It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
With the advancement of technology in intergrated circuits, instruments are becoming increasingly compact and accurate. This revision covers in detail the digital and microprocessor-based instruments. The systematic discussion of their working principle, operation, capabililties, and limitions will facilitate easy understanding of the instruments as well as guide the user select the right instrument for an application.
Electrical Measurements and Measuring Instruments by Rajendra Prasad
Operational amplifiers play a vital role in modern electronics design. The latest op amps have powerful new features, making them more suitable for use in many products requiring weak signal amplification, such as medical devices, communications technology, optical networks, and sensor interfacing. The Op Amp Applications Handbook may well be the ultimate op amp reference book available. This book is brimming with up-to-date application circuits, valuable design tips, and in-depth coverage of the latest techniques to simplify op amp circuit designs, and improve their performance. As an added bonus, a selection on the history of op amp development provides an extensive and expertly researched overview, of interest to anyone involved in this important area of electronics. * Seven major sections packed with technical information * Anything an engineer will want to know about designing with op amps can be found in this book * Op Amp Applications Handbook is a practical reference for a challenging engineering field.
Upon its initial publication, The Circuits and Filters Handbookbroke new ground. It quickly became the resource for comprehensive coverage of issues and practical information that can be put to immediate use. Not content to rest on his laurels, in addition to updating the second edition, editor Wai-Kai Chen divided it into tightly-focused texts that made the information easily accessible and digestible. These texts have been revised, updated, and expanded so that they continue to provide solid coverage of standard practices and enlightened perspectives on new and emerging techniques. Passive, Active, and Digital Filtersprovides an introduction to the characteristics of analog filters and a review of the design process and the tasks that need to be undertaken to translate a set of filter specifications into a working prototype. Highlights include discussions of the passive cascade synthesis and the synthesis of LCM and RC one-port networks; a summary of two-port synthesis by ladder development; a comparison of the cascade approach, the multiple-loop feedback topology, and ladder simulations; an examination of four types of finite wordlength effects; and coverage of methods for designing two-dimensional finite-extent impulse response (FIR) discrete-time filters. The book includes coverage of the basic building blocks involved in low- and high-order filters, limitations and practical design considerations, and a brief discussion of low-voltage circuit design. Revised Chapters: Sensitivity and Selectivity Switched-Capacitor Filters FIR Filters IIR Filters VLSI Implementation of Digital Filters Two-Dimensional FIR Filters Additional Chapters: 1-D Multirate Filter Banks Directional Filter Banks Nonlinear Filtering Using Statistical Signal Models Nonlinear Filtering for Image Denoising Video Demosaicking Filters This volume will undoubtedly take its place as the engineer's first choice in looking for solutions to problems encountered when designing filters.
* Covers all aspects of the data acquisition system from design and specification to programming, installation and configuration * Gives both the novice and experienced user a solid understanding of interfacing the PC and standalone instruments to real-world signals from the laboratory to the industrial plant * Provides a thorough grasp of PC data acquisition systems and the ability to design, specify, install and configure and program data acquisition systems quickly and effectively This book focuses on data acquisition and control using the PC and standalone instruments. The PC has made a dramatic impact in the ease with which the technician, scientist and engineer today can set up their own test and measurement system at a remarkably low cost. And this book aims to show you how easy it is with plenty of carefully researched information. The popular IEEE 488 interface is also covered. All aspects of the data acquisition system are included from design and specification to programming, installation and configuration. This book gives both the novice and experienced user a solid grasp of the principles and practical implementation of interfacing the PC and standalone instruments to real-world signals from the laboratory to the industrial plant. Once you have read the book, you will have a thorough grasp of PC data acquisition systems and will be able to design, specify, install and configure and program data acquisition systems quickly and effectively.
1. Philosophy of Measurement : Methods of Measurement; Measurement System; Classification of Instrument System; Characteristic of Instrument and Measurement System; Errors in Measurement and its Analysis; Standards. Analog Measurement of Electrical Quantities : Electrodynamic; Thermocouple Electrostatic and Rectifier Type Ammeters and Voltmeters; Electrodynamic wattmeter; Three Phase Wattmeter; Power in Three Phase System; Errors and Remedies in Wattmeter and Energy Meter 2. Instrument Transformer and Their Application in the Extension of Instrument Range; Introduction to Measurement of Speed; Frequency and Power Factor 3. Measurement of Parameter : Different Methods of Measuring Low; Medium and High Resistances; Measurement of Inductance and Capacitance With the Help of A.C. Bridge; Q Meter 4. A.C. Potentiometer : Polar Type and Co-ordinate Type A.C. Potentiometer; Application of A.C. Potentiometers in Electrical Measurement Magnetic Measurement : Ballistic Galvanometer; Flux Meter; Determination of Hysteresis Loop; Measurement of Iron Losses 5. Digital Measurement of Electrical Quantities : Concept of Digital Measurement; Block Diagram Study of Digital Voltmeter; Frequency Meter; Power Analyzer and Harmonics Analyzer; Electronic Multimeter. Cathode Ray Oscilloscope : Basic CRO Circuit (Block Diagram); Cathode Ray Tube (CRT) and its Component; Application of CRO in Measurement; Lissajous Pattern; Dual Trace and Dual Beam Oscilloscope
This text on electronic measurement and instrumentation treats the subject in a general way by concentrating on theoretical principles relevant to all measurements, for example electrical, thermal and mechanical. Dr Klaassen follows a system science approach rather than employing the more common method of instrument description. The author deals with all the fundamental aspects of measurement, for example, theory of measurement, systems of units, standards, measurement methods, data acquisition, sampling, multiplexing and aliasing. Also covered are more practical aspects of measurement, including transducers, interference, noise, AD and DA conversion and instrument data buses. This textbook is targeted at engineers and scientists in both industry and academia. It will be of particular interest to those active in the fields of electrical, mechanical and control engineering and will be widely used as a text for undergraduate courses.