It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Offering step-by-step, in-depth coverage, the new Third Edition of Power Electronics: Converters, Applications, and Design provides a cohesive presentation of power electronics fundamentals for applications and design in the power range of 500 kW or less. The text describes a variety of practical and emerging power electronic converters made feasible by the new generation of power semiconductor devices. The new edition is now enhanced with a new CD-ROM, complete with PSpice-based examples, a new magnetics design program, and PowerPoint slides.
This text provides a broad and balanced coverage of circuits, applications and effects of power semiconductor device usage on the supply and utilization of electricity.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
This book is intended to be an introductory text in power electronics, primarily for the undergraduate electrical engineering student. The text assumes that the student is familiar with general circuit analysis techniques usually taught at the sophomore level. The student should be acquainted with electronic devices such as diodes and transistors, but the emphasis of the text is on circuit topology and function rather than on devices.
Power electronic circuits for modern industrial applications Offering a remarkable variety of exercises, examples, and problems, including design-oriented problems, Issa Batarseh's POWER ELECTRONIC CIRCUITS will help you develop the skills and knowledge you need to analyze and design power electronic circuits for modern industrial applications. Batarseh presents detailed explanations of circuit operations, clear discussions of the theory behind power electronic circuits, and an effective problem-solving approach. The text first prepares you with necessary background material on devices, switching circuit analysis techniques, and converter types and methods of conversion, and then covers high-frequency non-isolated dc-to-dc converters, isolated dc-to-dc converters, and resonant soft-switching converters. The final chapters address traditional diode and SCR converters and dc-ac inverters. Highlights * Each chapter features at least 10 exercises, which will help you understand basic concepts, equations, and circuit operations. * Throughout the text, more than 250 problems of varying levels of difficulty give you the opportunity to use what you've learned. * Special design problems (highlighted with a "D") offer open-ended opportunities to apply design techniques. * Solved examples help you refine your problem-solving skills. * Introductory material on devices, switching circuit analysis techniques, and converter types provides the background you need to understand power electronics concepts. * Features detailed discussion on resonant and soft-switching dc-to-dc converters. * Provides a simplified discussion of Pulse Wide Modulation (PWM) Technique. * A Web site is provided with detailed lecture notes and practice quizzes.
Power electronics is a broad subject that deals with every aspect of electronic systems and devices. Any computer, machine, controller, game, etc., that is available today is dependent on the power electronics in those systems and devices to operate. Power electronics systems deal with the process of converting electrical power from one form to another. Power Electronics Handbook is specifically designed for the professional engineer in industry and includes contributions of over 60 authors primarily from industry. Power electronics is most frequently thought of because of its importance in supplying and converting an uninterruptable power supply to computers. The growth in computational power, communications applications, data storage, and memory systems has put the common layperson directly in contact with power engineering devices and challenges such as surge protectors and power failures. However, the field of power electronics is involved in all electronic devices and sytems. Examples include residential (refrigeration, heating, cooking, audio/video), commercial (lighting, office equipment, elevators), industrial (pumps, compressors, fans, robots, lasers, welding), transportation (automotive electronics, electric trains, battery chargers), and telecommunications (battery chargers, power supplies). All engineers involved with system and device design must deal with the fundamentals and advances of power electronics. This Handbook is the result of an intensive search to develop a new major reference for this large professional market. All aspects of AC and DC power conversion are addressed and there is an emphasis on the design process throughout as well as safety and reliability. This is the most comprehensive treatment of all aspects of power electronics ever presented in one volume at such a reasonable price.
Less expensive, lighter, and smaller than its electromechanical counterparts, power electronics lie at the very heart of controlling and converting electric energy, which in turn lies at the heart of making that energy useful. From household appliances to space-faring vehicles, the applications of power electronics are virtually limitless. Until now, however, the same could not be said for access to up-to-date reference books devoted to power electronics. Written by engineers for engineers, The Power Electronics Handbook covers the full range of relevant topics, from basic principles to cutting-edge applications. Compiled from contributions by an international panel of experts and full of illustrations, this is not a theoretical tome, but a practical and enlightening presentation of the usefulness and variety of technologies that encompass the field. For modern and emerging applications, power electronic devices and systems must be small, efficient, lightweight, controllable, reliable, and economical. The Power Electronics Handbook is your key to understanding those devices, incorporating them into controllable circuits, and implementing those systems into applications from virtually every area of electrical engineering.
Power Electronics is intended to be an introductory text in power electronics, primarily for the undergraduate electrical engineering student. The text is written for some flexibility in the order of the topics. Much of the text includes computer simulation using PSpice as a supplement to analytical circuit solution techniques.
Building on solid state device and electromagnetic contributions to the series, this text book introduces modern power electronics, that is the application of semiconductor devices to the control and conversion of electrical power. The increased availability of solid state power switches has created a very rapid expansion in applications, from the relatively low power control of domestic equipment, to high power control of industrial processes and very high power control along transmission lines. This text provides a comprehensive introduction to the entire range of devices and examines their applications, assuming only the minimum mathematical and electronic background. It covers a full year's course in power electronics. Numerous exercises, worked examples and self assessments are included to facilitate self study and distance learning.