular phones, embedded databases and wireless network devices. * Applications built on a variety of popular embedded operating systems including NT, LINUX and Java (J2ME). ABOUT THE CD-ROM CD ROM includes fully functioning IM systems built in the book, along with complete source code and additional 3rd party development tools.
Well known in this discipline to be the most concise yet adequate treatment of the subject matter, it provides just enough detail in a direct exposition of the 8051 microcontrollerrsquo;s internal hardware components.This book provides an introduction to microcontrollers, a hardware summary, and an instruction set summary. It covers timer operation, serial port operation, interrupt operation, assembly language programming, 8051 C programming, program structure and design, and tools and techniques for program development.For microprocessor programmers, electronic engineering specialist, computer scientists, or electrical engineers.
Multiplexed networks are essential for the unified, efficient and cost-effective exchange of electronic information within embedded component systems. This is especially important in automotive manufacturing as vehicles become increasingly reliant on robust electronic networks and systems for improved reliability, anti-lock brake systems (ABS), steering, on-board navigation systems, and much more. The latest systems such as X-by-Wire and FlexRay aim to produce faster, fault-tolerant network component interconnects, for state-of-the-art network implementation and safer, more reliable engineering of vehicular systems. This book provides a thorough and comprehensive introduction to automotive multiplexed network buses, covering the technical principles, components, implementation issues and applications. A valuable guide to embedded systems for a range of applications, Multiplexed Networks for Embedded Systems: CAN, LIN, FlexRay, Safe-by-Wire...is essential reading for electronics engineers and researchers developing electronics for the automotive industry. It is also useful for practising aerospace engineers and other practitioners interested in the application of network technologies, and advanced students taking courses on automotive and embedded system design. Key features:- Presents a thorough coverage of the controller area network (CAN) protocol, including information on physical layers, conformity problems, hardware and software tools, and application layers.Gives a detailed description of the new local interconnect network (LIN) bus, setting out its developments, properties, problems and ways to overcome these.Examines the existing and emerging network buses such as time-triggered CAN (TTCAN), FlexRay and X-by-Wire.Explores the possibilities for linking the various buses that are discussed, explaining how the Fail-Safe-System basis chip (SBC) and other gateways are designed and constructed.Analyses wired and wireless internal and external serial links, including Safe-by-Wire plus, I2C, Media Oriented Systems Transport (MOST), remote keyless entry, tyre pressure monitoring systems (TPMS) and Bluetooth.
This book covers the basics of the 8051 architecture & embedded system discusses the port system, the registers and the use of stack, external and internal memory management. The book will be useful for undergraduate students, and can be used by teachers as a quick reference source for practical applications, laboratory assignments, teaching aids, and exam questions.
Gain valuable assembly code programming knowledge with the help of this newly revised book. Readers will be trained on programming the Intel 8051 microcontroller, one of the most common microprocessors used in controls or instrumentation applications that use assembly code. The third edition teaches current principles of computer architecture including simulation and programming, with new state-of-the-art integrated development software that is included at the back of the book. The writing style engages readers and renders even complex topics easy to absorb. Practical examples of assembly code instructions illustrate how these instructions function. Complex hardware and software application examples are also provided.