It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For undergraduates and professionals in computer science, computer engineering, and electrical engineering courses.¿ Learn the fundamentals of processor and computer design from the newest edition of this award-winning text. Four-time winner of the best Computer Science and Engineering textbook of the year award from the Textbook and Academic Authors Association, Computer Organization and Architecture: Designing for Performance provides a thorough discussion of the fundamentals of computer organization and architecture, covering not just processor design, but memory, I/O, and parallel systems.Coverage is supported by a wealth of concrete examples emphasizing modern systems.
Dealing with computer architecture as well as computer organization and design, this fully updated book provides the basic knowledge necessary to understand the hardware operation of digital computers. Written to aid electrical engineers, computer engineers, and computer scientists, the volume includes:KEY FEATURES:the computer architecture, organization, and design associated with computer hardware • the various digital components used in the organization and design of digital computers • detailed steps that a designer must go through in order to design an elementary basic computer • the organization and architecture of the central processing unit • the organization and architecture of input-output and memory • the concept of multiprocessing • two new chapters on pipeline and vector processing • two sections devoted completely to the reduced instruction set computer (RISC) • and sample worked-out problems to clarify topics.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
The sixth edition of this book covers the key topics in computer organization and embedded systems. It presents hardware design principles and shows how hardware design is influenced by the requirements of software. The book carefully explains the main principles supported by examples drawn from commercially available processors. The book is suitable for undergraduate electrical and computer engineering majors and computer science specialists. It is intended for a first course in computer organization and embedded systems.
Structured Computer Organization, specifically written for undergraduate students, is a best-selling guide that provides an accessible introduction to computer hardware and architecture. This text will also serve as a useful resource for all computer professionals and engineers who need an overview or introduction to computer architecture. This book takes a modern structured, layered approach to understanding computer systems. It's highly accessible - and it's been thoroughly updated to reflect today's most critical new technologies and the latest developments in computer organization and architecture. Tanenbaum's renowned writing style and painstaking research make this one of the most accessible and accurate books available, maintaining the author's popular method of presenting a computer as a series of layers, each one built upon the ones below it, and understandable as a separate entity.
Updated and revised to reflect the most current data in the field, perennial bestseller The Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture, Fourth Edition is comprehensive enough to address all necessary organization and architecture topics, but concise enough to be appropriate for a single-term course. Its focus on real-world examples and practical applications encourages students to develop a "big-picture" understanding of how essential organization and architecture concepts are applied in the computing world. In addition to direct correlation with the ACM/IEEE CS2013 guidelines for computer organization and architecture, the text exposes readers to the inner workings of a modern digital computer through an integrated presentation of fundamental concepts and principles.The fully revised and updated Fourth Edition includes the most up-to-the-minute data and resources available and reflects current technologies, including tablets and cloud computing. All-new exercises, expanded discussions, and feature boxes in every chapter implement even more real-world applications and current data, and many chapters include all-new examples. A full suite of student and instructor resources, including a secure companion website, Lecture Outlines in PowerPoint Format, and an Instructor Manual, complement the text. This award-winning, best-selling text is the most thorough, student-friendly, and accessible text on the market today.Key Features:* The Fourth Edition is in direct correlation with the ACM/IEEE CS2013 guidelines for computer organization and architecture, in addition to integrating material from additional knowledge units. * All-new material on a variety of topics, including zetabytes and yottabytes, automatons, tablet computers, graphic processing units, and cloud computing* The MARIE Simulator package allows students to learn the essential concepts of computer organization and architecture, including assembly language, without getting caught up in unnecessary and confusing details.* Full suite of ancillary materials, including a secure companion website, PowerPoint lecture outlines, and an Instructor Manual* Bundled with an optional Intel supplement* Ideally suited for single-term courses
Computer architecture deals with the physical configuration, logical structure, formats, protocols, and operational sequences for processing data, controlling the configuration, and controlling the operations over a computer. It also encompasses word lengths, instruction codes, and the interrelationships among the main parts of a computer or group of computers. This two-volume set offers a comprehensive coverage of the field of computer organization and architecture.
Essentials of Computer Architectureis ideal for undergraduate courses in computer architecture and organization. Douglas Comer takes a clear, concise approach to computer architecture that readers love. By exploring the fundamental concepts from a programmer ’s perspective and explaining programming consequences, this unique text covers exactly the material students need to understand and construct efficient and correct programs for modern hardware.