It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book provides a basic treatment of discrete-event simulation, including the proper collection and analysis of data, the use of analytic techniques, verification and validation of models, and designing simulation experiments.Contains up-to-date treatment of simulation of manufacturing and material handling systems. Includes numerous solved examples. Offers an integrated website. Explains how to interpret simulation software output.For those interested in learning more about discrete-event simulation.
This book provides state-of-the-art treatment of methodologies and applications of system simulation related to all disciplines that range from toll-plaza systems for highways and bridges, traffic light control in city planning and engineering, design of transistors, VLSI chips, and computer systems and networks to the design and optimization of the operation of aerodynamic, air traffic control, and space shuttle systems. In a series of structured and focused chapters written by leading international experts from academia, industry and government, this volume presents the fundamentals of system simulation along with the latest research results and applications.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Network models are critical tools in business, management, science and industry. Network Models and Optimization presents an insightful, comprehensive, and up-to-date treatment of multiple objective genetic algorithms to network optimization problems in many disciplines, such as engineering, computer science, operations research, transportation, telecommunication, and manufacturing. The book extensively covers algorithms and applications, including shortest path problems, minimum cost flow problems, maximum flow problems, minimum spanning tree problems, traveling salesman and postman problems, location-allocation problems, project scheduling problems, multistage-based scheduling problems, logistics network problems, communication network problem, and network models in assembly line balancing problems, and airline fleet assignment problems. The book can be used both as a student textbook and as a professional reference for practitioners who use network optimization methods to model and solve problems.
Network Optimization: Continuous and Discrete Models by Bertsekas, D. P.
This book addresses sophisticated modelling techniques from the perspective of the communications industry and covers some of the major issues facing telecommunications network engineers and managers today. Topics covered include network planning for transmission systems, modelling of SDH transport network structures and telecommunications network design and performance modelling, as well as network costs and ROI modelling and QoS in 3G networks.
This new book provides a clear and succinct introduction to telecommunications networks, including voice, data, and mobile cellular systems. It takes a non-technical approach to explain the vast variety of technologies and services available to users as a result of rapid growth and deregulation of the telecommunications business. You learn how the different technologies are structured, how telecommunication networks operate, and what options can be best utilized. You also gain insight into modern technologies and general trends in technical development.
"Meet the challenge of protecting your telecommunications network management system with SECURITY FOR TELECOMMUNICATIONS NETWORK MANAGEMENT. Leading expert Moshe Rozenblit explains pertinent security-related features to use in your products and offers practical solutions to enable you to plan, implement, and manage the evolution of your network security mechanisms and to better manage security components from several suppliers to ensure overall security of your network management. This book provides a comprehensive discussion of security for telecommunications network management including these featured topics: * Overview of network management for security professionals * Introduction to security mechanisms for network managers * A complete account of OSI-based security management * In-depth analysis of security operations for telecommunications networks * Insights into how to integrate security of network management, management of security-related information, and network operations * The latest security for all standard protocols used in network management: CMIP, CORBA, EDI, and SNMP * Astute comparison of security options and their tradeoffs. SECURITY FOR TELECOMMUNICATIONS NETWORK MANAGEMENT is intended to assist network architects, operations planners, system designers, software engineers, and operation systems developers in understanding and addressing the security implications of the telecommunications network (TMN) in the telecommunications industry, as well as in finance, large manufacturing, military, and government environments."