Computer Aided Drafting (CAD) (PLT 102/2)

Comprehensive, authoritative - and user-friendly! Whether you're a computer novice or a computer professional, Webster's New World Computer Dictionary is one of the most useful references you can buy. It gives you clear and concise definitions for more than 4,750 up-to-date computer terms, including 250 that are completely new to this edition. You'll find current coverage of the latest standards and protocols in storage, memory, peripherals, and more-plus updated and expanded information on computer security, legislation, and computer and Internet technology. Cross-referencing throughout directs you effortlessly to related terms and concepts that help you understand more about a given subject and put it into a larger context. From using e-mail and going on the Internet (attachment, computer virus, cookie, shopping cart) to buying or upgrading a computer (Ethernet, G4, Pentium 4, SDRAM) to boning up on terminology for a computer industry job (Advanced Encryption Standard, timecode editing, virtual private network), this invaluable resource gives you instant flip-and-find access to the information you need-from A (applet) to Z (zip drive).

With over 10,000 entries providing contemporary coverage of computing terms, this fully revised edition of Dictionary of Computing; provides coverage of the terms used in computing, including hardware, software, programme languages, networks and applications, e-commerce and the Internet. Its definitions are easy to understand for readers without a background in computing and to non-native English speakers. Supplements include tables of codes and programming languages. Each entry includes an example sentence to show how the term is used in context, with quotations from magazines and newspapers to show how terms are used in real life.

Now in its fifth edition, this bestselling dictionary has been fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date dictionary of computing available. It provides comprehensive coverage of computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home, and is an ideal reference book for students, teachers, professionals, and all computer users. - Over 6,500 entries, many new for this edition - Full coverage of the Internet, World Wide Web, and multimedia - Reflects recent advances in all aspects of computing, especially in personal computing, computer graphics, networking, artificial intelligence, and computer security

A complete lexicon of technical information, the Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering, and Technology provides workable definitions, practical information, and enhances general computer science and engineering literacy. It spans various disciplines and industry sectors such as: telecommunications, information theory, and software and hardware systems. If you work with, or write about computers, this dictionary is the single most important resource you can put on your shelf. The dictionary addresses all aspects of computing and computer technology from multiple perspectives, including the academic, applied, and professional vantage points. Including more than 8,000 terms, it covers all major topics from artificial intelligence to programming languages, from software engineering to operating systems, and from database management to privacy issues. The definitions provided are detailed rather than concise. Written by an international team of over 80 contributors, this is the most comprehensive and easy-to-read reference of its kind. If you need to know the definition of anything related to computers you will find it in the Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering, and Technology.

Computers are more prevalent in our daily lives than ever before, yet many people are unfamiliar with the concepts and technology of computer science. The Facts On File Dictionary of Computer Science provides more than 1,600 entries that explain such fundamental concepts as hardware, software, and applications. It also defines terms associated with the latest technology and advancements, such as artificial intelligence and palmtop computers. The dictionary is a valuable resource for new computer users, students, teachers, and computer professionals.

TheEncyclopedia of Computers and Computer Historyprovides a complete A-to-Z reference guide to computers, their development, and their usage in today's world. Beginning with "Abacus," this two-volume set provides over 900 pages of facts, definitions, biographies, histories, and explanations of a remarkable variety of computer-related subjects. TheEncyclopedia's 600 entries--many of which represent the first reference treatment of their subjects--address the diverse topics that form the backbone of the information revolution. Entries include essays on major corporations, computing machines, software, networking, computing concepts, research, laboratories, and pioneering individuals in computing history. In addition to these essays, each entry is also followed by a helpful list of further reading on that subject. Contributors to theEncyclopediarepresent a wide cross-section of accomplished scholars in the fields of computer science and scientific history. Theirinformative, accessible essays enable readers to learn about computer history in a non-intimidating way. An invaluable addition to any library collection, theEncyclopedia of Computers and Computer Historyis an indispensable resource for undergraduates, graduate students, and anybody with an interest in, or question about, computers.

This truly is an encyclopedia computer reference with a grand total of over 10,000 terms. These terms include Internet & World Wide Web terms, new telecommunications technologies & vendors, & more. Included is a CD-ROM that provides browsing capabilities in a multimedia format.