It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Zeid's Mastering CAD/CAM provides a modern, comprehensive overview of computer-aided design and manufacturing. This new text is designed to be more student-oriented than the author's previous book, CAD/CAM: Theory & Practice (1991), and covers important new developments such as solid modeling and parametric modeling. Taking a "generic" approach, the author provides coverage applicable to all current CAD and CAM products. Parts I and II of the book survey CAD/CAM basics and geometric modeling considerations, and Part III surveys computer graphics essentials. Parts IV and V outline the role of CAD/CAM in product design & development, and product management & manufacturing.The topic coverage is supported throughout with numerous applied examples, cases and problems.
This book provides readers with the necessary foundation for understanding both design and manufacturing, via the selection of appropriate topics and analytical methods. Coverage includes parametric and variational design concept, curve fitting techniques, integration of computer integrated manufacturingthe pros and cons, optimization techniques and robot economics. For professionals in the field of Mechanical Engineering.
The most balanced coverage of Computer Aided Design and Manufacture available! Providing a balanced coverage of both aspects of CADCAM, this book explores the processes of defining a product design with the aid of computers, of developing manufacturing plans and instructions for the product, and of managing the manufacturing system itself. The book has been thoroughly updated and expanded for this second edition and the mix of theory, practice and analysis makes it suitable for both analytical and overview courses. This book provides an ideal core text for CADCAM courses at undergraduate degree level in Industrial, Mechanical, Manufacturing and Production Engineering.
OTHER RECOMMENDED TITLES
Principles of CAD/CAM/CAE by Kunwoo Lee
Call Number: TS155.6 L479 1999
Publication Date: 1999-01-20
An Introduction to CAD/CAM/CAE is a timely text with coverage of many modern topics, including: rapid prototyping, virtual engineering, NT-based solid modeling systems, and Web-related issues. This book provides balanced coverage of CAD/CAM (with slightly more emphasis on CAD topics) and bonus coverage of computer-aided engineering (CAE). This book's emphasis on the integration of three related disciplines-CAD, CAM, and CAE-makes it a great theoretical introduction to all subjects from geometric representation to the most sophisticated CAE subjects. Many illustrations and references ground the theory in practical examples.The book also features a unique illustration of the whole product development process through a practical case study that gives readers a clear idea how CAD, CAM, and CAE systems are integrated to accelerate the product development process.This book is carefully targeted toward today's students; topics are introduced in a concise, efficient manner, with mathematical terminology that is kept to a minimum. A background in programming, calculus, and matrix and vector algebra is helpful when using this text.
A reliable, concise guide to computer-aided design and manufacturing Positioned to be the leading book of its kind in the field, Digital Design and Manufacturing explains the ins and outs of CAD/CAM technologies and how these tools can be used to model and manufacture building components and industrial design products. It offers a comprehensive overview of the field and expertly addresses a broad range of recent initiatives and other issues related to the design of parts and assemblies for automated manufacturing and assembly. Digital Design and Manufacturing presents the latest technical coverage of how to implement CAD/CAM technologies into the design process, including the broad range of software, computer numerical control (CNC) machines, manufacturing processes, and prototyping necessary. Insightful case studies are integrated throughout from the works of Frank Gehry, Bernard Franken, Raphael Vinoly, and many other leading architects. Product design case studies are also presented. Students and professional architects will find techniques for going from representation to production, while avoiding the pitfalls of traditional manufacturing and allowing for the design and production of complex, free-form components that have been too expensive to use practically-until now. Companion Web site: www.wiley.com/go/schodek
This authoritative book -- discussing CAD/CAM in detail from the user's rather than the vendor's point of view -- provides the valuable information engineers and managers need for optimal CAD/CAM implementation and use. It introduces CAD/CAM hardware and software, and demonstrates how to select a CAD/CAM solution for your company's specific requirements ... explains how to implement a CAD/CAM system, with special attention to training and education, and with useful checklists ... describes ongoing systems ... presents an informative overview of CAD/CAM's industrial use ... and details case studies of CAD/CAM applications, representing a broad range of companies throughout the world, in various industrial sectors, at different stages of CAD/CAM use. Complete with a glossary that clearly defines all CAD/CAM terminology, this essential reference source is mandatory reading for mechanical, manufacturing, automotive and aerospace engineers and managers; CAD/CAM system vendors; computer manufacturers; graduate-level courses in mechanical and manufacturing engineering, CAD/CAM, and computer science; and professional seminars in mechanical, manufacturing, and automotive engineering. Book jacket.