Electromagnetic Theory (EKT 242/3)

Comprehensive, authoritative - and user-friendly! Whether you're a computer novice or a computer professional, Webster's New World Computer Dictionary is one of the most useful references you can buy. It gives you clear and concise definitions for more than 4,750 up-to-date computer terms, including 250 that are completely new to this edition. You'll find current coverage of the latest standards and protocols in storage, memory, peripherals, and more-plus updated and expanded information on computer security, legislation, and computer and Internet technology. Cross-referencing throughout directs you effortlessly to related terms and concepts that help you understand more about a given subject and put it into a larger context. From using e-mail and going on the Internet (attachment, computer virus, cookie, shopping cart) to buying or upgrading a computer (Ethernet, G4, Pentium 4, SDRAM) to boning up on terminology for a computer industry job (Advanced Encryption Standard, timecode editing, virtual private network), this invaluable resource gives you instant flip-and-find access to the information you need-from A (applet) to Z (zip drive).

Now in its fourth edition, this bestselling dictionary has been fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date dictionary of computing available. It provides comprehensive coverage of computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and thehome, making it ideal reference for students, teachers, professionals, and all computer users. * 6,000 entries - over 1,500 new for this edition * Full coverage of the Internet, World Wide Web, and multimedia * Reflects recent advances in all aspects of computing, especially in personal computing, computer graphics, networking, artificial intelligence, and computer security * New entries include browser, cybercafe, edutainment, freeware, hot link, Java, millennium bug, Quicktime, sniffer program, and spam

'Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering' includes over 460 A-to-Z articles addressing the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering, including standards, electronic commerce, financial engineering, and computer education.

With the emergence of many new branches of ethical debate and discourse in such areasas computer science, genetic engineering, and environmental sciences, there is anincreasing need for a reference work that clearly outlines the many ethical issues inscience and technology that have arisen in modern societies. Encyclopedia ofEthics in Science and Technology is the only single-volume resource to provideextensive coverage of such issues. Historically and internationally comprehensive, the encyclopedia features more than 400entries that describe the varied ethical controversies in science and technology: laws,precedent-setting cases, regulations, agencies and organizations, ethical principles,concepts, people, and important events. Also covered are phenomena that are at the fringesof science but have important ethical implications, including voodoo deaths andexperimental research into extrasensory perception (ESP). All entries are written in anobjective manner, allowing readers to reach an even-handed understanding of thesecontroversial issues. Coverage includes acid rain, Chernobyl nuclear accident, Darwin, electromagneticradiation, ethics of care, fraudulent research, genetic engineering, Internet andinformation ethics, lead poisoning and neurological problems, organ donation, plagiarism,Rousseau, Three Mile Island nuclear accident, and video games/desensitization to violence.