Manufacturing Process II (EPT 282/3): Electronic Books

The book series on manufacturing processes for engineers by Klocke is a reference for scientific and industrial experts. The compendium presents an overall picture of the most common machining and non-machining manufacturing processes.This volume on Grinding, Honing and Lapping starts from the basics of cutting edge engagement during grinding including chip formation, forces involved and energy distribution, as well as the wear of grinding grits. The characteristics of abrasive tools, their design and manufacturing are described, followed by the fundamentals of grinding fluids. Grinding of different materials (steel, cast iron, hard and brittle materials, nickel and titanium) is treated in-depth. Different grinding processes and their kinematic characteristics are then presented in detail. The parameters of different grinding procedures, references to process implementations as well as typical industrial applications are likewise specified. Besides honing and lapping, practical insights into polishing are provided. Special abrasive processes are presented including ultrasound assisted grinding and cutting with geometrically undefined cutting edges. Finally, monitoring systems for process control are discussed considering their increasing relevance and application in industrial manufacturing.The book is a comprehensive treatment of abrasive processes. It appears in the RWTH Edition Series as part of a 4 volume reference work.

Let our teams of experts help you to stay competitive in a global marketplace. It is every company's goal to build the highest quality goods at the lowest price in the shortest time possible. With theManufacturing Engineering Handbookyou'll have access to information on conventional and modern manufacturing processes and operations management that you didn't have before. For example, if you are a manufacturing engineer responding to a request for proposal (RFP), you will find everything you need for estimating manufacturing cost, labor cost and overall production cost by turning to chapter 2, section 2.5, the manufacturing estimating section. The handbook will even outline the various manufacturing processes for you. If you are a plant engineer working in an automotive factory and find yourself in the hot working portion of the plant, you should look up section 6 on hot work and forging processing. You will find it very useful for learning the machines and processes to get the job done. Likewise, if you are a Design Engineer and need information regarding hydraulics, generators & transformers, turn to chapter 3, section 3.2.3, and you’ll find generators & transformers. Covering topics from engineering mathematics to warehouse management systems,Manufacturing Engineering Handbookis the most comprehensive single-source guide to Manufacturing Engineering ever published.

A practical guide to semiconductor manufacturing from process control to yield modeling and experimental design Fundamentals of Semiconductor Manufacturing and Process Control covers all issues involved in manufacturing microelectronic devices and circuits, including fabrication sequences, process control, experimental design, process modeling, yield modeling, and CIM/CAM systems. Readers are introduced to both the theory and practice of all basic manufacturing concepts. Following an overview of manufacturing and technology, the text explores process monitoring methods, including those that focus on product wafers and those that focus on the equipment used to produce wafers. Next, the text sets forth some fundamentals of statistics and yield modeling, which set the foundation for a detailed discussion of how statistical process control is used to analyze quality and improve yields. The discussion of statistical experimental design offers readers a powerful approach for systematically varying controllable process conditions and determining their impact on output parameters that measure quality. The authors introduce process modeling concepts, including several advanced process control topics such as run-by-run, supervisory control, and process and equipment diagnosis. Critical coverage includes the following: * Combines process control and semiconductor manufacturing * Unique treatment of system and software technology and management of overall manufacturing systems * Chapters include case studies, sample problems, and suggested exercises * Instructor support includes electronic copies of the figures and an instructor's manual Graduate-level students and industrial practitioners will benefit from the detailed exami'nation of how electronic materials and supplies are converted into finished integrated circuits and electronic products in a high-volume manufacturing environment. An Instructor's Manual presenting detailed solutions to all the problems in the book is available from the Wiley editorial department. An Instructor Support FTP site is also available.

"Materials Science in Manufacturing" focuses on materials science and materials processing primarily for engineering and technology students preparing for careers in manufacturing. The text also serves as a useful reference on materials science for the practitioner engaged in manufacturing as well as the beginning graduate student.Integrates theoretical understanding and current practices to provide a resource for students preparing for advanced study or career in industry. Also serves as a useful resource to the practitioner who works with diverse materials and processes, but is not a specialist in materials science. This book covers a wider range of materials and processes than is customary in the elementary materials science books.This book covers a wider range of materials and processes than is customary in the elementary materials science books.

Mass customization (MC) has been hailed as a successful operations strategy across manufacturing and service industries for the past three decades. However, the wider implications of using MC approaches in the broader industrial and economic environment are not yet clearly understood. Mass Customization: Engineering and Managing Global Operations presents emerging research on the role of MC and personalization in today s international operations context. The chapters cover MC in the context of global industrial economics and operations. Moreover, the book discusses MC topics that are relevant to the manufacturing and service sectors, such as: product platforms; learning curve modeling; additive manufacturing; and service customization. Case studies in manufacturing (e.g., apparel and transportation) and services (e.g., banking and virtual worlds) are also included. Mass Customization: Engineering and Managing Global Operations is a valuable text for mass customization researchers and practitioners. Researchers will find a selection of chapters prepared by internationally renowned authors, comprising most of their recent research in MC. Engineering professionals will be drawn by the vivid discussion of operational aspects and methods of MC, as well as by the selection of cases illustrating their practical application.

"Introduction to Materials Management, Fourth Edition, is an introductory text that describes the basics of supply chain management, manufacturing planning and control systems, purchasing, and physical distribution. Designed to help students learn the subject, the text is written in simple, straightforward language."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Buildings and infrastructure represent principal assets of any national economy as well as prime sources of environmental degradation. Making them more sustainable represents a key challenge for the construction, planning and design industries and governments at all levels; and the rapid urbanisation of the 21stcentury has turned this into a global challenge. This book embodies the results of a major research programme by members of the Australia Co-operative Research Centre for Construction Innovation and its global partners, presented for an international audience of construction researchers, senior professionals and advanced students. It covers four themes, applied to regeneration as well as to new build, and within the overall theme of Innovation: Sustainable Materials and Manufactures, focusing on building material products, their manufacture and assembly – and the reduction of their ecological ‘fingerprints’, the extension of their service lives, and their re-use and recyclability. It also explores the prospects for applying the principles of the assembly line. Virtual Design, Construction and Management, viewed as increasing sustainable development through automation, enhanced collaboration (such as virtual design teams), real time BL performance assessment during design, simulation of the construction process, life-cycle management of project information (zero information loss) risk minimisation, and increased potential for innovation and value adding. Integrating Design, Construction and Facility Management over the Project Life Cycle, by converging ICT, design science engineering and sustainability science. Integration across spatial scales, enabling building–infrastructure synergies (such as water and energy efficiency). Convergences between IT and design and operational processes are also viewed as a key platform increased sustainability.