It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For both introductory and advanced courses in VLSI design, this authoritative, comprehensive textbook is highly accessible to beginners, yet offers unparalleled breadth and depth for more experienced readers. The Fourth Edition ofCMOS VLSI Design: A Circuits and Systems perspectivepresents broad and in-depth coverage of the entire field of modern CMOS VLSI Design. The authors draw upon extensive industry and classroom experience to introduce today’s most advanced and effective chip design practices. They present extensively updated coverage of every key element of VLSI design, and illuminate the latest design challenges with 65 nm process examples. This book contains unsurpassed circuit-level coverage, as well as a rich set of problems and worked examples that provide deep practical insight to readers at all levels.
Progressive in content and form, this practical book successfully bridges the gap between the circuit perspective and system perspective of digital integrated circuit design.Digital Integrated Circuitsmaintains a consistent, logical flow of subject matter throughout.Addresses today's most significant and compelling industry topics, including: the impact of interconnect, design for low power, issues in timing and clocking, design methodologies, and the tremendous effect of design automation on the digital design perspective.For readers interested in digital circuit design.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Reuse Methodology Manual for System-on-a-Chip Designs, Third Edition outlines a set of best practices for creating reusable designs for use in an SoC design methodology. These practices are based on the authors' experience in developing reusable designs, as well as the experience of design teams in many companies around the world. Silicon and tool technologies move so quickly that many of the details of design-for-reuse will undoubtedly continue to evolve over time. But the fundamental aspects of the methodology described in this book have become widely adopted and are likely to form the foundation of chip design for some time to come. Development methodology necessarily differs between system designers and processor designers, as well as between DSP developers and chipset developers. However, there is a common set of problems facing everyone who is designing complex chips. In response to these problems, design teams have adopted a block-based design approach that emphasizes design reuse. Reusing macros (sometimes called "cores") that have already been designed and verified helps to address all of the problems above. However, in adopting reuse-based design, design teams have run into a significant problem. Reusing blocks that have not been explicitly designed for reuse has often provided little or no benefit to the team. The effort to integrate a pre-existing block into new designs can become prohibitively high, if the block does not provide the right views, the right documentation, and the right functionality. From this experience, design teams have realized that reuse-based design requires an explicit methodology for developing reusable macros that are easy to integrate into SoC designs. This manual focuses on describing these techniques. Features of the Third Edition: Up to date; State of the art; Reuse as a solution for circuit designers; A chronicle of "best practices"; All chapters updated and revised; Generic guidelines - non tool specific; Emphasis on hard IP and physical design.
From the reviews: "This book crystallizes what may become a defining moment in the electronics industry - the shift to platform-based design. It provides the first comprehensive guidebook for those who will build, and use, the integration platforms that may soon drive the system-on-chip revolution." Electronic Engineering Times
A new edition of this title is available, ISBN-10: 0137145004 ISBN-13: 9780137145003 For Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering courses that cover the design and technology of very large scale integrated (VLSI) circuits and systems. May also be used as a VLSI reference for professional VLSI design engineers, VLSI design managers, and VLSI CAD engineers.Modern VSLI Design provides a comprehensive “bottom-up” guide to the design of VSLI systems, from the physical design of circuits through system architecture with focus on the latest solution for system-on-chip (SOC) design. Because VSLI system designers face a variety of challenges that include high performance, interconnect delays, low power, low cost, and fast design turnaround time, successful designers must understand the entire design process. The Third Edition also provides a much more thorough discussion of hardware description languages, with introduction to both Verilog and VHDL. For that reason, this book presents the entire VSLI design process in a single volume.
Any textbook more than five years old simply won't do in digital integrated circuits, as dynamic CMOS circuits have emerged to dominate the field. Providing a revised instructional text for engineers involved with Very Large Scale Integrated Circuit design and fabrication, this second edition delves into the dramatic advances, including new applications and changes in the physics of operation made possible by relentless miniaturization. Each chapter includes numerous worked examples, case studies and SPICE computer simulations. The book's website offers supplementary material and more worked problems. Qualifying instructors will have access to a new instructor's manual.
Contains the most extensive coverage of digital integrated circuits available in a single source. Provides complete qualitative descriptions of circuit operation followed by in-depth analytical analyses and spice simulations. The circuit families described in detail are transistor-transistor logic (TTL, STTL, and ASTTL), emitter-coupled logic (ECL), NMOS logic, CMOS logic, dynamic CMOS, BiCMOS structures and various GASFET technologies. In addition to detailed presentation of the basic inverter circuits for each digital logic family, complete details of other logic circuits for these families are presented.
With this revision, Weste conveys an understanding of CMOS technology, circuit design, layout, and system design sufficient to the designer. The book deals with the technology down to the layout level of detail, thereby providing a bridge from a circuit to a form that may be fabricated. The early chapters provide a circuit view of the CMOS IC design, the middle chapters cover a sub-system view of CMOS VLSI, and the final section illustrates these techniques using a real-world case study.