It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A modern, all-inclusive look at manufacturing In this modern, quantitative approach to manufacturing, Mikell Groover offers balanced coverage of the three basic engineering materials--metals, ceramics, polymers, as well as composites--along with recently developed manufacturing processes and electronics manufacturing technologies. Throughout Fundamentals of Modern Manufacturing, the emphasis is on manufacturing science and quantitative analysis of manufacturing processes. This emphasis helps students understand the relationships among the material properties and the process variables in a given manufacturing process. Now updated and revised, this Third Edition of Fundamentals of Modern Manufacturing features: * New chapter on Nanofabrication Technologies, which describes the importance of nanotechnology and future commercial products that will be made possible by this technology. * Updated chapter on Microfabrication Technologies with new material describing how compact discs are produced. * More than 1700 end-of-chapter review questions, multiple-choice quiz questions, and quantitative analysis problems, including many new questions and problems in this edition. See manufacturing processes in action with SME videos! This text is packaged with a DVD based on the Society of Manufacturing Engineers' Fundamental Manufacturing Processes video series. The DVD contains brief video clips that promote visualization of key manufacturing processes. Chapters in the text include references to the videos, and several new end-of-chapter questions relate to the videos.
The book describes both time-tested and modern methods of manufacturing engineering materials. The book's popularity is due to its complete coverage and the author's writing style. FEATURES/BENEFITS NEW--New chapter on Rapid Prototyping (Ch. 19). NEW--Every chapter has been reviewed and updated. Every bibliography has been revised, new examples from industry have been added, and over 30% of the problems are new. Superior use of analogies, discussions and problems. Motivates interest in the subject. Excellent overview of manufacturing concepts is provided with a balance of relevant fundamentals and real-world practice. Covers the latest technological advances--Such as abrasive machining, nanofabrication, rapid tooling and semisolid metalworking. Contains four kinds of EOC problems--Review Questions, Qualitative Problems, Quantitative Problems, and Synthesis and Design Problems.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
This revision aims to address changes that have taken effect since the publication of the second edition. The most significant change has been in the attitude of industry to concurrent engineering. In 1987, mostly lip service was paid to it; today, it has become general practice in most competitive corporations. In the second edition , the author discussed this as the manufacturing system. In the third edition it becomes the focal point. Concurrent engineering involves the whole product realization process, including product concept, performance criteria, mechanical design and analysis, materials selection, process planning and modeling, production control, automation, assembly, management, and others. An introductory text cannot possibly cover all of these topics, hence the emphasis of the third edition remains on the physical principles and the application of these principles to processes. The major difference relative to the second edition will be the emphasis on interactions between process and design. Capabilities and limitations of processes will be highlighted to show what they mean in terms of design possibilities, and design modifications will be suggested for ease of manufacture. Impact on the environment and possibilities for recycling will be woven into the entire text.
This book introduces the current state-of-the-art technology in materials and manufacturing processes with an emphasis on the rapidly growing technologies in the plastics and aerospace industries. It takes a unique approach by presenting specific materials and manufacturing processes, then progresses into a discussion of the ways in which these materials and processes are integrated into today's functioning manufacturing industry.KEY TOPICSA four-part organization presents materials and their applications; covers specific manufacturing processes; emphasizes tolerances, measurement, and calibration; and discusses the design, tooling, and production aspects of manufacturing.For individuals preparing for an engineering technology career.
"This new edition of Manufacturing Processes for Engineering Materials continues its tradition of balanced and comprehensive coverage of relevant engineering fundamentals, mathematical analysis, and traditional as well as advanced applications of manufacturing processes and operations. Updated and thoroughly edited for improved readability and clarity, this book is written mainly for students in mechanical, industrial, and metallurgical and materials engineering programs. The text continually emphasizes the important interactions among a wide variety of technical disciplines and the economics of manufacturing operations in an increasingly competitive global marketplace."--BOOK JACKET.
For courses in Introduction to Manufacturing Processes in Engineering, Technology, Industrial Technology, and Manufacturing Technology programs. This practical text is devoted to the many ways in which raw materials are economically converted into useful products grouping together discussions of large-scale processes (materials addition, removal, and change), followed by coverage of applications. It allows students to build a thorough foundational knowledge of similarities and differences in processes, and to then understand how to choose the optimal processes for a specific project. Throughout the narrative, consideration is given to economies of time and material, to environmental consequences, and to the safety of various processes and procedures...as well as to presenting the most current, industry-sanctioned processes being used today.
The key to understanding how to produce products with low response time, low inventory, and flexibility can be found in this important text. Using a systematic approach, this unique analysis of contemporary manufacturing processes identifies family characteristics of individual processes to facilitate learning. Using the same classification system, detailed descriptions of each individual process can be found in the Manufacturing Processes Reference Guide by the same authors. Identifies and studies six families of shaping processes that change the basic geometry of shape of a workpiece (Mechanical Mass Reducing, Thermal Mass Reducing, Chemical Mass Reducing, Mass Conserving, Consolidation, and Joining) and four families of nonshaping processes that modify the engineering and aesthetic properties of materials (Hardening, Softening, Surface Preparation, and Surface Coatings). This classification, or taxonomy, now used in the United States and Europe, is a valuable tool in identifying processes and their capabilities.
Breaks down the treatment of each process into three categories: Knowledge, Application, and Development and organizes each process family based on common characteristics. Comprehensively illustrates, defines, and explains each process to provide the reader with an unequaled understanding of the process and its applications. Encourages an appreciation of the integration of design and manufacturing engineering activities that results in more practical, less expensive, and better designed products for the consumer.
This practical reference focuses on 28 of the most exciting developments in manufacturing processes and materials. Through in-depth discussions, Modern Manufacturing Processes explains what the new processes are and covers the advantages of each. Additionally, it will help you decide whether these processes are a viable alternative to what you are currently using. Compares non-traditional and common manufacturing processes. Investigates competitive costs and explains how a non-traditional process can offer big savings. Illustrates how each process is used in industry.