It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Intended as a textbook for "applied" or engineering thermodynamics, or as a reference for practicing engineers, the book uses extensive in-text, solved examples and computer simulations to cover the basic properties of thermodynamics. Pure substances, the first and second laws, gases, psychrometrics, the vapor, gas and refrigeration cycles, heat transfer, compressible flow, chemical reactions, fuels, and more are presented in detail and enhanced with practical applications. This version presents the material using SI Units and has ample material on SI conversion, steam tables, and a Mollier diagram. A CD-ROM, included with the print version of the text, includes a fully functional version of QuickField (widely used in industry), as well as numerous demonstrations and simulations with MATLAB, and other third party software.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Confusing Textbooks? Missed Lectures? Tough Test Questions? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved.
Take the heat off of understanding thermodynamics Now you can get much-needed relief from the pressure of learning the fundamentals of thermodynamics! This practical guide helps you truly comprehend this challenging engineering topic while sharpening your problem-solving skills. Written in an easy-to-follow format,Thermodynamics Demystified begins by reviewing basic principles and discussing the properties of pure substances. The book goes on to cover laws of thermodynamics, power and refrigeration cycles, psychrometrics, combustion, and much more. Hundreds of worked examples and equations make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and two final exams help reinforce learning. This hands-on, self-teaching text offers: Numerous figures to illustrate key concepts Details on the first and second laws of thermodynamics Coverage of vapor and gas cycles, psychrometrics, and combustion An overview of heat transfer SI units throughout A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student,Thermodynamics Demystified is your shortcut to mastering this essential engineering subject.
Now in a Sixth Edition, Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics maintains its engaging, readable style while presenting a broader range of applications that motivate student understanding of core thermodynamics concepts. This leading text uses many relevant engineering-based situations to help students model and solve problems.
Revised, updated, and rewritten where necessary, but keeping the clear writing and organizational style that made previous editions so popular, Elements of Environmental Engineering: Thermodynamics and Kinetics, Third Edition contains new problems and new examples that better illustrate theory. The new edition contains examples with practical flavor such as global warming, ozone layer depletion, nanotechnology, green chemistry, and green engineering. With detailed theoretical discussion and principles illuminated by numerical examples, this book fills the gaps in coverage of the principles and applications of kinetics and thermodynamics in environmental engineering and science. New topics covered include: Green Chemistry and Engineering Biological Processes Life Cycle Analysis Global Climate Change The author discusses the applications of thermodynamics and kinetics and delineates the distribution of pollutants and the interrelationships between them. His demonstration of the theoretical foundations of chemical property estimations gives students an in depth understanding of the limitations of thermodynamics and kinetics as applied to environmental fate and transport modeling and separation processes for waste treatment. His treatment of the material underlines the multidisciplinary nature of environmental engineering. This book isnbsp;unusual in environmental engineering since it deals exclusively with the applications of chemical thermodynamics and kinetics in environmental processes. The book's multimedia approach to fate and transport modeling and in pollution control design options provides a science and engineering treatment of environmental problems.
Introduction to Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, 7/e, presents comprehensive coverage of the subject of thermodynamics from a chemical engineering viewpoint. The text provides a thorough exposition of the principles of thermodynamics and details their application to chemical processes. The chapters are written in a clear, logically organized manner, and contain an abundance of realistic problems, examples, and illustrations to help students understand complex concepts. New ideas, terms, and symbols constantly challenge the readers to think and encourage them to apply this fundamental body of knowledge to the solution of practical problems. The comprehensive nature of this book makes it a useful reference both in graduate courses and for professional practice. The seventh edition continues to be an excellent tool for teaching the subject of chemical engineering thermodynamics to undergraduate students.
Chemical Process and Thermodynamics by Benjamin Kyle
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
"The first chemical engineering thermodynamics text for the computer age. Chemical and Process Thermodynamics, Third Edition is an example-rich guide to chemical engineering thermodynamics that focuses on current techniques, new applications, and today's revolutionary computerized tools. You'll discover both the "how" and "why" of chemical engineering thermodynamics, and improve your problem-solving effectiveness with an extensive collection of sophisticated PC software. In this book/CD-ROM package, the software isn't just a useful adjunct: its use is thoroughly integrated into the text and amply illustrated with worked examples." "This brand-new Third Edition reflects newly-developed techniques and applications, includes a treatment of complex chemical equilibria, and contains a new chapter on the philosophy and practice of modeling thermodynamic systems. With many examples and over 500 problems, Chemical and Process Thermodynamics, Third Edition is the text of choice for professional chemical engineers, graduate and undergraduate students alike."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved