It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This clear, comprehensive presentation discusses both the theory and applications of mechanics of materials. It examines the physical behavior of materials under load, then proceeds to model this behavior to development theory.Containing Hibbeler hallmark student-oriented features, this book is in four-color with a photorealistic art program designed to help students/readers visualize difficult concepts. A clear, concise writing style and more examples than any other book further contribute to students /readers ability to master the material.A useful, thorough reference for engineers and students.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
This book provides a systematic, modern introduction to solid mechanics that is carefully motivated by realistic Engineering applications. Based on 25 years of teaching experience, Raymond Parnes uses a wealth of examples and a rich set of problems to build the reader's understanding of the scientific principles, without requiring 'higher mathematics'.Highlights of the book include The use of modern SI units throughout A thorough presentation of the subject stressing basic unifying concepts Comprehensive coverage, including topics such as the behaviour of materials on a phenomenological level Over 600 problems, many of which are designed for solving with MATLAB, MAPLE or MATHEMATICA. Solid Mechanics in Engineering is designed for 2-semester courses in Solid Mechanics or Strength of Materials taken by students in Mechanical, Civil or Aeronautical Engineering and Materials Science and may also be used for a first-year graduate program.
Applications of the principles of mechanics of materials have increased considerably over the last 25 years. Today's routine industrial practices and techniques were only esoteric research topics just a few years ago. That research is now relevant to such diverse but commonplace applications as electronic packaging, medical implantation, geology (seismic prediction), and engineered wood products. It is in this rapidly changing world that Madhukar Vable'sMechanics of Materialstakes its place as a standard text for civil, mechanical, and aerospace engineering majors, as well as for any other engineering discipline that includes mechanics of materials as a basic course. Vable's distinct pedagogical approach translates into exceptional features that enhance student participation in learning. It assumes a complementary connection between intuition, experimental observation, and mathematical generalization, suggesting that intuitive development and understanding need not be at odds with mathematical logic, rigor, and generalization. This approach also emphasizes engineering practice without distracting from the main point of the text. With strong practical examples and real-life engineering problems praised by reviewers,Mechanics of Materialspromises to provide the skills and principles that students need to organize, integrate, and make sense of the flood of information emerging in the world of modern engineering. Pedagogical Features Overview:Each chapter begins with a conciseOverviewthat describes the motivation and major learning objective behind the chapter. Points and Formulas to Remember:Each chapter ends with a convenient one-page synopsis of essential topics. Plans and Comments:Every example starts with a Plan for solving the problem and ends with Comments that connect the example with previous and future concepts in the text, putting examples firmly into context within the field of mechanics. Quick Tests:Quick Testshelp students effectively diagnose their own understanding of text material. Consolidate Your Knowledge:These boxes follow major topics and prompt students to write a synopsis of or derive a formula for material just covered, encouraging development of personal reasoning skills.General Information:These intriguing sections connect historical development and advanced topics to material in each chapter.Stretch Yourself":Problems labeled "Stretch Yourself" contain important reference material that will be useful to students as future engineers.Closure:Every chapter closes with helpful links to topics in subsequent chapters.Formula Sheet:These useful sheets are found inside the back cover of the book for easy reference. They list equations of essential topics but include no explanations of variables and equations, making them perfect for use during exams.
The second edition of MECHANICS OF MATERIALS by Pytel and Kiusalaas is a concise examination of the fundamentals of Mechanics of Materials. The book maintains the hallmark organization of the previous edition as well as the time-tested problem solving methodology, which incorporates outlines of procedures and numerous sample problems to help ease students through the transition from theory to problem analysis. Emphasis is placed on giving students the introduction to the field that they need along with the problem-solving skills that will help them in their subsequent studies. This is demonstrated in the text by the presentation of fundamental principles before the introduction of advanced/special topics.
An intuition-fostering overview of the engineering design implications of advanced strength of materials. Links concepts and theories of mechanics with realistic applications taken directly from day-to-day civil aerospace, and mechanical engineering practice. Filled with numerous applied engineering examples that give readers an insider's feel for mechanical concepts--includes coverage of Finite Element Methods.
Modern computer simulations make stress analysis easy. As they continue to replace classical mathematical methods of analysis, these software programs require users to have a solid understanding of the fundamental principles on which they are based. Develop Intuitive Ability to Identify and Avoid Physically Meaningless Predictions Applied Mechanics of Solidsis a powerful tool for understanding how to take advantage of these revolutionary computer advances in the field of solid mechanics. Beginning with a description of the physical and mathematical laws that govern deformation in solids, the text presents modern constitutive equations, as well as analytical and computational methods of stress analysis and fracture mechanics. It also addresses the nonlinear theory of deformable rods, membranes, plates, and shells, and solutions to important boundary and initial value problems in solid mechanics. The author uses the step-by-step manner of a blackboard lecture to explain problem solving methods, often providing the solution to a problem before its derivation is presented. This format will be useful for practicing engineers and scientists who need a quick review of some aspect of solid mechanics, as well as for instructors and students. Select and Combine Topics Using Self-Contained Modules and Subsections Borrowing from the classical literature on linear elasticity, plasticity, and structural mechanics, this book: Introduces concepts, analytical techniques, and numerical methods used to analyze deformation, stress, and failure in materials or components Discusses the use of finite element software for stress analysis Assesses simple analytical solutions to explain how to set up properly posed boundary and initial-value problems Provides an understanding of algorithms implemented in software code Complemented by the author "s website, which features problem sets and sample code for self study, this book offers a crucial overview of problem solving for solid mechanics. It will help readers make optimal use of commercial finite element programs to achieve the most accurate prediction results possible.
Engineering Solid Mechanics bridges the gap between elementary approac hes to strength of materials and more advanced, specialized versions o n the subject. The book provides a basic understanding of the fundame ntals of elasticity and plasticity, applies these fundamentals to solv e analytically a spectrum of engineering problems, and introduces adva nced topics of mechanics of materials - including fracture mechanics, creep, superplasticity, fiber reinforced composites, powder compacts, and porous solids.
Unique within the field for being written in a tutorial style, this textbook adopts a step-by-step approach to the background needed for understanding a wide range of full-field optical measurement techniques in solid mechanics. This method familiarizes readers with the essentials of imaging and full-field optical measurement techniques, helping them to identify the appropriate techniques and in assessing measurement systems. In addition, readers learn the appropriate rules of thumb as a guide to better experimental performance from the applied techniques. Rather than presenting an exhaustive overview on the subject, each chapter provides a concise introduction to the concepts and principles, integrates solved problems within the text, summarizes the essence at the end, and includes unsolved problems. With its coverage of topics also relevant for industry, this text is aimed at graduate students, researchers, and engineers involved in non-destructive testing for acoustics, mechanics, medicine, diagnosis on artwork and construction, and civil engineering.
Massey has long been a best-selling textbook. This extensively revised and updated eighth edition, like its predecessors, presents the basic principles of the mechanics of fluids in a thorough and clear manner. It provides the essential material for an honours degree course in civil or mechanical engineering, in addition to providing much relevant material for undergraduate courses in aeronautical and chemical engineering. Emphasis is given to a sound physical understanding of fluid flow and its engineering applications, rather than to mathematical techniques. Students are introduced systematically to the subject, with the text moving from the simple to the complex, and from the familiar to the unfamiliar. SI units are used throughout and there are many worked examples. The book is essentially self-contained. The opening chapter has been expanded to provide a broader introduction to fluid mechanics. New topics for this edition include basic applications of complex variable theory, the physics of tsunamis, procedures for the selection of pumps and fans, and the losses for flow through nozzles, orifice meters, perforated plates and gauzes. For lecturers, an accompanying solutions manual is available.
Mechanics of Solids and Materials intends to provide a modern and integrated treatment of the foundations of solid mechanics as applied to the mathematical description of material behavior. The 2006 book blends both innovative (large strain, strain rate, temperature, time dependent deformation and localized plastic deformation in crystalline solids, deformation of biological networks) and traditional (elastic theory of torsion, elastic beam and plate theories, contact mechanics) topics in a coherent theoretical framework. The extensive use of transform methods to generate solutions makes the book also of interest to structural, mechanical, and aerospace engineers. Plasticity theories, micromechanics, crystal plasticity, energetics of elastic systems, as well as an overall review of math and thermodynamics are also covered in the book.